Black at Nadir - Question

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Kathy4Skipper, Jul 14, 2021.

  1. Kathy4Skipper

    Kathy4Skipper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2021
    Skipper's AM+6 number was 566. Is this a crazy bounce or did I give a fur shot this morning? I overslept this morning so no AM pre-preshot values. AM+9=538. (Sorry, but I can't test at night.)

    For future advice, if he is black at nadir, can I give him just a drop of insulin? It seems cruel to make him sit in the blacks for 10-12 hours.
     
  2. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    He might be running high or it might have been a fur shot. I think you need to raise that dose back up.
     
  3. Kathy4Skipper

    Kathy4Skipper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2021
    Ok, thanks, I'll up his dose tomorrow. I think I'll try a smidge under 2u next.
     
  4. JanetNJ

    JanetNJ Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 8, 2016
    I think it's safe to do the full 2, but you can do that if you want.
     
  5. Kathy4Skipper

    Kathy4Skipper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2021
    Ok, thanks. I'll see how it goes.
     
  6. Kathy4Skipper

    Kathy4Skipper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2021
    Well, Skipper's AMPS=265 so I gave his regular 1.75u instead of raising the dose. I'll see what he does over the next few cycles and then raise it. I don't know how to read him yet. He must have gone pretty low last night since his PM+10 was 216.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  7. Kathy4Skipper

    Kathy4Skipper Member

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2021
    I have a side question while I'm waiting to see how he does at 1.75u... :bookworm:

    I like to test at PM+10... this is my first morning opportunity to test him... to make sure he's not too low since I can't test at night. If his number is fine at +10, is it really necessary to test at PMPS? It's an extra jab and seems to be a waste of a test strip. For example, his PM+10 was 305 this morning.
     
    StarburstMom likes this.

Share This Page