BGs Riding Low..Any Thoughts?

I've been testing Mochi for just over 2wks now. Numbers were on the high side and now they have been super low the past 2 days. She was strictly on DM canned for almost a week, but her stools started getting really soft and was just about diarrhea yesterday and this morning. I gave her all Fancy Feast today and doubled up on the psyllium husk which helped tremendously today. I've given her churu on top of the Fancy Feast and gave Dr. Elsey's's dry food a few times today to try and raise her numbers..with no luck. She has eaten 15oz of wet food today. With the extra meals since this past Thursday she continues to lose weight as well. Everything seems extra complicated with this girl :arghh:
 
I've been testing Mochi for just over 2wks now. Numbers were on the high side and now they have been super low the past 2 days. She was strictly on DM canned for almost a week, but her stools started getting really soft and was just about diarrhea yesterday and this morning. I gave her all Fancy Feast today and doubled up on the psyllium husk which helped tremendously today. I've given her churu on top of the Fancy Feast and gave Dr. Elsey's's dry food a few times today to try and raise her numbers..with no luck. She has eaten 15oz of wet food today. With the extra meals since this past Thursday she continues to lose weight as well. Everything seems extra complicated with this girl :arghh:


Hi
I’m new here but I saw no one answered you yet so I’ll try with my limit knowledge. I looked at your spreadsheet & it looks like you are on the right track with your insulin. Lantus is a human insulin that is a 24 hour background insulin. In cats it only last about 12 hours so it is given every 12 hours to keep the level steady.
It also takes awhile for it to build up a lasting amount in the body & stabilize. Looking at your spreadsheet it looks like Mochi’s starting to have some residual insulin in her body, so you will have to play with the amount of insulin you are giving her. A 1/4 of a unit can swing the numbers a lot in a cat. I see you have 1 unit this morning & 0 tonight. You might get a big swing tomorrow. I would have probably given 1/2 tonight. have you recently changed her food from dry to canned/wet food?
If so this will affect her carb intake & bring his BG (blood Glucose) down.

Tomorrow start a little slower. No big swings in insulin amounts.
 
I've been testing Mochi for just over 2wks now. Numbers were on the high side and now they have been super low the past 2 days. She was strictly on DM canned for almost a week, but her stools started getting really soft and was just about diarrhea yesterday and this morning. I gave her all Fancy Feast today and doubled up on the psyllium husk which helped tremendously today. I've given her churu on top of the Fancy Feast and gave Dr. Elsey's's dry food a few times today to try and raise her numbers..with no luck. She has eaten 15oz of wet food today. With the extra meals since this past Thursday she continues to lose weight as well. Everything seems extra complicated with this girl :arghh:


I see you have been here before. 2.5 years ago. You probably know more than me.

The information I wrote above is from a more personal experience. I am a type 1 diabetic as of 5 years ago.
I hope it helped.
 
I've been testing Mochi for just over 2wks now. Numbers were on the high side and now they have been super low the past 2 days. She was strictly on DM canned for almost a week, but her stools started getting really soft and was just about diarrhea yesterday and this morning. I gave her all Fancy Feast today and doubled up on the psyllium husk which helped tremendously today. I've given her churu on top of the Fancy Feast and gave Dr. Elsey's's dry food a few times today to try and raise her numbers..with no luck. She has eaten 15oz of wet food today. With the extra meals since this past Thursday she continues to lose weight as well. Everything seems extra complicated with this girl :arghh:
I will tag a few experienced members for you . I see on your spreadsheet he had DKA and ketones on 1-19-25.
Please add those dates to your signature it's very important members know that

On thing do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings , we adjust the dose by 0.25
units at a time
We don't adjust the dose by the AMPS or the PMPS BG we adjust the dose by how low the insulin is taking Mochi.
@Foster Momma
 
Last edited:
I've been testing Mochi for just over 2wks now. Numbers were on the high side and now they have been super low the past 2 days. She was strictly on DM canned for almost a week, but her stools started getting really soft and was just about diarrhea yesterday and this morning. I gave her all Fancy Feast today and doubled up on the psyllium husk which helped tremendously today. I've given her churu on top of the Fancy Feast and gave Dr. Elsey's's dry food a few times today to try and raise her numbers..with no luck. She has eaten 15oz of wet food today. With the extra meals since this past Thursday she continues to lose weight as well. Everything seems extra complicated with this girl :arghh:
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Her kitty had DKA and ketones on 1-19-25 it's on her SS ,cI asked her to add the date on her signature
Also the amount of insulin she is giving is all over the place
 
Here is your previous post for continuity.
https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/thr...group-after-about-2-5yrs.298171/#post-3245937
When did you last check for ketones?
I am glad to hear she is eating well. I’m not sure why she is losing weight though.

If you are using an Alphatrak meter please do not give any insulin if the BG in under 68.
I am not sure what is going on, but she is in too low numbers and they need to be up over 68.
Let’s see what the next few hours of BGs are.
Do not give any more insulin without asking for advice please.
When is the next dose due? How many hours time?
 
Thank you! The vet with the rescue that I'm fostering Mochi through suggested I hold off tonight since she was 30. Originally, she was eating OM. The internist had wanted her on that to help with her GI issues, but that diet wasn't helping the diabetes. So the vet wanted to switch her to DM.
 
I will tag a few experienced members for you . I see on your spreadsheet he had DKA and ketones on 1-19-25.
Please add those dates to your signature it's very important members know that

On thing do you have the U-100 syringes with the half unit markings , we adjust the dose by 0.25
units at a time
We don't adjust the dose by the AMPS or the PMPS BG we adjust the dose by how low the insulin is taking Mochi.
@Foster Momma

I just got the syringes with the 1/2u, figured maybe 0.25 or 0.5 would have been a better option last night. Of course she was super high this morning and has been high all day :/ this rollercoaster is rough
 
I just got the syringes with the 1/2u, figured maybe 0.25 or 0.5 would have been a better option last night. Of course she was super high this morning and has been high all day :/ this rollercoaster is rough
@Bron and Sheba (GA)
Bron can you take a look at her SS and the dose she gave tonight
Thanks Bron:bighug::cat:

@Foster Momma
Did you read what Bron said above
If you are using an Alphatrak meter please do not give any insulin if the BG in under 68.

Post #6
 
Thank you for tagging, I meant to tag Bron!! Her GI problems might be affecting some of this also..I'm not really sure? Today she hasn't been as hungry. Spreadsheet is up to date with today's BGs
It looks like Mochi is bouncing from all those really low numbers over the last 2 days.
2 units might be too much insulin so monitor closely. WhenMochi comes off the bounce we will be able to see .
 
It looks like Mochi is bouncing from all those really low numbers over the last 2 days.
2 units might be too much insulin so monitor closely. WhenMochi comes off the bounce we will be able to see .

Does it make sense to do 2u tonight, instead of the original Lantus dose of 2.5u? her numbers have stayed pretty consistent all day. She is due to eat and get a shot in the next hour. She hasn't been very hungry today either, but yesterday she wanted to eat all day long.
 
Does it make sense to do 2u tonight, instead of the original Lantus dose of 2.5u?

No. She is bouncing from the low numbers. Lantus is an excellent insulin, but it doesn't pull down high numbers quickly.

If only 1U dropped her into the 30's, the last thing you want to do is give her even more. You need to give her body time to get over the bounce. It can take up to 3 days.

I would recommend giving no more than 1.0 tonight and hold that dose for at least a total of 6 cycles before making any changes (unless she drops below 68 again during that time)

Remember, this is a marathon, not a sprint.
 
No. She is bouncing from the low numbers. Lantus is an excellent insulin, but it doesn't pull down high numbers quickly.

If only 1U dropped her into the 30's, the last thing you want to do is give her even more. You need to give her body time to get over the bounce. It can take up to 3 days.

I would recommend giving no more than 1.0 tonight and hold that dose for at least a total of 6 cycles before making any changes (unless she drops below 68 again during that time)

Remember, this is a marathon, not a sprint.

copy! I will do 1u tonight.
 
"As pancreatitis occurs so often in conjunction with diabetes, and diabetic cats do best with an all-wet low-carbohydrate diet, and cats with pancreatic insufficiency do best on a low-fiber diet, it may be best to feed cats with pancreatitis a highly-digestible all-wet (canned or raw) low-carbohydrate/low-fiber diet."

Reading up on the literature for pancreatitis that is in this forum...what foods meet the above guidelines? Hoping if I can get Mochi on the food most beneficial for her condition, she can maybe keep on weight? Everything she eats pretty much comes right out, I don't think she is absorbing much of anything. After she eats she just poops, it basically looks the same as the way it goes in :/ I've never seen a cat poop so much, has to be related to the pancreatis. Every day she continues to lose weight, today she is 1.33kgs, just 3wks ago she was 2.22kgs. She doesn't have much weight on her body to be losing. She had gained 1lb on the OM food, but this food is not ideal for diabetic cats.
 
Wow...with that drop to 75, I'm sure glad you didn't go with 2! Although the 2U from the AM could have contributed to that, I'd still reduce her dose down to 0.75. You can always go back up if a dose isn't effective enough, but a dose that's "too effective" could take her from you forever.

bummer, I had already given her am dose..so far, her numbers have gone up a bit since this morning's injection. Spreadsheet updated. This morning it was so great to see her in better spirits compared to yesterday she was quiet and not a great appetite. Her stools are still soft but starting to firm up, not like a flat pancake anymore! She already consumed 2.5 cans of Fancy Feast. She would finish one can and look for more.
 
Wow...with that drop to 75, I'm sure glad you didn't go with 2! Although the 2U from the AM could have contributed to that, I'd still reduce her dose down to 0.75. You can always go back up if a dose isn't effective enough, but a dose that's "too effective" could take her from you forever.

With how her numbers have been so far today, do you still recommend 0.75u for tonight? She isn't due for another 4hrs for her injection. Her numbers have gone up all day.
 
With how her numbers have been so far today, do you still recommend 0.75u for tonight? She isn't due for another 4hrs for her injection. Her numbers have gone up all day.
Let’s see what her preshot BG is. She is bouncing at the moment. But that doesn’t mean you increase the dose. If she has earned a reduction you need to take it.
I would feed her what ever she will eat and helps her put on weight at the moment. That is more important than if it is good for diabetes. She needs to put on weight urgently
 
number is 488 for her PMPS

Doesn't matter!

Bouncing is a normal part of this dance. When the blood glucose drops into numbers that are 1. too low, 2. drop too fast. 3. lower than the cats body is used to (or any combination of all 3), the liver releases sugars and hormones to bring it back up. It's the body's "survival system" kicking in to save what it thinks is a dangerous blood glucose (whether it is or not). Those hormones take time to clear out of the system. That's why we say to hold the dose for those 3 days. To see where the blood glucose ends up after the sugars and hormones are out of the body so we can really see how that dose is doing.
 
Jennifer, I have just received an email from someone who used to post on the forum but no longer does but she does still read some of the posts.
This is what she said.

Don't know why I checked the forum just now but …

This cat has hallmark symptoms of EPI (Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency).

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bgs-riding-low-any-thoughts.298500/

Marje knows about EPI.

Sienne directs people to this page: https://www.marvistavet.com/exocrine-pancreatic-insufficiency.pml
The Vet Merck Manual says this: https://www.merckvetmanual.com/dige...fficiency-in-dogs-and-cats#Diagnosis_v3266886
"Clinical signs most commonly reported are polyphagia, weight loss, and loose stools. Vomiting and anorexia are observed in some patients and may be a sign of concurrent conditions rather than EPI itself. The feces are most commonly pale, loose, and voluminous and may be malodorous. In rare cases, watery diarrhea may be seen. In a small portion of cats with EPI, the high fat content of the feces can lead to a greasy appearance of the hair coat, especially in the perianal and tail region."

I am going to tag @Marje and Gracie to see if she can add anything
 
Jennifer, I have just received an email from someone who used to post on the forum but no longer does but she does still read some of the posts.
This is what she said.

Don't know why I checked the forum just now but …

This cat has hallmark symptoms of EPI (Exocrine Pancreatic Insufficiency).

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/bgs-riding-low-any-thoughts.298500/

Marje knows about EPI.

Sienne directs people to this page: https://www.marvistavet.com/exocrine-pancreatic-insufficiency.pml
The Vet Merck Manual says this: https://www.merckvetmanual.com/dige...fficiency-in-dogs-and-cats#Diagnosis_v3266886
"Clinical signs most commonly reported are polyphagia, weight loss, and loose stools. Vomiting and anorexia are observed in some patients and may be a sign of concurrent conditions rather than EPI itself. The feces are most commonly pale, loose, and voluminous and may be malodorous. In rare cases, watery diarrhea may be seen. In a small portion of cats with EPI, the high fat content of the feces can lead to a greasy appearance of the hair coat, especially in the perianal and tail region."

I am going to tag @Marje and Gracie to see if she can add anything

thank you for tagging her! I will read up on this! I did give Mochi an injection of B12 which is in the reading. I will ask about the pancreatic supplement.
 
Last edited:
Doesn't matter!

Bouncing is a normal part of this dance. When the blood glucose drops into numbers that are 1. too low, 2. drop too fast. 3. lower than the cats body is used to (or any combination of all 3), the liver releases sugars and hormones to bring it back up. It's the body's "survival system" kicking in to save what it thinks is a dangerous blood glucose (whether it is or not). Those hormones take time to clear out of the system. That's why we say to hold the dose for those 3 days. To see where the blood glucose ends up after the sugars and hormones are out of the body so we can really see how that dose is doing.

I gave 0.75u, hopefully this is correct @Chris & China (GA)
 
Mochi was 89 this morning so I gave 0.75u
I talked with the vet and will be bringing her into our clinic tomorrow to do a GI panel. She had one previously to rule out infectious causes for diarrhea. Things will be a bit off tomorrow since she will need to fast and no insulin in the am.
 
Why no insulin in the morning?
This is not a good idea with DKA in the recent past.
If it is because she is fasting, you can give a 1/2 dose.

she got insulin..my google account is giving me problems and says I'm out of storage and I can't update :arghh:

for today 2/22/25..I worked today, so I only got the AMPS and then tested this evening

AMPS - 89 - 0.75u
PMPS - 113 - 0.75u
+2 - 70
+4 - 28

I just tested and she was 28 :-0 - I just gave her dextrose and high carb food, will retest in 30 minutes.

She was supposed to fast for 10hrs and nothing after dinner but given her BG, I am feeding and will just push the timing for the fasting test.

@Bron and Sheba (GA)
 
retested after 30 minutes and she is up to 51 now
28 is very low. Did she have any hypo symptoms ?
Yes please keep feeding until she is in safe numbers.
Following that low BG of 28 you need to reduce the dose down to 0.5 units of Lantus.
I think in the morning it might be best to skip the dose of insulin. Take the insulin with you to the vet along with testing equipment and give her the dose afterwards.
 
plan to give 0.5u of insulin after her test and food..this will be later than the 12hr span now that I fed her given her low BG. Advice on how to get her back to the normal times I give her injections? 10a is going to be about 3hrs later than usual injections.
She showed no signs of being hypo. She was hungry and ate well. On the spreadsheet you will see she was in that range not that long ago and acted fine then as well.
 
Was the AMPS 89 the one that was 3 hours late?
If so you need to put in the AMPS column ‘given at +15’

To get back to your schedule you can change the time by 15 minutes a cycle or 1/2 hour.a day
 
Back
Top