? Bubba 10.4. AM=78,+4=64.+7.25=64

Status
Not open for further replies.

Bobbie And Bubba

Very Active Member
Bubba 10.3.16


Good Mid Morning L & L ~ getting used to this BTB stuff. :coffee:

Got a nice start this AM and that was after he awoken me at 12:45 head butting me. He was 62 so fed and didn't give anymore food at +9 and he held nicely. I will continue to experiment with an earlier feed time.

Bubba was my turban for part of the night. Would prefer him to lay next to me rather than wrapped around my head. Oh my hair this morning........:rolleyes:
 
Last edited:
I think Bubba and Chela my civvie have a lot in common with bedroom manners :))

Beautiful numbers- it's about time for his trial almost isn't it ? :D:D:D
 
I think Bubba and Chela my civvie have a lot in common with bedroom manners :))

Beautiful numbers- it's about time for his trial almost isn't it ? :D:D:D
Tomorrow will be day 7 on the .10 dose and then Wednesday we start the OTJ trail. :joyful: I think he is ready as he popped me a 64 for his +4 today. And his AM number was lower than usual. He is ready to be OTJ again.
upload_2016-10-4_11-5-56.png
 
I was thinking the same thing......

Wonderful! SO exciting-
I am not sure when to start Trouble's OTJ trial.. His numbers ahve been great- but he did throw a low blue the other night... (could have been from the new food he had for his +9)....

Not in a hurry as I want it to be strong- at the same time- would be nice to have him and Bubba have a party together :)) :cat::D:D:cat:
 
Wonderful! SO exciting-
I am not sure when to start Trouble's OTJ trial.. His numbers ahve been great- but he did throw a low blue the other night... (could have been from the new food he had for his +9)....

Not in a hurry as I want it to be strong- at the same time- would be nice to have him and Bubba have a party together :)) :cat::D:D:cat:
The low blue the other night was still a normal number. But I so understand how you want this to be the final time of OTJ.
 
The low blue the other night was still a normal number. But I so understand how you want this to be the final time of OTJ.

I know- and he's been so finicky- so maybe I will see what his numbers do today/tomorrow and ask for advice re: OTJ trial! A drop is such a tiny dose!! But the most important thing is for him to be strong and ready!! xo
 
I know- and he's been so finicky- so maybe I will see what his numbers do today/tomorrow and ask for advice re: OTJ trial! A drop is such a tiny dose!! But the most important thing is for him to be strong and ready!! xo
Think I'll ask the wise ones if I should reduce to a drop or just let him OTJ trail after Wednesday.
 
Question to the "Wise Ones" Today Bubba is enjoying his lowest numbers yet and surfing. Tomorrow is day 7 on the .10 dose an I was going to start his OTJ trail on Thursday. Should I take him to a drop or should he be good to start OTJ on Thursday assuming his numbers stay normal.?
 
Out of curiosity, have you measured how many drops in the 0.1U dose? As a refresher, here is Jill's post on earning reductions and starting OTJ trials.
No I have not ever measure how many drops are in .10. Should I? And how many drops should be in .10? I don't think I have ever seen a drop number for that dose.

According to the Reducing the Dose in the TR Stickie:

Since 2006 we've encouraged those practicing Tight Regulation to attempt reducing the dose from 0.25u to 0.1u before stopping insulin completely. During a two week OTJ trial, you want to see mostly green numbers (under 100) with only a few random blue numbers between 100 - 120 to help ensure a strong remission. Most kitties will be in the range of a healthy cat (50 - 80 mg/dL).

So, I am assuming correctly that Bubba is ready for me to try another OTJ trail?

 
I ask about the number of drops because I've seen some people have a rather generous 0.1 units. Just rotate the plunger and count the number of drops. It shouldn't be many.
 
I ask about the number of drops because I've seen some people have a rather generous 0.1 units. Just rotate the plunger and count the number of drops. It shouldn't be many.
Okay I will do . I can tell you this, according the .10 pictorial guide it says a little under the zero line and mine has been to the zero line. I will count it now and see.
 
I probably shouldn't say anything since Mandarin came out of remission with a vengeance - but looking at Bubba's ss, he looks like he is ready for a trial. And I'm sure he would agree if you asked him. ;)
 
I've seen people do a drop, but I think it's up to you to decide if it's required. He's looking a lot better on this dose this time and he'll get the full 7 days in green if he keeps it up. That 96 tonight was a little close to the edge.
Thanks Wendy for your input. I will see how he does tonight and tomorrow and go from there. :)
 
I don't remember if you knew why Bubba came out of remission. Do you know and if so, was the cause addressed?

Because he already has been OTJ once and has come out of remission, honestly, I'd make it harder for him to go on his next trial. I might even stay on this current dose until he earns a reduction on it, and then if he were mine, this time around, I'd decrease by drops to try to keep him on insulin as long as possible. I'd want the strongest remission possible rather than a quicker one - but I'm not in your shoes and of course, the decisions are always yours.

Just my thoughts. You know him best.
 
One more thought - on the TR page, under Remission, it says:
14 days without insulin and normal blood glucose values. Most remission cats are able to stay in the normal range all of the time (50 to 80 mg/dl), although there are a few cases of sporadic higher and lower BGs. Don't stop feeding low-carb and try to avoid cortisone if possible.
Bubba's numbers are on the higher end - with lots of 90's. I'd feel better with him starting an OTJ trial if the range shifted a tiny bit lower, although some folks do start trials with their kitties looking much like Bubba looks right now.
 
I don't remember if you knew why Bubba came out of remission. Do you know and if so, was the cause addressed?

Because he already has been OTJ once and has come out of remission, honestly, I'd make it harder for him to go on his next trial. I might even stay on this current dose until he earns a reduction on it, and then if he were mine, this time around, I'd decrease by drops to try to keep him on insulin as long as possible. I'd want the strongest remission possible rather than a quicker one - but I'm not in your shoes and of course, the decisions are always yours.

Just my thoughts. You know him best.
At first we thought the stress of us going away Labor Day Weekend and him getting into food garbage is what caused the lost remission but then we discovered he had a canine tooth that had resorbtion and he was in a lot of pain. That tooth was extracted on 9.21 and his numbers started improving after that.

The normal range of 50 -80 does concern me but, even the first time around his numbers were under 90.

Thanks for your input, I appreciate it and I might keep him on this dose for a bit longer, sigh....
 
I'd make it harder for him to go on his next trial. I might even stay on this current dose until he earns a reduction
Does 7 days on this dose all in greens qualify for an earned reduction? If so and he stays in all greens through tonight, then tomorrow I would take him to the suck up drop method, correct?
 
In the true spirit of a peer-reviewed message board I'm responding to Bobbie's PM here (since I don't see a thread opened yet for today):

Do you think he has "earned " a reduction after tonight with all green numbers for a week? And is it necessary to do a drop for a week after tonight?
Let me preface my response by saying when it comes to a kitty being on insulin a second or even third time around, IMO, the "rules" are there to guide, but not to be taken as absolutes.

Don't sell yourself short. You have more experience with getting a cat OTJ than most here... not to mention that experience is with Bubba. You know him better than anyone else.
He is ready to be OTJ again.
Do you mean it? If you do, I trust your judgement.

If you're wavering... well, that tells me you're unsure. If that's the case, you have a couple of options:

  • keep him on this 0.1u dose until you feel he's ready to either start a trial or earn a reduction to a lessor dose
  • try out the "push the plunger in hard and then release to suck up a tiny bit of insulin" dose next

No matter what you decide, you have a 50% chance of your decision being the right one for Bubba. There are no guarantees no matter how this is handled. None.

I'm sure you were looking for a definitive answer, but the very best response I can give you is to think long and hard about the right answer for Bubba. I remember one of our long time members asking me why I kept Alex on a particular dose longer than "protocol" suggested and the only response I could give was that I just didn't "feel like" she was ready for a reduction... and vice versa. There were times when I'd take reductions based on "feeling" she was ready. It's what comes with "knowing they cat" and having first-hand experience taking your cat OTJ.

Use your experience and what you know abut Bubba to guide your decisions. The very worst that can happen is that he'll need a little bit more support.

You're faced with a tough decision, but it's one that can only be made by you.



You know we'll all support whatever decision you make.
Good luck! :)
 
In the true spirit of a peer-reviewed message board I'm responding to Bobbie's PM here (since I don't see a thread opened yet for today):


Let me preface my response by saying when it comes to a kitty being on insulin a second or even third time around, IMO, the "rules" are there to guide, but not to be taken as absolutes.

Don't sell yourself short. You have more experience with getting a cat OTJ than most here... not to mention that experience is with Bubba. You know him better than anyone else.

Do you mean it? If you do, I trust your judgement.

If you're wavering... well, that tells me you're unsure. If that's the case, you have a couple of options:

  • keep him on this 0.1u dose until you feel he's ready to either start a trial or earn a reduction to a lessor dose
  • try out the "push the plunger in hard and then release to suck up a tiny bit of insulin" dose next
No matter what you decide, you have a 50% chance of your decision being the right one for Bubba. There are no guarantees no matter how this is handled. None.

I'm sure you were looking for a definitive answer, but the very best response I can give you is to think long and hard about the right answer for Bubba. I remember one of our long time members asking me why I kept Alex on a particular dose longer than "protocol" suggested and the only response I could give was that I just didn't "feel like" she was ready for a reduction... and vice versa. There were times when I'd take reductions based on "feeling" she was ready. It's what comes with "knowing they cat" and having first-hand experience taking your cat OTJ.

Use your experience and what you know abut Bubba to guide your decisions. The very worst that can happen is that he'll need a little bit more support.

You're faced with a tough decision, but it's one that can only be made by you.



You know we'll all support whatever decision you make.
Good luck! :)
Thanks for your response Jill, and yes, I was wanting you to tell me an absolute, LOL. :facepalm: Before I second guessed myself, I was ready to start the trail tomorrow if today proved to be all greens again. I suppose as fast as I reeled him back in, a drop for a week won't be a big deal. I appreciate all the support and opinions everyone offers.

Thanks again! :bighug:
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top