Blue 7/3

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Alexia and Blue, Jul 3, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Alexia and Blue

Alexia and Blue Member

AMPS- 198 .4U/1U
    +2.5 143
    +5.5 111
    +18 170

I had to close at work tonight so I wasn't able to test at +12 so we tested at +18 but there isn't enough time between then and when he needs his morning shot so we didn't give any insulin tonight. We'll see how his numbers are in the morning. Good news is that I know my schedule for the next 2 weeks and I only close twice.

2. Hillary & Maui (GA)

Hillary & Maui (GA) Well-Known Member

Looking good. And you're getting good input on here and health (from Chris) regarding dose, no-shoot, etc.

I'd like to see his PS - under 200, so let's hope he can deliver. :D

3. Angela & Blackie & 3 Others

Angela & Blackie & 3 Others Well-Known Member

Looking very good. How do you know when not to shoot? Considering I'm still very new in this field, I'm concerned about overdosing, and/or underdosing.

Although, right now she still needs her insulin BID. Working on hoping to change that in the future...

4. Joanna & Bix (GA)

Joanna & Bix (GA) Well-Known Member

That's really awesome for a +18, yay!!!

To answer your question Angela, typically people set a no-shoot # like 180 or 200 for starters. If you get a # below that at PS time, you wait 30 minutes or so and retest. Once the # is over 200, then you go ahead and give the usual dose.

Once you have given some shots on PSs around 200 and have some data to be sure your cat tolerates the full dose fine, then you lower your no-shoot to 180, and then with more data to 150.