Any experience with a Cat having similar numbers all 4 testing times?

Cuddle Furry

Member Since 2022
What I don't understand is Oscar doesn't have a curve on his 4 test. In the 300's consistently the last month no matter when I test hiim, increase of insulin, and also a different insulin from Lantus to Levermir. Is it possible that the insulin doesn't do anything and Oscar has got to the 300's by nutrition? He was at 647 at diagnosis going back to 9/8/21. He has been ruled out of a number of diseases like brain cancer, IAA, parasites, and Thyroid. On a positive note he is finally putting back a little weight. Puking concerns the Vet. I have seen improvement. When he eats Daves Pet Food Chicken it is once a week. When on the Turkey brand it's a daily thing so I have stopped that brand. Anyway, just wondering if anyone has had a similar experience of a Cat being in the same range throughout the day all 4 test? Isn't the norm to be 100 points lower at NADIR?
 
Was he tested for Acromegaly and IAA? When a cat gets to 6U, we ask caregivers to test for secondary conditions that could be causing insulin resistance.

On the dosing front, you are holding doses too long. He is seeing flat and high numbers and you want to get him to a good dose sooner. The rationale for not holding a dose too long is that if numbers aren't where you want them to be, there's a tendency for glucose toxicity to develop. The term sounds a lot worse than it is. What this means is that your cat's body gets used to being in higher numbers and treats them as normal. This makes it harder to get the numbers back to the real normal.

Since you are feeding raw food, I would suggest you follow TR. With nadirs over 300, you want to increase his dose by 0.5U every 3 days till you start seeing numbers below 200. TR requires that you get at least one mid-cycle test in addition to the preshot tests which you are already doing.

On the puking front, it's possible he is allergic to a protein and you want to try different proteins to find one he is not allergic to.

@Wendy&Neko
 
With Levemir, the nadirs tend to be later with "typical nadirs" around +8, though my girl's were between +9 and +12 on a "normal" day. You might want to try some later tests during the day if you can to see if he goes lower any later.

Like Bhooma said, he's just high and flat at the moment, meaning his dose is too low. With those high numbers, almost everything over 300, you shouldn't be holding the dose any longer than 3 days or six cycles. Glucose toxicity, which is a type of insulin resistance can build up if you hold a dose getting just high numbers for too long. That just makes the numbers even worse. You did get up to 7 units, so not sure why you dropped back to 4.5 units. In fact, the first and only number below 300 that you've seen was from the 7.0 unit dose. I'd jump right back up to 7.5 units, as 7.0 units wasn't doing it.

Like Bhooma, my first thought was also acromegaly, cause your first post said he'd been tested for IAA. Also, when did he have these tests? Recent research has shown that testing for acromegaly (IGF-1 test) earlier than 73 days after starting insulin has about 1/3 false negatives.
 
He needs more insulin. You should take Wendy's advice on the dose and then follow TR to increase, as needed, every six cycles. Looking at his Spreadsheet reminds me of my cat, who had Acromegaly. The tests (IAA and Acromegaly) need to be sent out to Michigan State University and they only run the tests weekly on Wednesdays (blood samples are sent frozen). But for now, I would definitely increase, per Wendy's advice, and try to see if you can get him into better numbers.
 
What I don't understand is Oscar doesn't have a curve on his 4 test. In the 300's consistently the last month no matter when I test hiim, increase of insulin, and also a different insulin from Lantus to Levermir. Is it possible that the insulin doesn't do anything and Oscar has got to the 300's by nutrition? He was at 647 at diagnosis going back to 9/8/21. He has been ruled out of a number of diseases like brain cancer, IAA, parasites, and Thyroid. On a positive note he is finally putting back a little weight. Puking concerns the Vet. I have seen improvement. When he eats Daves Pet Food Chicken it is once a week. When on the Turkey brand it's a daily thing so I have stopped that brand. Anyway, just wondering if anyone has had a similar experience of a Cat being in the same range throughout the day all 4 test? Isn't the norm to be 100 points lower at NADIR?
My cat's were getting diarrhea and sometimes vomiting on Dave's. I fed them the turkey and giblets for years as I have a lot of cats to feed and it was one of the more economical, grain free cats foods. They liked the turkey but I've switched them off of Dave's now (we were having quality control issues like blue plastic bits - which is what the chicken is wrapped in - in the food and other odd things). I didn't like the Carageenan in the turkey and giblets, the turkey and the chicken flavors don't have it, but as I said we were having GI problems. I switched them to a lower Phosphorus diet now also.
 
Back
Top