BuddyM: AMPS 403, +3 395, +5 350 +7 335

Mariette

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...349-dosing-advice-please.239887/#post-2698025

Buddy Boy had some nice yellow numbers for two days but back in the pinks today :(

I'll increase to 4 units tomorrow.

He's still ravenous in the mornings. Better hunger wise from about +2 for a few hours. But then he goes down hard for a mega nap. Weight's not really budging yet. It's a difficult balancing act. When he's so hungry I feel like I have to give him something. But I'm sure he'll do so much better when he loses some weight. If I fed him whenever he was hungry he would gain more which I definitely don't want. It's causing lots of stress and I find it very difficult to deny him.

He'll just sit there next to the empty plate. Or stare at the empty plate and then back at me. He makes it very clear and must think I'm stupid. :)

buddy_kitchen_sm.jpg
buddy_kitchen2_sm.jpg
 

Attachments

  • buddy_kitchen_sm.jpg
    buddy_kitchen_sm.jpg
    300.3 KB · Views: 61
  • buddy_kitchen2_sm.jpg
    buddy_kitchen2_sm.jpg
    393.5 KB · Views: 62
That's one of the things I loved about the autofeeder. Neko stared at it instead of me for food. :p

How/what times are you feeding Buddy now? I found that spreading food out to smaller meals the first half of the cycle also helped somewhat with the hunger. And making sure I added a little water to fill her tummy.
 
Last edited:
Haha, yes I was thinking about the auto feeder. Good point. It might take some pressure off me.

I just started a food spreadsheet for him:
https://docs.google.com/spreadsheet...qTVlkoET9-mVyVYediwqe1H9n19ggFPZPM-6X/pubhtml

I was finding it hard to keep track of the total calories. It doesn't show the time I feed though. Maybe I should modify the sheet a bit to show that.

I usually start with a largish amount at AMPS (8am). This morning it was one Tiki Beef. He also had a leftover half of Fancy Feast Purely at the same time. That was 135 Calories in one swoop, but he was still hungry!
I do try to not give the whole can in one go but he made it impossible today. The breakfast was spread over 45 minutes.. Continuous pleading for more.
He had another Fancy Feast Purely at 11. Then Tiki Lamb at 3. He still has to get dinner.. I usually will give half around 6 and then the next half at 8 (PMPS time). And then I try to give a snack before bed but the amount of calories today are a bit much. Not sure he'll have a snack in the budget.

I do add some water to the food for the most part. I was wondering if there was a fiber supplement or something I could add to fill him up a bit. But I don't want to mess up his tummy.
 
It's a good idea to keep track of food fed. I did mine in the Remarks section of the spreadsheet, some people add a tab to the spreadsheet. I have seen some people put a * in the SS column when they feed to keep track of time. Lots of ways to do it.

I used to feed hourly for the first few hours. I'd feed the first meal on a plate, and the rest went in the autofeeder - so Neko would camp by the feeder and not bug me.
 
Back
Top