? Cap only at 201 this morning - do I still give 2 units?

His numbers have been weird this week and dropping per day / not going up even though yesterday's 4+ test was at 167 which is 30 points higher than a week earlier. He was at 201 this morning half an hour before his shot; I gave him breakfast, and he ate a little but not much. He's been picky this week.

Do I withhold / reduce the dose, or go ahead and do 2 in 10 minutes? Or do I prick his ear again in case the numbers were off first?
 
His numbers have been weird this week and dropping per day / not going up even though yesterday's 4+ test was at 167 which is 30 points higher than a week earlier. He was at 201 this morning half an hour before his shot; I gave him breakfast, and he ate a little but not much. He's been picky this week.

Do I withhold / reduce the dose, or go ahead and do 2 in 10 minutes? Or do I prick his ear again in case the numbers were off first?
Also you fed him — so the new test would be thrown off by that
 
I also don’t see anything odd about his numbers at all. I see that finally he’s having some decent blue numbers. The lower AMPS thos morning is a very good sign.
 
That’s fantastic. He didn’t even want any Dr. Elsey’s? Not even a few pieces? 96 is a very safe number. In fact, with your ReliOn meter, any number 50 and above is quite safe. I would prefer he eat something for a snack…. if you stick something in front of his nose (pure meat baby food? Tuna? Some Pure Bites freeze dried meat? or some boiled chicken?) do you think he might eat a small amount? Definitely get a +5.
 
That’s fantastic. He didn’t even want any Dr. Elsey’s? Not even a few pieces? 96 is a very safe number. In fact, with your ReliOn meter, any number 50 and above is quite safe. I would prefer he eat something for a snack…. if you stick something in front of his nose (pure meat baby food? Tuna? Some Pure Bites freeze dried meat? or some boiled chicken?) do you think he might eat a small amount? Definitely get a +5.
I woke him up to do it, and he just curled back up. But I'll run back to the house (I work a block away, hah) and try to get him to eat a little something in ten minutes. Usually he's hungry at +5 or +6. ❤️
 
It is pretty great! Particularly in the winter!

I finally managed to get him to eat about a tablespoon of low-carb food.

His number at +5 is 78.

ETA: He's also hungry now and eating more.
 
Excellent! What a beautiful cycle. If you can get a +6 we should be able to see that he is happily surfing along in the “healing greens.” I am pleased that he dropped into green but isn’t diving precipitously.
 
That's good, I guess. Haha.

What do I do if he's 200 or less at +12? Give 2 or 1.75? I don't want to be up testing half the night.

Or if he's low again tomorrow? (I have to go on a 6-8 hour work trip in the morning so I won't be home to test.)
 
As for tomorrow, today showed that with a preshot of 200 he does just fine with the 2 unit dose as long as he has regular food. He will need access to food tomorrow regardless of what you shoot. Since you will be away and not able to run home from work to check up on him, I would shoot 1.75 units if he is around 200. If he’s 250 or above, I would shoot 2 for tomorrow.
 
As for tomorrow, today showed that with a preshot of 200 he does just fine with the 2 unit dose as long as he has regular food. He will need access to food tomorrow regardless of what you shoot. Since you will be away and not able to run home from work to check up on him, I would shoot 1.75 units if he is around 200. If he’s 250 or above, I would shoot 2 for tomorrow.
Will do.

I leave out Dr. Elsey's when I'm gone for when he gets hungry. :)
 
Stressful week for me (glad it's almost over) but he's okay. He's being picky and refusing to eat unless he's STARVING, so I had to pick up his dry food last night. And this morning he was under 300 and ate an entire can of cat food so yay for a small victory, lol. I plan to test him at +5 since that's his low point.
That was a good idea to take away the dry since he must have nibbled enough so that he wasn’t really very hungry in the morning! Sorry you have had a stressful week.
 
That was a good idea to take away the dry since he must have nibbled enough so that he wasn’t really very hungry in the morning! Sorry you have had a stressful week.
I couldn't get a 10am this morning. His ear is reluctant to give sometimes.

He's at 265 and its 15 minutes until shot time. Should I give him 2 units and stay up to 10 to test?
Or is testing unnecessary tonight?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top