Another Question About ProZinc

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Angela & Blackie & 3 Others, Jun 30, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

How long does it take for it to settle in the cat's body and for me to see some good #'s? Please keep in mind that I've dropped her insulin to 1 unit BID a week ago last Tuesday, and she'll be increased to 1.2 units BID starting tonight, and for now. She also gets FF Classic Chicken flavor, as well as cooked/boiled chicken pieces as a treat throughout the day, and after her blood tests.

Thank you in advance for any advice that you may have. :) I'm still new at all of this.

2. Joanna & Bix (GA)

Joanna & Bix (GA) Well-Known Member

You'll get varying opinions on that. As I understand it, generally you can see the results of a dose in a couple days, but with ProZinc you can get some variability for the first month & 1/2. But you'll still see results right away, but the response may be less predictable I guess for the first few weeks.

I would give it at least 4 cycles (shots) to judge this dose - a lot of times the data in the 1st cycle or 2 is not a good indicator of the dose (sometimes the #s will be better on the 1st cycle but then you lose that, other times they won't start getting good til cycle 3 or 4). So I would probably not worry about spot tests too much until cycle 3 (tomorrow night), and then try to get in a few spots test over a couple cycles to see where things are.