Blackie Still Has Diarrhea

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Angela & Blackie & 3 Others, Jul 9, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

And it's been over 2 weeks now. She was put on the Fancy Feast Classic pate (first chicken, then turkey & giblets) since Tuesday, June 22nd. I know that in the beginning, an immediate switch from 1 food to the next would cause this problem. But for this long? She's been on psyllium capsules since June 26th (3x a day... 1 with each meal), and I thought they'd be helping but not now. I'd like to see her at least process some of the food that she's eating, not going through her little body like this.

I'm very concerned.

2. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

Laurie and Mr Tinkles Well-Known Member

Maybe you should try a different type of food at this point. The Fancy Feast may not agree with her stomach.

I'm no expert on diarrhea, just a thought.

3. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

That's what I was thinking, Laurie. It may be too rich for her, or something. It was a nice switch, though from the crap that she was eating.

Do I need to do a gradual switch over, or can I just simply feed her like normal with the new one? I've got Friskies in my cupboard that I normally give the other ones.

4. Laurie and Mr Tinkles

I really don't know what to advise you on how to switch over. When Tinkles was diagnosed, I did an immediate switch, all at once, to Fancy Feast (from dry food) and only one of my cats had any problem, and it was mild....slightly looser stool for a day, then no further issues. I would guess that since she's already having problems, a switch could improve things for her...so maybe just giving her the new food all at once might be ok? Like I said, I'm no expert, I haven't had to deal with this problem so I'm not much help...

5. Anonymous

Anonymous Guest