Cassie 1/26-27 +6 33

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by bookw0rm, Jan 26, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Amps 330, 1.4u (+11.5)

    And there's the bounce...
     
  2. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    Hi Lisa,
    Sorry , hate when that happens!
    hang in there and have a good day!
     
  3. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    +4 287
     
  4. Teresa and Poopy

    Teresa and Poopy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 17, 2011
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    Better pink than red. :YMSIGH: And looks like you caught it before it got much higher. :smile:

    Here's hoping for a better day. :D
     
  5. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    Maybe we'll get a surf. Hoping so!!
     
  6. calliecat an marty

    calliecat an marty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    yes I agree better pink than red , and its almost yellow ;-) hope you have a blue day !
     
  7. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    Pmps 245, 1.4u (+12)
     
  8. dmartini4

    dmartini4 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 6, 2010
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    So much better!
    :mrgreen:
     
  9. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    Looking real good!
     
  10. donnahc

    donnahc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    Yellow=Gud :D
     
  11. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Re: Cassie 1/26-27

    +6 33 :eek: (take 2: 28)

    Fed the usual 1/4 friskees. How soon do I need to check again? He's acting normal. Guess we get to reduce in the morning!
     
  12. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Lisa, do you have a little higer carbed gravy that you ca give her and retest in 15 mins?
     
  13. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    I do have some gravy carbs; should I see what the usual food did first?
     
  14. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    At 33 BG you may just want to give a tiny bit, just to get that # up. Trying to get more experinced members in here...
     
  15. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    She's low enough that I would feed her the gravy off the food, Lisa. It has the carbs. You want to bring her up and not go any lower.

    Yes, test again in 15. And breathe.....
     
  16. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Thank G-D you are on Sue!!
     
  17. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Lisa, where is Callie at? Been 15 mins...
     
  18. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +6.5 50

    Gonna dig out the gravy.
     
  19. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
  20. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Remember try to give the gravy w/out the food as you don't want her tummy to fill up all the way. Just in case you may need to try to feed again.
     
  21. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    50 is quite a jump up. This is good. I might back off the gravy and see if she wants a little regular.

    If you can manage this without giving a whole lot of carbs, you may be able to have less of a bounce from the carbs next preshot.
     
  22. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Another test in 15 though, just so you can stay on top of the numbers.
     
  23. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +6.75 53

    The jump to 50 was just from the normal friskees; gave the.gravy after.

    How far should I reduce in the morning? 1.2 or just 1?

    Darn phone keeps locking up...
     
  24. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Never a dull moment around here. What is the latest test reading?
     
  25. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    If you will be around, 1.2 should be okay. If not, one unit would be good. Hard to balance being safe with not losing momentum.
     
  26. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    I have always "heard" Robin say, that after a hypo situation, that the next cycle the cat is highly sensitive to insulin. I have also read that the old philosophy was to actually skip a cycle of insulin after the hypo cycle. At the least, I would reduce greatly next cycle and shoot a token dose.
     
  27. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    That's good advice, Kim. Maybe my dose advice for a cycle after. So you can be sure she isn't going to start a new pattern of lower numbers.
     
  28. Hi all,
    Looks like plenty of eyes are here.....Thanks for the invite, Lisa (and Jax)....

    One question....on the original 33, did you check again just to see if it was 100% right?

    Good job, Lisa!

    Carl
     
  29. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Looks like she retested and got a 28.
     
  30. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +7 51

    Just fed more gravy.

    33 retest was 28.

    They LIKE chicken & cheese w/ gravy.
     
  31. Lisa,
    Thanks. Wow, 28.... no symptoms you could see though?

    Looking at SS now...
     
  32. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    She's doing fine, Lisa. Staying in that range is good.

    Sometimes they surf in that range longer than the 12 hour cycle. Sometimes they go back up within a couple infusions of gravy.
     
  33. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    You are doing good.... The gravy should bring him up more. Try to retest again in 15 mins.
     
  34. Looks like Mr. P is sputtering? Look at the AMPS on 1/23. Same dose gave you a 200 point drop at +4. The other cycles, not so much activity. I'd guess the same sort of thing happened tonight again for some random reason.
    Lisa, this is awesome, scary, but awesome.

    I saw what Kim and Sue said above on the dose for tomorrow. I agree that AMPS should be a token dose and that Cass would most likely be insulin sensitive.

    Lisa, you at home during the day time tomorrow?

    Carl
     
  35. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +7.25 43

    I have class tomorrow so I won't be around from his usual +4 to +12 (7 to 3).
     
  36. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Wish we were seeing some more movement up. It would be nice if you don't have to do an all night vigil......

    What does everyone think about getting some syrup out?
     
  37. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    I would have thought the gravy would have kicked in a little more by now. Continue to test.... You should start to see more upward movement soon.
     
  38. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    I would test again in 15 mins, but if the gravy is only holding the numbers steady, I might would get the syrup out to get some upward movement.
     
  39. Lisa,
    Can you guesstimate how much gravy and how much wet food Cass has gotten so far? I think it might take a little longer to really kick in.

    Carl
     
  40. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Didn't I see someone on Health with a concoction of a little syrup mixed with a little gravy?
     
  41. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    About 2-3 tablespoons gravy & shreds and 1/4 can friskees (~2 oz). I have honey if you think he needs it.
     
  42. Yes, Sue! She shared the recipe... let me look
     
  43. Lisa,
    Hold off on the honey for a few.....at least one more test first.
    How long till you are late getting to bed?

    Carl
     
  44. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I was hoping he would continue up from those 50s, not go back to the 40s. Is he about 8 now? I think I would try a little syrup mixed with the gravy. If he doesn't like that, just a small smear on his gums?
     
  45. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Should be almost time for a test update...
     
  46. RECIPE -

    We don't have access to "kangaroo pate", but any pate should work. Amazing but I guess in Australia, they use kangaroo in cat food???

    Carl
     
  47. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +7.5 50

    I'm usually in bed by now but I'm okay for a while.
     
  48. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    My concern is that he has been hanging out in the 40- 50s for 2 hours., right?
     
  49. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    1 1/2 that I know of.
     
  50. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    All these numbers are essentially the same for the last couple of hours.... AND, you have gravy on board. I would continue to test every every 15-20 mins... I would have expected more upward movement from the gravy.
     
  51. I think the gravy just kept him from dropping more, so it's doing its job. I think another spoonful mixed with a small bit of food might be a good idea. Like to see him jump 20-30 points and stay there so you don't have to stay up all night.

    Carl
     
  52. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    I agree the gravy just kept him from dropping further, which is scary. The gravy is creating a foodspike in the BG and will wear off....I would give him more gravy..
     
  53. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +7.75 53

    Will serve more gravy now.
     
  54. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I vote for a little syrup if the next test isn't moving up into the +50s. It would be nice to manage with food and avoid a possible carb spike, but I don't like him in these numbers for this long.
     
  55. Lisa,
    How is he acting? Normal? Is he getting tired of the pokes?

    Carl
     
  56. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Still essentially the same number... 50s are good numbers, but I would just expect higher with the gravy on board...it is concerning where he would be w/o the gravy or where he might go when it wears off. I would also think the insulin should start wearing off soon. But, sometimes with "strong" doses.... They seem to last longer...
     
  57. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    He seems fine. When he's not eating he's been in my lap & still purring through tests.

    Can't find carbs for chicken & cheese with gravy but it's probably 12% or so. I have some evo dry...
     
  58. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Almost 2 hrs (that we know of) in...
     
  59. the chicken and cheese.....what brand is it? I have the charts open...
    Carl
     
  60. The Evo dry is something you might think about leaving a little bit out overnight. But it'll take a while to show up in BG if you feed it now. It won't be a quick boost.
     
  61. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +8 47

    Time for honey?
    Feeding friskees.
     
  62. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How about trying a little honey on the gums?
     
  63. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Numbers are still the same.... I am amazed they are not going up. The numbers are safe, but unless you give something additionally (honey) to get you out of this range..... You are in for a long night! The insulin should start wearing off soon, but it is showing no evidence of it.
     
  64. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    Just gave honey & more gravy.
     
  65. Friskees Turkey and cheese shreds is 12%, no chicken/cheese listed. But the chicken has to be at least 12% if the turkey is that high. So let's say 12% is a good guess.

    Carl
     
  66. The EVO on the chart (EVO cat and kitten) is only 7%, so the shreds is probably a better choice as a "leave a bit out overnight" food.
     
  67. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    You are doing good!
     
  68. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Wow Lisa! I'm late to this party!

    Just FYI, some cats don't show any signs of hypo. Thumper was at 39 on NY Eve & 33 recently & acted fine.
     
  69. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +8.25 50

    La la la...
     
  70. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    How much honey did you give him?
     
  71. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    I don't know how long it takes for the honey to hit, I thought pretty quick?
     
  72. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    The good news is.... He is holding steady and you have lots of strips!

    The honey should hit soon.
     
  73. donnahc

    donnahc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    Must be that kind of night. How are things going now Lisa. Any more upward movement?
     
  74. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Lisa, where did you go?
     
  75. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    I see you're back....you scared me. You do have hypo sheet printed out just in case something goes wrong with your phone, right?
     
  76. A long green surf....I'm thinking no shot at AMPS, Lisa.

    Carl
     
  77. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +8.5 64

    Gave him most of a stick you stir in tea-maybe a tablespoon? (it just says serving size 1 stick)
     
  78. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I like seeing a 60. :D
     
  79. donnahc

    donnahc Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 4, 2011
    64 is sounding better :). You are doing great.
     
  80. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    No am shot-so I don't have to get up at 3 to poke a.kitty? :)

    I have the hypo sheet handy & if necessary I can be at school in 2.min. For 'net acces.

    Okay, so I need 3 rising numbers-64 counts since it's more 20% above 50. So 1...
     
  81. Lisa & Jax

    Lisa & Jax Member

    Joined:
    Dec 18, 2011
    Cant stay on any longer. Face keeps hitting the keyboard...just cant sty awake no matter what. glad more people on now. Will say quick prayers for cassie!!!
     
  82. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    +8.75 63
     
  83. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Well, he just doesn't want to come up does he?

    I might be a little more cautious since he came up so slowly even with honey. That will wear off fast.
     
  84. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    I agree with Barbara. You have a lot of things --- the gravy and honey that should be influencing the higher numbers. They both could wear off quickly.
     
  85. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
  86. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    When's your next test Lisa?

    Kim, how long are you going to be on?

    Who else is still on? Sue, Carl?
     
  87. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Just a suggestion, I think you could wait 30 mins this time. Give him a little break & longer to see where the numbers are heading on their own. You haven't fed anything else or given honey have you?
     
  88. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I am signing off. Carl, will you be the late night guy?

    What a good job you have done, Lisa. Calm and collected!
     
  89. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    I can stay however long is necessary!
     
  90. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Sue, Kim & I are here. I'm actually trying to get a +6 on Miss Stubborn.
     
  91. Sue and Oliver (GA)

    Sue and Oliver (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Great. Glad that you can stay up. Not expecting problems at this point, Lisa. Just nice to have company.
     
  92. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    I put the rest of the gravy food out but he's lost interest. He ate most of the can (Ben had some). Strangely, he's still jumping in my lap willingly for tests.

    Thanks for the help, all. I've read other "hypo" threads but this is only Cass's second.attempt. (first was the day he came home from dka).
     
  93. I will stay here until Lisa tells me I'm done. I don't have to get up till 10ish in the morning anyway, so no problems. This week, I am the chairperson for the Night Owl Club!

    Carl
     
  94. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Kim, I'm going to go do a couple of things as long as you are here for the next 15 mins?
     
  95. So Barbara,
    Since Kim has neglected to ask lately.....
    How's Petunia? :lol:
     
  96. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Ok Carl, I didn't know you were still around. I will check back in but I don't think Lisa needs me at this point. :smile:
     
  97. bookw0rm

    bookw0rm Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2011
    wish I could sleep till 10 in the morning...

    Oh well. Can't go to bed till Cass cooperates.
     
  98. Barbara

    Barbara Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2011
    Funny you should ask right now. I just heard screaming....she had a claw stuck under the bed on the mattress! She finally got out but was limping, she appears to be ok though. She's truly a monkey on DH's back. :lol: Everytime he leans over she jumps on his back & just sits down! She's done it to me a few times, can't even brush me teeth in peace! It's hilarious! :lol: :lol:
     
  99. kse

    kse Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2011
    Yes, Carl, since you are here....... I am going to sleep! And, by the way, I did ask about sweet Petunia this week!

    Good Night All.......

    You did Great, Lisa!
     
  100. calliecat an marty

    calliecat an marty Member

    Joined:
    Jun 24, 2011
    Lisa, I see you are having a fun night to !! you are doing great , it very nice to know that all these wonderful people on here will line dance with us cat_pet_icon :YMHUG: dancing_cat
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page