? BG still erratic, help needed please

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Georgiana & Perlutz, Sep 1, 2019.

  1. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Arghhhhh....such a shame. He just has to get used to lower numbers so hopefully if you keep plugging away, he'll start to get it...
     
  2. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    This too shall pass! Go get some chocolate to soothe the frustration! It could be worse.....he could be running low and making you hold a PJ party with him! When you get lemons make lemonade. ;)
     
  3. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I’m greedy today, I got a whole chocolate cake and I want some blue/greens from Perlutz :D

    Could 3.5 be too high for him? Sometimes I wonder if 3.25 would work better?
     
  4. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Yes I'd back him off to 3.25u. He got down to 4.2 today and I'd usually reduce for a reading 5 or less. Right now he's bouncing and lowering the dose won't necessarily stop that although it might make it a little less dramatic.
     
  5. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Today he had his highest preshot number in a week, 22, but went to a nice blue for +7. I fed him and I left a tiny amount of food for +8.5/9. Let's see what tricks he has for pmps :D
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  6. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    PMPS 6.8

    Currently stalling without food to see if he goes up but still unsure what dose to give if he goes up a little. Anyone around with suggestions?
     
  7. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
  8. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Can you monitor a bit tonight? Your goal is to get him surfing in high green to low blues and the more time he spends there the more his body will learn those are normal numbers and you might be fine with his regular dose but since it's a night cycle and the lowest PMPS you've shot, how about knocking him down to 3.25u? If you need sleep and /or can't monitor for a few hours, then you could knock him back to 3.0u for tonight.
     
  9. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    We're staying in so I can monitor him until late/overnight if I have to. But I think I'd be more inclined for 3.0u. We were saying earlier that maybe I should lower to 3.25 so I guess I'm thinking given it's quite a low PS for us, maybe 3.0u would be better?
     
  10. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    I only wish I did have some suggestions for you Georgiana but every time I look at a ss my eyes literally glaze over. Linda might be around to help, but if not, can you see any patterns in bg on different doses? What have you dosed before when it looks as if he's getting long duration - have you given the current "usual" dose and has he clearly bounced? Or have you given a reduced dose and he's gone high anyway? Or has a reduced dose actually kept him in better numbers for a while but then he's gone up again at pre shot? It really does need someone who's good at analysing a ss to know what to do for the best, and sadly that's not me - however hard I try :(

    I do wonder though if he's going to be surfing the blues for a while if you could consider dosing late, testing hourly, see what happens, and catching him just when you sense he's about to rise... could be late evening but as it's the weekend you might be able to adjust shot times again to get back into the usual cycle. That may be crazy.

    The other thing I've been wondering about is trying eight-hourly dosing for a couple of days, eg at a weekend, just to see if you can keep those numbers down for a bit longer and get him more used to them... I know TID isn't really ideal and is not sustainable, but sometimes a little experimentation might get somewhere.

    Sorry - slightly off the wall, not really suggestions as much as musings, but throwing them out there (Linda, please feel free to chuck bucketloads of water over all this!!)
     
  11. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    No drowning you today Diana.:woot:...it's always worth considering potential options, but I wouldn't try TID dosing with Perlutz because that's usually a consideration when lack of duration is an issue, more common with Vetsulin than ProZinc and Perlutz doesn't seem to be having that issue. I don't think those higher AM pre-shots are lack of duration but rather bounces from lower numbers Perlutz just has to learn are not a threat. He's definitely getting better. There is also the problem that TID dosing is a recipe in most cases for driving the CG a bit crazy.

    Georgina, if you are more comfortable with 3u tonight that it fine. You hold the needle and have to be comfortable with what you are giving.

    What is the food schedule with Perlutz? SOmetimes you can steer the cycle with food timing/more or less carbs. Wondering if that might be something to explore a bit with your furry kid.
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  12. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    If Linda decides to go for the bucketloads of water, I’ll get some too, Diana :joyful: I went for a fat 3.0u.

    Whenever I get a low PS, I check the SS for previous similar situations and see what I’ve done then and how it worked out. But I think we can all agree Perlutz is nothing but full of surprises!

    Here’s a pic of him just earlier waiting for his 2nd test :cat:
    C29E69B1-3123-4F1E-9ACE-C2DC9FF0BCCD.jpeg
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom and Diana&Tom like this.
  13. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    He is SO gorgeous!

    Thank for your comments on mine, Linda, make perfect sense ;) and I specially like the bit about steering the cycle... Perlutz is doing better, even I can see that, but we'd all like to see some more consistency so looking at all sorts of avenues seems to be something that might just make that bit of difference.
     
  14. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    He is eating 1x can/sachet before insulin AM and PM, 1/4 can/sachet around +3, then 1/4 to 1/2 can/sachet around +7.5. Whatever he eats from the autofeeder is at approximate times, the feeder has a dial rather than a digital timer. In terms of carbs, his food has around 6%.

    I'm not sure what TID and CG stand for :oops:
     
  15. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Love the pic! He's SOOOOOO handsome! :joyful:
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  16. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    TID = three times daily dosing
    CG = caregiver

    Any more? ;)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  17. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    TID is three times daily and CG is caregiver. Let me look at the SS and food schedule and see how they "meld" with what's happening.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  18. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
  19. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Take his trampoline away until he learns to behave. :woot:
     
  20. DiabetesSucks

    DiabetesSucks New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2019
    Regal looking cat! Handsome guy.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  21. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Too funny! Thanks for making me laugh at 4 am when Mr P was bouncing like a lunatic :D went all the way to a black 28 :blackeye:
     
  22. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Gotta keep your sense of humour dealing with these little wonders! :p
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  23. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Well he does have a sister in the Royal family :smuggrin: Can we say he is royal by association? :p
     
  24. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    He will hereby be called HRH. :woot:
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  25. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Or Prince Perlutz.
     
  26. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Or HRH Bouncy Prince Perlutz of Maidenhead.
     
  27. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I think this suits him best :D
     
  28. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    What a beautiful kitty, he sure is handsome
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  29. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    HRH's PMPS is 6.2 :rolleyes: Stalling 15-30 min, depending on how long his hunger will allow
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  30. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Oh my giddy aunt. Prince P, what are you like... please give your mama a break and give her some nice numbers now this evening...
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  31. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    How about trying 3.25u for a few cycles? You are getting more pre-shots when you have to stall to make sure it's ok to shoot and some nice lower numbers. Technically should have reduced the other day when HRH went down to 4.2. Might even out those pre-shots a bit.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  32. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    He was getting irritated with not being fed so I tested him 15 min later and BG went up to 7.0. Dosing ideas? I’m wondering if a 2.75 would be better, maybe he won’t bounce (so bad)?
     
  33. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    That's what I was wondering too but I couldn't articulate the reason why!!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  34. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
  35. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    It's entirely up to you and what you are comfortable with but if you want to reduce more how about 3u? HRH is doing well but still have some room for movement and you don't want to lose the momentum. Dropping the dose too much might slow you down and won't necessarily stop the bouncing. Bouncing will stop when he gets used to those nice lower BGs.
     
  36. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I'd would test at +2 as well as before bed. If HRH is dropping you can bump him up with some food. Want to keep him in those healing numbers as much as possible.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  37. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I went with 3.0u and will test at +2 and before bed. He is fed up with my testing, as soon as I get ready for it, he runs under the dining table. But comes out and behaves the second he sees food :D
     
  38. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Bribery works wonders! :woot:
     
  39. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    HRH’ AMPS was 3.7 :woot: :woot: :woot: Did NOT see this coming!

    Bf was awake an hour- an hour and a half before testing and said Perlutz was acting absolutely normal. He was fed immediately after testing and 25 min later BG went up to 5.7.

    I will test him again before I leave to work.
     
  40. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Yikes - whatever next. He really is giving you the runaround isn't he. Interesting though as his AMPS have usually been stubbornly high, whereas PMPS numbers haven't been too bad at all recently. So a lower AMPS than expected would in itself be a change, but that low is certainly a surprise. Maybe he's decided to flick a switch and go into a different phase just to keep you guessing.

    Yes, test again before you leave and post here if you get a minute in case anyone looking in has anything to offer!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  41. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    He loves to keep us guessing, doesn’t he! I don’t know what he’s got up his sleeve this time, but I’m hoping it’s similar AM and PM preshot numbers (blues and yellows only, please!:smuggrin:) Realistically, I’m expecting a black PMPS tonight...
     
  42. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    +2 14.9 so it does look like we’re heading for a black coloured pmps
     
  43. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Sigh...
    Are you popping home at lunchtime and if so and he's still rising, I wonder if there's any value in giving just a tiny smidge of insulin...? I think this issue has been raised elsewhere before and I can't remember the expert responses... if it was me doing this without the help of members here, that would be my instinct, but I can see that there might be problems with it of course.
    I'm sure Linda will make a sensible comment!
     
  44. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Definitely going home lunch time to test him but I’m not sure about giving insulin. I don’t really know how giving a little insulin at +7 would work and I can’t make any changes in shooting time (I start work earlier than usual tomorrow to Friday). But I’ll look into it, I can see how it might work.
     
  45. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    When in doubt, don't do it! I was only thinking about a very small amount - if anything - that might just stop a stratospheric rise and tide him over till this evening. But it is only a thought!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  46. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I tried to find something about giving a dose like this mid cycle but no luck :( I just don't know how his body will react to something new (time wise) and he is nothing short of full of surprises! I still have an hour before I go see him
     
  47. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    I know... it's probably not a good idea in practice even if it seems sort of logical (to me, anyway) in theory. I know messing with shot times is generally a bad idea, but as he had no insulin at all this morning, plus knowing his tendency to shoot up and trying to find ways to keep him in reasonable numbers, a tiny half-unit or something might possibly do something useful. But as you say, he is full of surprises so who knows, he might be surfing nicely in the yellows at lunchtime and even beyond - which could present another dilemma as you'd be wondering what to shoot tonight!

    But whatever happens for the rest of the day, you will have some interesting data on what he wants to do without insulin for a lengthy period. I'm sure you must be tearing your hair out wondering what else you can do to try and get him into better numbers so any variation on the usual - in this case, 24 hours without insulin - could be useful!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  48. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I do see logic in giving him a tiny dose now, it's just that I don't know how that would work for him. It wouldn't surprise me if it gave a low PMPS and if that would be the case, I wouldn't have any wiggle time with the shooting time. So despite him being 30.6 just now :confused: I won't give him any today but it's something I might try one day when I have some flexibility with shooting time and maybe be able to keep an eye on him.

    It will be interesting to see PMPS, I wonder if mr pancreas will come out for a little play today...

    As for tearing my hair out, not yet :D I think the better numbers we've seen lately have something to do with that. While they're still not good, consistent numbers, it's an improvement and like you said not long ago, it's not all about the diabetes! He's still my lovely, cuddly kitten! (12 yo and 6 kg kitten :smuggrin:) He doesn't seem in pain, he eats, plays, cuddle so I try to focus on enjoying him. This morning I was running late because I was starring at him sleeping and playing with his cheeks :D I'll add a picture of how cute he was napping
     
  49. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Great post Georgiana, well done you!
     
  50. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    WHOA! What a surprise that must have been this morning. Looks like Perlutz bounced and the bounce broke overnight. Your clue that there might be a low coming is the drop Perlutz had last night between PMPS and +3. While it wasn't a huge drop, it was substantial given that ProZinc usually onset roughly +2 or so. If you get a before bed test that is the same or dropping, feed Perlutz a snack and set an alarm to retest a bit later.

    As for giving a small dose mid cycle, it can be done but it would put your schedule off. Normally with ProZinc you have an hour of leeway but if you shoot even a tiny dose mid cycle, you'd be dealing with 2 nadirs and that could get dicey. You're better off to employ the stall technique. If you get a low at pre-shot, stall without feeding and retest 20 to 30 minutes later to see if BG is coming up on it's own. If it is rising, then you can consider giving insulin (either full or reduced dose depending on BG).

    I'd drop his dose down to 3.25u and keep it there. He earned a reduction with that 3.7 this AM. Hopefully there will be more lovely greens showing up but let's try to keep them in the dark green. :D
     
  51. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Perlutz the pretzel :p

    50FACB9D-C1F8-43F7-A60E-E278E001E4CB.jpeg
     
  52. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  53. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Linda, I read your message and started typing an answer like 100 times - type - delete - type - delete :D As you know, I'm still trying to get a grasp on things and bounces are definitely not my forte :oops: In theory, I knew that ProZinc onsets around +2 but I didn't worry when he dropped from 18.9 to 15.9, on the contrary, I was glad to see it working :confused: I hope I'm not going to test your patience with my silly questions...If I test at +2/+3 and it's equal or lower than PS, I'll test again before bed which would be +4 to +6. By then, a low number should be expected, no? But how big of a drop should I count as one needing an alarm and extra test over night? For numbers say lower than 10, I'd set an alarm but I never really thought higher numbers needed it, I only took in consideration the number, and not the drop.

    Looking back to this morning, I think it was a hasty decision not to stall. I thought from 3.7 it will take a long time until it raised enough to give him some insulin and I was worried about shooting later as I knew tomorrow's shot will have to be right on time. When I saw the 14.9 at +2, I was considering giving some insulin but I just didn't know how much of the raise was from the food, how much insulin to give and didn't have much time left to come here and ask as I had to leave for work. Bottom line, I messed up...

    This 3.7 was actually after a reduced 3.25! I don't want to think what would've been if he got 3.5 :nailbiting:
     
  54. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Thank you! This vain little kitty would really appreciate it, if he could read :D We have this little thing where if I say the right things, in the right tone, he will roll on the floor for me, being all cute, meowing at purring - it's adorable! And by the right things, I mean "who's the cutest cat? who's mummy's pretty boy" etc :D
     
    Kate & Toby likes this.
  55. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    You did not mess up Georgiana! You're doing an amazing job, honestly. You have a life to maintain outside FD (albeit mainly atm going to work so you can earn money to pay vets bills and strips!) and sometimes you have to make on the spot decisions. You can't sit at home 24/7 trying to figure out the next right thing to do - any decision you make might not be the right one anyway.

    Perlutz is really lucky to have you. I take my hat off to everyone here whose lives almost revolve around a spreadsheet - it's a labour of love, that's for sure. I had a really tough time treating my Tom so I know the rollercoaster you're on but but we wouldn't have it any other way.

    Don't doubt yourself! Go and get yourself a big G&T (or I'll have one for you!!) and keep tickling that pretty boy's furry belly!
     
  56. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Hats of to you, Diana! For sticking around FDMB to help and encourage others whose lives still revolve around SS numbers.

    It was warm and sunny in Maidenhead today and all I could think all day was how nice would be to sit out on the balcony with a Mojito :smuggrin: And now it's chilly and I'm tired so I'm just sitting on the sofa with my laptop :rolleyes: Not fair! :smuggrin:
     
  57. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Boo hiss... hot chocolate maybe???
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  58. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I guess it's that time of the year for hot chocolate and candles :joyful:
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  59. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Yes and that's nice! Cosy and warm :)
     
  60. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
  61. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Since Perlutz went below 90 this morning, his dose should be reduced yet again to 3.0u. I know you already shot 3.25u tonight and that is fine given where his BG was tonight, but tomorrow drop the dose to 3.0u.

    Any drop below PMPS in that first 3 hours should be your signal that Perlutz may be having an active cycle. While that wasn't a huge drop last night, Perlutz has a habit of being higher in the earlier hours at night and he proved last night that even that drop of 3mmol can signal an active cycle.

    You didn't mess anything up. This is not an exact science and a lot of it is understanding your own cat and Perlutz has not been easy to figure out lately but his behaviour right now suggests his insulin needs are changing for the better. Perlutz is lucky he has you and he is in good hands.:)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  62. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Get an early(ish) night, Georgiana!
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  63. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I was actually in bed by 10:30 PM :woot: that doesn't happen often
     
  64. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    +6 21.1 :blackeye: Should I go back to 3.25 tonight? I'm guessing it will be a high PMPS...
     
  65. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    No don't go back up. Perlutz is bouncing which is a temporary reaction to the low green yesterday and right now he's having a flat cycle. The higher numbers can last up to 6 cycles (3 days) but he appears to be coming back down again now. Sometimes those flat cycles are a clue the bounce is breaking. Stick with 3.0u now and re-evaluate in 3 or 4 days. :)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  66. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    PMPS 12.4 / 223 I did not expect such a nice number!
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom and Kate & Toby like this.
  67. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Lovely number!! Where that leaves you I don't know but enjoy your evening now :)
     
  68. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    A possible long night of testing?;)
     
  69. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Oh that would be a nice change... :(
     
  70. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    15.2 at +2 :) I fed him a little snack, he asked nicely lol
     
  71. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Nice AMPS this morning, 13.0 ( 234) :cat:
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  72. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Help, please!

    It’s insulin time and his Bg was 8.0. I stalled 15 min and got a 7.5. I had to feed him, he was getting increasingly annoyed with not getting food.

    Any ideas on what would be a good dose tonight?

    @MrWorfMen's Mom @Diana&Tom
     
  73. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Arghhh...my suggestions tend to be instinctive and not with any real logic so I hesitate to say anything really... my personal inclination is to err on the side of safety but then when you do that - shoot conservatively - you risk a steeper rise. Yet a lower dose might not trigger a bounce. He is doing pretty well atm but then sometimes throws a surprise high or low with no rhyme or reason. Let's hope Linda is around to make some sense of things - or you could tag a couple of the other ladies with experience and see if they'd take a look at your ss and advise?

    Sorry can't be much help... if nobody is here in time to give you an idea of how much to shoot, go with your own instinct...
     
  74. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    I really don’t know... It’s usually going up, even if by just a little bit! If only I could’ve stalled a little more, maybe it would’ve given a clearer view.
     
  75. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Is this a time when you can shoot an hour or two late if necessary, and tweak times over the weekend...???
     
  76. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    It’s just over an hour now and I could wait another hour, schedule wise, but I don’t think HRH will be okay with a big delay in being served his breakfast...

    I’ll go retest him now and take it from there...
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  77. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Yes test again - anything could have happened in the last hour :(
     
  78. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    It’s only gone up to 8.2 despite his eating all his food. I don’t know how quick the food shows in Bg though...

    I’m not closer to making a decision regarding the dose :banghead: I’m oscillating between 1.5 and 2.0 I think... I would like to get some sleep tonight, I’m shattered :arghh: (of course, if need be I’ll stay up all night, that goes without saying).
     
  79. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Well... a low dose might send him shooting up to the reds but he usually manages to come back down... perhaps this is a time to give yourself a break, shoot low, test before bed, get some decent sleep, amd see what tomorrow brings...?
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  80. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Went with 2u... I’ll retest before bed :)

    BTW, I got the book today. There’s many mentions of yin and yang, figure 8’s and surprisingly many drawings of dogs :joyful: But haven’t had a chance to actually have a read so I’m not ready for a review haha
     
    Diana&Tom likes this.
  81. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    2u sounds a good call... we'd assume he'll be rising soon but who knows. Linda might have suggested a slightly higher dose but sometimes you do have to remember your own needs, which in this case means getting a good night's sleep (hopefully!)

    Will await book review with interest! I think she wrote a book for dogs initially and adapted this second one for cats... you'd think the principles are similar. Keep an open mind - there is lots of proof that this sort of thing works so I'd definitely give it a try.

    [Btw Mike is back from holiday so any time you want to drop June's stuff round, feel free. ]
     
  82. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Yes, I think she would have. Sorry Linda! :D

    Re the book, I didn’t mean to sound as if I don’t believe in these things, I do! I’ll let you know :bighug:

    I will probably go drop the food off to Mike this weekend. I saw June has few new babies :cat:
     
  83. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Good - having at least some belief in energy work and so on is very useful I think. I'm fascinated by it... there is so much beyond logic and science that we can benefit from.
    Yes June has new babies... she works tirelessly to look after them all, she deserves a medal.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  84. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Looks like I’m not getting that good night sleep after all :joyful:

    +3.5 7.3 (131)
     
  85. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Sorry Georgiana. Wasn't on the board today until a short time ago. I see Perlutz gave you a bald spot trying to figure out what to do with him tonight. While I might have suggested 2.25u or 2.5u, I agree with Diana, that first and foremost, you have to look after YOU. Perlutz counts on you so your needs are just as important and sometimes even more so. Secondly, you have to do what you are most comfortable with no matter what I or anyone else says. No apologies to me are warranted or needed. I agree with your decision. :)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  86. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Hi Linda :bighug: The 2 units weren’t too bad in the end, kept him in the blues yay! Just got a +7.5 10.9 which is a good number for Mr. P.

    Of course, green looks even better on him but he really didn’t like the testing today and he would’ve gotten few more pokies on a green.

    Anyway, although the sofa wasn’t so great, I’ve sleep through 15-20 alarms for an hour before I finally woke up to test :woot: it’s time for me to go to bed :D
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  87. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    I used to snooze alarms several times too and finally get up to test. Seems I learned to snooze the alarms in my sleep.:smuggrin:

    Nice cycle for Perlutz tonight. Hope he doesn't bounce from that lovely blue streak. Sleep tight! :)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  88. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Lovely run last night... hoping HRH didn't get the trampoline out after you'd gone to bed and will give you a nice number this morning too :)
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  89. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Hehe I’m a pro at snoozing too :smuggrin: That’s why I usually sleep on the sofa when I need to test overnight, if I don’t wake up from the alarms, at least I’ll wake up at some point from being uncomfortable :D

    He brought the trampoline out after I went to bed - 25.9 :facepalm: Slow learner this cat :joyful:
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  90. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Awww... I'm sure he appreciates your dedication!
    Think you may need to hide the trampoline in a cupboard where he can't find it, not sure where that would be but he does need to learn that he can't have everything he wants ;)
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom likes this.
  91. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    He must have a copy of the cupboard key because he's been trampolining again :facepalm: But his belly is not pink anymore, almost back to normal colour wise but still rocking a bald tummy and scratched and grooms bit more than usual. He has been off 2 CH flavours, I wonder if that could be it...
     
  92. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    It's quite possible. Figuring out skin issues can be tough. If things are improving, continue holding back those flavours and just watch for any reoccurrence. I'm dealing with some skin issues with my girl and she is so dang fussy with her food that finding alternative foods is almost impossible and it's driving me crazy.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  93. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    5 days and only reds and pinks :facepalm: He's playing with mommy's feelings again :arghh:
     
  94. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    Give him another day to hopefully get into some better numbers and if he's still in the red/pink, increase by another 0.25u to give him a nudge.
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  95. Diane Tyler's Mom GA

    Diane Tyler's Mom GA Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    I just love his face, Perlutz is so adorable
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  96. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Few snaps of HRH for the fans :smuggrin:
     

    Attached Files:

  97. MrWorfMen's Mom

    MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 18, 2015
    He's SOOOOOO handsome! Love his markings. Is that his Teddy Bear? It's bigger than he is!:D
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  98. Diana&Tom

    Diana&Tom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2009
    Can I be chairman of his fan club?
     
    Georgiana & Perlutz likes this.
  99. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    It used to be his snuggle buddy during the day when home alone but I gave it away to my niece and nephew cause that teddy was massive! Random fact, I won that teddy at an arcade :D
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom and Diana&Tom like this.
  100. Georgiana & Perlutz

    Georgiana & Perlutz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2019
    Definitely! The job's yours :joyful: But bear in mind that he can be a diva sometimes :D
     
    MrWorfMen's Mom and Diana&Tom like this.

Share This Page