BG 77 (+5.5)

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by NoahFL, Jul 1, 2020.

  1. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Is there a reason for concern since we’re at +5.5? Just fed him his normal portion of lunch.
     
    Deb & Wink and Shelley & Jess like this.
  2. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    117 at +6

    Since his nadir was <90, should we do a .25U reduction or stay at 2.25? He wasn’t acting unusual.
     
    Last edited: Jul 1, 2020
    Deb & Wink and Shelley & Jess like this.
  3. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Sorry for the delay - got a doozy of a headache today, brains having trouble thinking & converting to US/Alphatrak numbers.
    The number is safe, you just fed & we're right around the expected nadir. Can you get another test or two in to gather data? You know what to do if he goes a little lower.
    And, protocol dictates another reduction, unless Deb says otherwise. Let's be sure about that.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Oops, cross post.
     
    Deb & Wink and NoahFL like this.
  5. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Thank you! Hope your head is better. I get migraines so I can empathize. I will try to get another check in an hour. It’s thundering here and he’s not a fan of thunder.
     
    Deb & Wink and Shelley & Jess like this.
  6. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    154 at +10. Max is rocking this day!
     
    Deb & Wink and Shelley & Jess like this.
  7. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Yes, yes you should do another reduction.
     
  8. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    @Deb & Wink So Max is 186 PMPS. Should I do a token or full 2.25U?

    saw you mentioned a reduction. 2U tonight?
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  9. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Cross posted.

    Max is due another reduction, so the PM shot should be 2U.
    Are you able to stall, no food, and retest in 20 minutes?

    p.s. Max is on the fast slide, down that dosing scale.
     
    NoahFL likes this.
  10. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    No he’s chowing down right now. Sorry!
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  11. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Well, you could take up the food, and retest in 10 minutes. Usually takes longer than that for the food to have an impact on the BG levels.
     
  12. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    211
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  13. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    I think that's high enough for the 2U dose.
    Please try to feed Max at +1 AND +2, to slow down his steep drops.
    Only a teaspoon or so, but hopefully that helps.

    Monitor tonight, since Max seems to "LOVE" you so much, and wants you to stay up with him. :joyful:
     
    Irish Pat and NoahFL like this.
  14. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Thank you so much, Deb. This means so much to me having your guidance as well as others on this forum.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  15. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Just witnessed Max playing rather rambunctious with my other cat who is only a year old and an active little guy. This warms my heart to see him playing. It’s the little things. ❤️
     
  16. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Dose reduction to 1.75U this morning due to our pajama party last night.
     
  17. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    And another dose reduction for the PMPS since Max fell to 64 at +4 on the AM cycle, 7/2/20.
    So Max's dose for the PM cycle on 7/2/20 should be 1.5U.

    Looks like Max wants to be off the juice, and is getting there a little bit every day. Very quickly I might add, earning reduction after reduction.
     
    NoahFL likes this.
  18. Irish Pat

    Irish Pat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    Another fun day with Max
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  19. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Yep and I think he’s bouncing today. My other cat managed to open a drawer and pull out the cat treats last night around 10. Grrr
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  20. Irish Pat

    Irish Pat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020
    That has happened to me with Brady a couple times...my fault, left the treat container lid opened and he found it without me knowing dang near ate every treat before it hit me I left the lid off....
     
    Deb & Wink and NoahFL like this.
  21. Irish Pat

    Irish Pat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020

    Yes I see he did bounce...but at least you are getting some really good numbers in between...I know I have to make a dose increase but have to wait, we have a party to go to tomorrow and at least at this dose i know im safe to leave for a little
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  22. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    That’s a really smart idea. If I wasn’t teleworking I would not be as aggressive with Max. I’m wondering if he didn’t go low last night and maybe that’s the bounce. No clue what this little man is doing.
     
    Deb & Wink and Irish Pat like this.
  23. Irish Pat

    Irish Pat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020

    What are your shot times? We are 6 AM and 6 PM....maybe that high number is the treats he took, but who knows with this disease...Its funny, we really never knew anyone that had diabetes and never knew anyone with a pet that had it.....now all of a sudden people we know are coming out of the woodwork saying their pet has diabetes, its crazy
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  24. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Right now we are at 830AM and 830PM with a 30 min variance. The only experience I have is with my previous kitty, but she reacted completely different and was on a different insulin. Once I get off teleworking I’ll have to slowly change him to 530AM.
     
    Deb & Wink and Irish Pat like this.
  25. Irish Pat

    Irish Pat Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2020

    Well you may be teleworking for a long time....watching the news, Florida is not in a good way....My buddy is in Jacksonville and both he and his son just tested positive with no symptoms at all.....uggghhh..scary virus!!!
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.
  26. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Last I heard, we may be teleworking until August! Tourists, especially the younger ones are not being safe. Hoping we don’t go back to a complete shutdown again. That was rough. I’m not complaining about teleworking though. All my critters are happy I’m home and I’m able to keep a close eye on Max.
     
    Deb & Wink and Irish Pat like this.
  27. Deb & Wink

    Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 31, 2013
    Childproof locks on those drawers. But the cats can probably circumvent them anyway. ;)
     
    NoahFL likes this.
  28. NoahFL

    NoahFL Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2020
    Hr tried again, but all contraband has been removed. My other cat takes his paw and opens the drawer from the bottom. Sneaky! Max did seem to have a pretty decent day though.
     
    Deb & Wink likes this.

Share This Page