BGs Riding Low..Any Thoughts?

I can see he was 32 at AMPS. That is very low on the AT3.
Did you give some high carb food?
I am glad you dropped to 0.5 unit, that may even be too much insulin with everything else that is going on. So make sure you test frequently.
When do you expect to hear some results from the vet?
 
She ended up skipping the am dose..spreadsheet is updated.
She was able to get labs and urine test today. We started her on the pancreatic enzyme powder too!
 
I can see he was 32 at AMPS. That is very low on the AT3.
Did you give some high carb food?
I am glad you dropped to 0.5 unit, that may even be too much insulin with everything else that is going on. So make sure you test frequently.
When do you expect to hear some results from the vet?

yes, when she arrived at the vet, we did the labs and then she ate!!
numbers went up throughout the day, but at least didn't get into the 500s

this morning, she was 273 or close to that! gave 0.5 and will she where she is number for preshot when I get home from work
 
I would wait for 6 cycles after the 32 because Mochi could still be bouncing..
How is she eating?
Any results yet?

Eating is still great. Eating the Fancy Feast pates and an occasional Dr. Easley's handful of dry with the enzyme added, if she is still screaming for more food.
Results will be a few days. I should have urine results tomorrow and maybe some basic tests. The one a bit more detailed can take up to 5 -7days
 
It looks to me like Mochi is due for a dose increase to 0.75u.

If I can offer a thought.... On 2/22, Mochi's numbers dropped to 28 during the PM cycle. I would urge you to keep testing if you get a number that low. I'm assuming your vet your kitty high carb food. The issue is that the high carb can wear off. In fact, that's what your AMPS suggested -- your cat was at a 32 at AMPS. When you see low numbers, especially when they are that low, you want to test every 20 or so minutes to make sure your cat is back in. safe numbers and keep testing and feeding until you are sure the numbers are stable. This post on handling low numbers may be helpful.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA) just popping in and asking if you can take a look at Mochi's spreadsheet. She had a few lows, so I added a teaspoon of high calorie food to increase her numbers a bit during the day and before I gave insulin Thursday 3/6 am and pm. Seems like 0.5 isn't quite enough and 0.75 might be a little too much!
 
Hi Jennifer,
Because Mochi dropped under 90 and you are doing the SLGS method, you need to reduce the dose to 0.5 units at the next dose.
That 46 at +6 today is much too low on the alpha track meter. Any drop below 68 on the alphatrak meter must be followed up with high carb food and retesting to ensure the BG comes back up over 68.

How is the weight and appetite going?
 
This morning it was 227 and I gave 0.75(just seeing the response) going forward I will do 0.5u. I am home today and will monitor BGs and give high carb food if needed.
Per the vet I had stopped the enzyme to see how things looked with everything, I noticed her losing weight again, so I started it back up to see if the enzyme is playing a part with weight gain. Appetite is always great. After 1 can of Fancy Feast she sometimes is still hungry, confirming boiled chicken is okay to give? She has still been getting approximately 5 cans per day.
 
Last edited:
Boiled chicken is fine to give. Just make sure it isn’t more than 20% of the food eaten as it is not a complete food nutrients wise.
Will she eat a scrambled egg.? That is full of protein and nutrients. One of my cats is crazy for cooked egg of any description.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) I'll have to try egg! I'm only adding a little chicken to satisfy her after finishing a meal, thought maybe better than adding dry food. What do you think about the numbers so far today? Maybe the lows were due to something else yesterday? I don't think I did a fur shot this morning or maybe I gave a too much yesterday. 0.75 is hard to ballpark.
 
Mochi is bouncing from that 46 yesterday. A bounce can last up to 6 cycles.
You need to reduce the dose to 0.5 unit.
It’s fine to give chicken and egg etc. Just don’t make it the main part of the diet as cats need all the other nutrients such as minerals, taurine etc.
 
@Bron and Sheba (GA) how are her numbers looking? Is it best to keep Mochi at 0.5u for a while? I tried scrambled egg today and she enjoyed it! I did some research on eggs, and it says to only do a small amount at a time. She definitely needs the calories, but don't want to overdo it.
 
Back
Top