Can someone look at Kiki’s spreadsheet?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Kiki & Lola, Oct 26, 2023.

  1. Kiki & Lola

    Kiki & Lola Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    I won’t be home all day and I am nervous to give Kiki her dose. Amps is 162
     
  2. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Did you give her the 1 unit? It looks like it on the spreadsheet? I have been having technology problems all day and haven’t been able to get online. Hopefully, you left food out for her while you were gone?
     
  3. Kiki & Lola

    Kiki & Lola Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    Hi! Yes I gave her the dose and I always leave food out for her when I’m at work just in case (she is a slow eater/grazer) I just take it away 2 hours before her insulin shots. She seems to be doing well :)
     
  4. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What kind of food? She seems to be doing well on the 1 unit. It appears that when she starts in the middle to upper blues that she’s safe receiving the 1 unit. If you plan to follow SLGS then you would need to reduce when she drops below 90 (human meter.) If you want to follow Modified ProZinc Method, you don’t need to reduce unless she goes below 40 (human meter.) You generally do plenty of testing. It just requires both preshot tests and at least one mid-cycle test. I usually get so excited when I see those nice greens that I forget to mention this.
     
    Kiki & Lola likes this.
  5. Kiki & Lola

    Kiki & Lola Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    Thank you! She is eating fancy feast classics and purina proplan urinary tract health (canned)
     
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You skipped the last two night's shots? It would have been a good opportunity to shoot one half of her normal dose and get a few tests to see how she does. At the 148, I think she really would have been fine with the 1 unit dose. For example, you shot one unit this morning with a number that is basically the same as the 148. I understand that today is the daytime though :) Last night when she was at 102, I would have shot .5 units and gotten a few tests in to see how she did on that dose.
     
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Several opportunities have been missed for reducing her dose. She has gone under 90 on multiple occasions and she should have been reduced by .25 units (down to .75 units.) This may also help you not to have skipped shots with those lower preshots. Or, please put MPM on your spreadsheet and in your signature so that we (and especially lurkers who read to try to learn but do not post) will know why you have not reduced the dose when she's dropped below 90. Also, if you haven't had a chance to read the MPM method, please check it out. This sticky note contains both the SLGS instructions and the MPM instructions.

    https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/prozinc-dosing-methods.225629/
     
  8. Kiki & Lola

    Kiki & Lola Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    Ok thank you. My vet has told me not to change her dose without contacting her and not to shoot under 150 so I thought I was doing the right thing by skipping when I wasn’t available to monitor her. She is 102 and I’ll try to give her .5 to see how she does :)
     
  9. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. I understand. But I was just looking at her spreadsheet, and I see she went into a lime green number today. That is absolutely a definite reduction in dose of .25 units!!! This is for Kiki’s safety and it doesn’t matter which dosing method you are using. So, please, her new dose going forward is .75 units and not 1 unit any longer. I knew this was coming because of her numbers, but this is a good thing and means that Kiki is making progress. Congratulations on the reduction!

    As for the recommendation to shoot .5 units when she is in the lower blues, I was assuming that you could monitor her in the evening because you usually do. I would not recommend shooting if you were not going to be at home or otherwise not able to monitor her cycle. I will be checking in to see how she does tonight. She is doing so well and you deserve a lot of credit for doing such a great job. I think she has a good chance for her pancreas to heal.
     
    Kiki & Lola likes this.
  10. Kiki & Lola

    Kiki & Lola Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    Thank you so much! She seems so much more energetic and all around happier. I’m very proud with how well she is doing. She even meets me for her ear pricks now :)
     
  11. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’m excited to see how she had an excellent cycle last night on the .5 dose and is having another one today on her new dose! :D This is really good to see. Keep up the good work!
     
    Kiki & Lola likes this.
  12. Angus' mom

    Angus' mom Member

    Joined:
    Oct 6, 2023
    I'm jealous of your colours, she's looking so much better!
     
    Kiki & Lola likes this.
  13. Kiki & Lola

    Kiki & Lola Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    Thank you thank you! I truly believe switching her to the low and zero carb food made all the difference!
     
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It does make a huge difference. I'm really happy with these numbers on the spreadsheet too!
     
    Kiki & Lola likes this.
  15. Kiki & Lola

    Kiki & Lola Member

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2023
    Thank you so much for all of your help
     

Share This Page