Cierra/diabetics/pancreatitics

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Din, Mar 8, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Cierra


    Previous post
    https://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/cierra-story-please-help.273538/page-2#post-3052404

    Monday 6 /3/2023
    5am- 1/2 can fancy feast chicken chunky
    7am -1 can
    9.45am- started to vomited
    4 times vomited- food
    Then 6 times water
    4.30pm -Vet check
    Full blood test
    7pm - Hospitalised
    Nurse has given insulin 3 units ( I’m not sure they exactly how many units they had given. Earlier said 6 units now saying 3 units)
    Went close to hypo
    Change fluid and hardmand 50% glucose at 7/3/2022



    Tuesday 7/3/2023
    Morning and evening Talked to me lot , trying to say something.

    eat (according to the nurse)-5 table spoons
    Cooked chicken


    Glucose within range

    LIPASE - from 5638 to <6000
    {100-1400}


    Cholesterol- from 8.43 to 9.42
    {1.68-5.81}

    ALP- from287 to 112 {14-111}

    Urea- from 12.7 to 17.8 {5.7-12.9}

    SDMA-from 17 to17 {0-14}

    Wednsday 8/3/2023
    Morning-Did not even getup. No energy at all. Evening- no energy/ was laying on litter box.

    Glucose within range

    LIPASE - from <6000 to 2176
    {100-1400}


    Cholesterol- from 9.42 to 8.25
    {1.68-5.81}

    ALP- from 112 to normal {14-111}

    Urea- from 17.8 - normal

    SDMA-from 17 to 15 {0-14}

    GGT - from 0 to 10 {0-4}

    Tummy getting bigger

    X-ray done ( requested copy didn’t give yet)
    Ultrasound done ( but has not removed her belly purr hair , just wondering CAN they DO ULTRASOUND without removing belly hair?????

    Glucose at 7pm 9 point. And nurse has given 3 units . I ran to vet again and begged to keep eye on and check her glucose every 15 minutes ( she does have free style libre) but has not checked. Only has checked hourly her glucose went down to 6.1 and they add/ change fluid to 50% glucose.

    Thursday 9/3/2023
    Still not eating/ force feeding. Cierra Telling me something again….

    I requested to do full blood test because I don’t want her blood taken and wasted.

    Glucose 10.45

    LIPASE - from <2176 to 1573
    {100-1400}


    Cholesterol- 8.25 to normal
    {1.68-5.81}

    ALP- from normal to 129 {14-111}

    ALT - from normal to 233 {12-130}


    Urea- from 17.8 - normal

    SDMA-from 15 to 20 {0-14}

    GGT - from 10 to 35 {0-4}

    Please share your advice. Please







     
    Last edited: Mar 9, 2023
  2. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    Last edited: Mar 8, 2023
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  3. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  4. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    HI Din,
    I am very glad to hear from you. I was worried.
    It does look from many of the tests that they are returning to normal or near normal. Not all of them but many.
    I am sorry she is not eating yet on her own. Are they giving her any antinausea medication or pain medication?
    Do you know if they did an fPL spec test for pancreatitis?
    Did the vets say why they thought the tummy might be getting bigger?

    Yes a CT Scan can be done without shaving the fur. When a human has a scan they keep their clothes on...just have to remove zips and metal things.
    How does she seem today to you?
     
  5. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Sorry

    Sorry for late reply Bron,

    yes they are giving below medication.
    Noroclav 50 mg
    Mirtazapine
    Cerenia
    B12
    Coloxy 120
    Hartmanns
    Methadon

    I did asked fpl Bron , but unfortunately they don’t do that test.
    Sorry my bad, it’s not CT SCAN it’s ULTRASOUND .

    vet is not in the clinic since Tuesday. There is other vets but they don’t care about other patients except their patients. Everything hadle by nurses.They contact Doctors over the phone . When they can’t contact Dr they do mistakes.

    Dr said he is not sure why tummy getting bigger.
    Cierra has constripation.

    This morning and evening when I visit she was hitting her head on my head and face meowing . I’m sure she asking me to bring her home…..

    still she is not eating nurses do force feeding..

    tgank you Bron
     
  6. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
    You're Welcome, I'm praying for your precious baby :bighug::bighug:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  7. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you so much @Diane Tyler's Mom ……
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom likes this.
  8. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Din
    The Noroclav is an antibiotic.
    Mirtazapine is an appetite stimulant
    Cerenia for nausea
    Methadone is used for pain…I’ve not seen it used before for cats but I looked it up and it can be used
    And she is getting fluids and B12 so it looks as if she is getting what is needed if she has pancreatitis
    Yes normally they shave for an ultrasound.
    Can you bring in some favourite food for her to try?
    The nurses can’t make decisions without the vets permission. I hope your vet visits soon.
    How do you think she is ?
     
  9. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    This morning I couldn’t visit her Bron, me and Kiara ( new born) had to admit to ED.

    I called them and they have not done any blood test today . They might do in the evening. Nurse said she is not sleeping. Because she is on theoter room. It’s too noisy and she can see when they doing operations. I did cover her cage from a cloth but they kept open it .
    Yesterday I gave her favourite food fancy feast chicken gravy. But she doesn’t show interest. But smell it. Last time also she she didn’t eat while she is on the hospital but after come home slowly started to eat.

    They have not shave her hair I don’t know how that Doctor did this ultrasound …..
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  10. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I do hope you and your newborn baby Kiara are OK. Oh dear you do have a lot on your plate.
    Hopefully she will eat when she gets home
     
  11. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Hi Bron ,
    Thank you… just came from ED. Called to vet place and everything back to normal except SDMA - is 21 and Creatine-213
    Yesterday it was 20 and 197.

    Also her blood pressure is high

    This numbers getting increased so fast within last 4 days. Do you know what can be the reason?

    what should I do to protect Cierra from this Kidney issue.???? Please advise
     
  12. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    20 to 21 and 197 to 213 is not a huge jump.
    Kidney values can change depending on how hydrated or dehydrated she is. Keeping well hydrated is the best thing for improving kidney values.
    It’s very good all the other values are back to normal.
    What did the vet tell you?
    Does he know what is the diagnosis?
    Did he tell you the result of the ultrasound?
    Is Cierra eating today?

    How are you and you baby?
     
  13. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    The vet I consulted is not came back to vet place yet. Nurse is passing messages between us.
    Vet said fluid can help reduce kidney and Creatinine numbers.
    My problem is she is on fluids since Monday evening. Then y it’s going up…… vet doesn’t know what is diagnosed to cierra.

    ultrasound did by another vet. …..unfortunately ciera not eating yet.

    Doctor said baby is fine. But my cesarean stratuses not recovered . It’s really painful. Cannot even walk properly…
     
    Last edited: Mar 10, 2023
  14. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Is the baby OK?
    I’m sorry you are having trouble with recovering from the cesarean. Is there someone to help you at home.
    I think it is just going to take time for Cierra to get better.
     
  15. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Sorry for the typing error…. Yes Kiara doing well Bron , Thank you…. I have only my husband here.He is helping me to go through this.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  16. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Sienne and Gabby (GA) please share your thoughts…

    CIERRA”s SDMA is 19
    Cre- 181

    GGT- 10

    She is still not eating. Last time also she didn’t eat while she is at hospital. But after come home she slowly started to eat ( we did syringe feeding too) .

    If I discharge and bring her home do you think am I doing something wrong to her. She is under fluids 12ml/h . ??? Please share your thoughts .
     
  17. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    What do the vets think about you bringing her home?
    Are they doing anything for her there that you couldn't do at home?
    Do you think you could manage to look after her with a new tiny baby and still recovering from a caesarean?
     
  18. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023


    I can look after her and do syringe feeding Bron. Only thing I can’t do is giving her fluids
     
  19. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Why don't you wait until tomorrow?
    Will you be able to manage with Cierra and the baby?
    What do the vets think?
     
  20. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Okay Bron, I’ll wait until tomorrow.could not get contacted vet as he is out of state since I admitted Cierra. Hopefully number will go down…..!!!!!!
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  21. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Try and get a good rest so you can get better.
     
    Din likes this.
  22. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you Bron…!!!!
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  23. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Good Morning Bron, day before yesterday night we discharged and brought back Cierra home. One of vet has consulted with IDEXX blood report specialist. He has advised right now main issue is feeding Cierra. So they want to do surgery for Cierra to fix feedings tube.

    I told vet I prefer to to bring her home a
    and try feed first. So she back and as soon as she come home she eat 1/5 can of fancy feast chicken gravy. ( I offer same food while she was at hospital but she didn’t eat)
    At night I gave fancy feast chicken chunky.she ate 1/5 can.
    Yesterday morning she didn’t eat. I force feed her 10-20mg Royal canine recovery food which is gave by vet. Plus antibiotic.

    After 2/3 hours another force feed- 10 mg.
    Offer4-5 Royal canine diabetes kibbles ( her favourite is kibbles).

    At 7 she was liking chicken chunky. And I force feed 10 mg Royal canine recovery food plus antibotics , tablet to maintain her BLOOD PRESSURE.

    Her blood pressure went hight -170 and they have given a table to maintain blood pressure. As now I’m continually giving it for lifetime.

    at midnight her blood sugar went down to 5.8 and she didn’t eat wet food so I offer kibbles. And ate 10 kibbles. Blood SUGAR gradually went up through the night. This morning force feed 20 mg and antibiotics.


    Now she is getting 1 unit of insulin only one time per day . At 7 pm. ( still following hospital procedure as vet said I have to bring her back if she is not eating)


    Now my biggest worrier is finding food for match both Kidney and blood sugar. ….. I followed and read few articles at night. Now I have to fine less protein/ less carbs / less phrosparus . And I have to give on going home fluids to protect the kidneys Because she is not drinking water.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2023
  24. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Hi Din,
    I'm very happy Cierra is home and eating a bit but I am concerned she is not eating enough.
    Don't be frightened of a feeding tube. They are very easy to use and have saved many kitties lives. If she is not eating enough I would get the feeding tube put in.

    Can you update the SS so we can see what the BGs are doing please?
    Cierra is very early stage CRD (kidney) so you do not need low protein. Low protein is for much later in the kidney disease and is old thinking. The current thinking is to give low phosphorus.
    What you need is low carb (for the diabetes) and low phosphorus (for the kidney).
    I am going to send you a link to foods that show how low the phosphorus levels are.
    Look for foods that have phosphorus levels of 250 or 200mg phosphorus/100kcals or lower
    FOOD CHART WITH PHOSPHORUS LEVELS

    you will see that Fancy Feast has too much phosphorus. Unfortunately Weruva no longer has their food for sale in Australia because they have a good range. If you cant find a suitable food you can ask the vet for a phosphorus binder to add to the food she will eat.
    Please think about the feeding tube!
    How are you managing with Cierra and the baby?
    Bron
     
    Diane Tyler's Mom and Din like this.
  25. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    I’ll do my best to feed her 1 can of recovery as vet said if not I’ll go for a feeding tube. She is liking food for 2-3 minutes. And interested to eat dry kibbles. This afternoon I gave he 15 royal canine diabetes dry kibbles , Even though I should not feed dry food. I just emailed to vet and waiting for his reply.

    And I applied recovery food on her chest. She is cleaning it now . I checked the list you sent me. I have to check it thoroughly. She had a good blood sugar number while she was in hospital. But now at midnight nadir is around 5 and going up to 18.

    I’ll do update SS ASAP . Now she is sleeping a lot. At hospital she stay awake. Because she was in the theoter with lots of sounds and scary things… should I stop feeding fancy feast immediately?

    I try to keep Cierra out side the room but it was only for 1 hours. Then next minute she is sleeping on my pillow. So I didn’t disturb to her . Last two nights she slept on my husband’s chest. She wants stay close to us all the time. Problem is our boy Simba. He is not happy that Cierra is back. He is hizzing to all of us…it’s hard to handle three of them together.
     
    Last edited: Mar 13, 2023
  26. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I’m sure Simba is hissing because Cierra smells different. That is common.
    Feed Cierra whatever she will eat at the moment as it is really important she eats. Are you giving her antinausea medication?
     
  27. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    No She doesn’t have cerenia tablets. I ask few cerenia tablets when she discharged. But they didn’t give it.
     
  28. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I would ask for them again. Jump up and down and make a fuss!
    The cerenia will make a difference. If she is nauseated she wont want to eat.
    Just cant understand why vets cant see this
     
  29. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Good morning Bron, yes I’m going to ask again. After Cierra this morning Cierra vomited again. ( it was a hair ball and undigest food. I can understand how important to have that tablets. Her eating pattern same as day before day . I force feed her 20 mg with antibiotics thi morning now going to give kibbles.

    One of nurse has replied to my email. As he mentioned Doctor’s suggestion feed royal canine diabetes wet food, It could give moisture to kidney. I can see wants to eat but does have nausea . Still could not find the food.
     
  30. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    If she is vomiting I would ask for an injection of cerenia and some tablets. She won’t eat if she is nauseated.
    Have you thought any more about the feeding tube ?
     
  31. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Could not go to vet today, could not find anyone to leave the baby, ( I’m not driving) . Cierra does eating kibbles not whole lot together, now 10 kibbles after hour another 10 like that. She drank water ones today. I force feed 20 ml water. Grooming her self. So I thought no need feeding tube. But her glucose numbers are going up and she only getting 1unit per day. I’m trying to feed her more wet food ( only fancy feast I have now need to order new food) . Her food intake is less than before but she seems okay with eating. When I give medicine I force feed wet food to make sure . Going to do a blood test on Saturday.

    What do you think about giving fluids at home? Is there any alternative things like fluids to give at home?
     
  32. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Din, can you update the SS so we can see what is happening with the BG please when you have time?
    What are the kibbles you are feeding her?
    Hills m/d GlucoSupport is probably a much lower carb than the one you are feeding now. It is 15% carbs. Still too high but lower than other dry foods in Australia. and the phosphorus is 0.8%
    https://www.hillspet.com.au/cat-food/pd-md-feline-dry

    Do you mean SubQ fluids? I used to give Sheba subQ fluids at home. If the vet thinks it is a good idea, I would do it.
     
  33. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    I didn’t ask my vet yet. But I felt it’s good for her health. Is it hard to manage ? How often should I give it.
     
  34. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    No it is not hard to do. We have videos here how to do it.
    You will need to ask the vet if he thinks Cierra needs to have sub Q fluids. The vet will need to listen to her heart to see there is no issue there. YOU will need to be guided by the vet.
     
  35. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    I’ll ask from vet next time Bron , I’ll update SS as soon as I get a time to sit next to Laptop. Thank you so much for all help, ideas, advice you have given to me Bron
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  36. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    How is she eating this evening?
     
  37. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Not much . But I syringe feed 20mg. And she ate fancy feast 1/5 can.

    HER GLUCOSE IS GOING DOWN. Shall I give her honey??

    It’s 5.8 now
     
  38. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    ( seems like this is an error)
    Now 7.3
     
  39. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    If you are doing TR you don’t give honey u til 50 (2.8) . It might bbe better if you do SLGS at the moment becasue she is not eating well in which case you would reduce the dose and give honey at 5 (90).
    How much insulin is she on now?
    It’s a bit hard to help you when the SS is not up to date.
    I think you might have to think about the feeding tube Din.

    This is a good site for cats with kidney issues
    https://www.felinecrf.org/
     
  40. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    She is on SLGS at the movement. now she is getting only 1 unit at 7Pm . Yes seems like I have to do the feeding tube. Im going to update her SS now. (if baby not cry for atleast for a hour). Thank you for that web site Bron it seems really good. I'm going to read it.
     
  41. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    You are a wonderful cat mum, you must be so busy with a new baby and Ceirra and getting over a caesarean. You look after yourself.
    I think you will find the feeding tube will make it much easier for both you and Cierra.
     
  42. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you Bron I appreciate your support and Kindness….!!!!
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  43. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Bron, do you think when diabetics cat get kidney disease it’s not manageable? Is this make their life too short? One of vet nurse said that way. If it’s true I better let her rest of life pain less ..I mean should I give up? Is anyone here got a cat with kidney and diabetes issues?
     
  44. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    No, it is not true. Cats with diabetes and kidney disease is manageable. We have a lot of cats here that have some kidney disease as well as diabetes. My Sheba did and she does from something totally different. The vet nurse is wrong. Cierra has very early kidney disease by the look of it and should be able to be managed for years. Take no notice of the vet nurse. You just need to find a food that is low carb and lower phosphorus.
    I would not give up. :bighug:
    I will tag a couple of other to give their opinion.
    @tiffmaxee
    @Bandit's Mom
    @Suzanne & Darcy
     
    Din likes this.
  45. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you Bron……!!!!

    I missed one more … Diabetes/Kidney/ pancreatitis/ I just don’t want to give up.. I’m helpless here… last time when Cierra had pancreatitis they gave 25ml/ per hour fluids. She had kidney elevated/ Liver enzymes/ pancreatitis 5300+ . But with fluids she recovered within 4 days.they Find out she had diabetes. This time her Diabetes/kidney/liver/pancreatic number higher than last time.. but nurse only gave 12ml/hour and even though she was 7 days at hospital she didn’t recover…but I’m going to fight for Cierra. Thank you Bron…. !!!!
     
  46. Dyana

    Dyana Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    Hi Din.
    I've been following your story.
    I think some veterinary offices don't see as many cats and especially diabetic cats often with other issues. So don't have the experience, like we do here.
    My kitty was diagnosed as a diabetic in 2005, and then had ketones and DKA and was hospitalized for 9 days. He would not eat at the hospital and came home with a feeding tube. Once home, soon he was eating by himself, and the feeding tube was removed. He had bouts of pancreatitis that we medicated him for. He had early kidney disease that never progressed. He was a hard to regulate diabetic for the last 9 years of his life and he lived happily to be 20. Thanks to this message board.

    It looks like Cierra is having a nice cycle right now. Thanks for updating the spreadsheet.
     
  47. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    My Sheba also used to get pancreatic flares.
    It might be worth while putting your name down for the vet you say is good, even if you can’t get in for some time.
     
    Din likes this.
  48. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    Max had chronic pancreatitis which we treated with nausea medication, usually ondansetron but sometimes cerenia, sometimes fluids and cyproheptadine or zyrtec as an appetite stimulant. I thought his first episode would never end.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) and Din like this.
  49. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I have had several cats with kidney disease. In almost all cases I have been able to keep them happy and comfortable for a long time….. sometimes for years. It is not true that there is no hope. The one thing that troubles me is that you say that you cannot do subcutaneous fluids at home. Regular fluids can be a real life saver for cats with kidney disease. This is as long kitty’s heart is not compromised and then adjustments can be made depending on what is going on. The main at home treatments for feline kidney disease are: (1) sub-q fluids to maintain hydration; (2) low phosphorus food to ease the kidney workload; (3) nausea control medications like Cerenia (maropitant) and Zofran (Ondansetron); (4) medications to combat constipation, if present; (5) B-Complex vitamins to help combat anemia; (6) appetite stimulants if required and only after administering anti-nausea medications; (7) sometimes antacids for acid tummy. These are by no means everything that can be done, but they’re commonly used by most people with cats with kidney disease— depending upon what stage they are in.

    Did the bloodwork indicate infection? They are giving an antibiotic. So hopefully it’s just a kidney infection and things will resolve after it’s gone. We can hope!! But either way, cats can live a long time with kidney disease and diabetes. As Bron said, ignore that vet nurse!
     
    Din and Bron and Sheba (GA) like this.
  50. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Urinary tract infections are also common and can really skew kidney values.
     
  51. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I do not trust that vet facility to manage blood glucose. They already caused a hypo at least once it seems.

    When my diabetic cat was in ketoacidosis and had been hospitalized for several days and hadn’t yet begun to improve— one of the head vet techs (what we call vet nurse) asked me if she could help me out by euthanizing him for me (I will take care of it, she says!). I said NO WAY, we weren’t ready to give up yet. He did recover after having a feeding tube was placed so that we could get some nutrients into him. She was way out of line and trying to “play vet!” She never should have even suggested euthanasia. It was not her place.

    Now, about the feeding tube, they can be very beneficial, but if you decide to do this you must make sure that the person doing the surgery is very experienced. She must be strong enough for the surgery to begin with. And if her kidneys are really not in good shape then they may be hurt by the surgery (anesthesia) so I would want to have a discussion about how she should be placed on IV fluids for some hours before the surgery and for some hours after the surgery. In addition, make sure they are using the most kidney-friendly anesthesia agents and make absolutely sure that her blood pressure will be continuously monitored during the procedure. Then make sure this is a 24 hour facility where there will be staff there to monitor her if they are keeping her overnight. Don’t let them leave her alone, please.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) and Dyana like this.
  52. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    @Dyana
    Thank you Dyana, I really appreciate you shared your experience. It really helping me to keep going. Yes this page ,and @Bron and Sheba (GA) and Kind people like you all are helping me than vet and nurses here in our vet place . Yes she had a good cycle yesterday and Her BG was 8.4 at PM, so I skipped her insulin . Even though I skipped her insulin , at midnight BG dropped to 3+ . I kept waking up every hour to check her BG at 2am it was 7.3 , but In between 2am and 3am it has dropped to 3+ and rise again. By the time I checked BG at 3am I could see it is 4.8 and rising.I gave her dry biscuits as now she only eat biscuits. And I kept checking BG for every tent minute and it kept rising. So I didn’t give her honey.
     
    Last edited: Mar 16, 2023
  53. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Yes you are correct Bron, specifically with this nurses. They are on placement after graduate. They are doing experiments and taking experience. Specifically when they meet someone like me, they are playing.
     
  54. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    From my experience of vet nurses out here in Australia, I’m sure they are very good but don’t have much knowledge of feline diabetes at all.
     
    Din likes this.
  55. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you so much for sharing your experience Tiff …!!!
     
  56. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Yes Bron I met few vet nurses , they are wonderful…!!! But these young recent graduates have no sympathy for animals. Most of nurses in regional are studying this to get easy permanent residency. They don’t truly love animals. Otherwise I met wonderful , nurses, vets when I lived in metro. But that time Cierra was healthy. She only had on going urine infection sometimes.
     
  57. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  58. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    I just looked at your labs. Max would often have an elevated ALT. My vet told me unless way over as in more than double it was nor a concern. It needs to be checked to make sure it’s not liver disease. Same with the ALP. Cholesterol is not a concern in cats either.
     
    Din and Bron and Sheba (GA) like this.
  59. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    The labs are quite up and down. My vet, like Elise’s says that they don’t worry unless the ALT is double or even triple the normal value. Still, I have given a liver supplement to my cats for elevated liver enzymes (Denamarin) and it has brought those numbers down nicely. Some people use Milk Thistle with success. Also, if she hasn’t been eating much there’s a possibility that is affecting her liver values in the bloodwork.
     
  60. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you so much for all of these information and sharing your experience Suzanne….!!! I really appreciate it. I took screenshots to make sure I m going to keep this information for me. I can give sub Q fluids if it’s manageable at home.
    @Suzanne & Darcy thank you for this all information Suzanne . Apologies for late reply. Please give me an hour or two I’ll reply to your comment…!!!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  61. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Did they do a urinalysis? Could she have. UTI right now? I had a cat who showed absolutely NO symptoms of a UTI and I took her to the vet for a routine bloodwork and urinalysis— her urine was full of cocci (spherical bacteria).
     
    Din and Bron and Sheba (GA) like this.
  62. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Oh that’s okay. No worries. You are very very busy! I was also on the road today for hours taking my cat to a cardiologist. I wrote those earlier replies while I was waiting for her to have her ultrasound. Now I am home and exhausted. I hope Cierra is okay today. I have been thinking of you and her.
     
    Din and Bron and Sheba (GA) like this.
  63. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Thank you @Suzanne & Darcy so much for above information. 1.Yes I can try to give her Sub Q fluids. it will be really hard with Cierra ,Because she does not let me do anything to her body. but I can try my best . I do not know if she has a infection, I uploard all blood test result to her SS by today Suzanne. she is on antibiotics. Noroclav 50mg morning and night. And Nurse said her BLOOD presure was high 170 and they start to give Amlodipine. Thank You Suzanne


    I hope and pray this is only an Urine infection . Going to do an another Blood test on next Monday.
     
  64. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    They check her urin using strips. I always ask a report anything they did, but they passing the ball. They said they did an ultrasound, But has not removed her belly hair. I ask a report few times , but still did not receive.
     
  65. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    Thank you again and again Suzanne, I hope and wish everything is okay with your Purr baby......!!!!!!
     
  66. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    They did only stript urine check , but I will defenitly ask them to do screen Urine test.
     
  67. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    To be honest I’m afraid of doing that feeding tube. But if she is not eating enough next few days I might go for it. Problem is how good this vet( they kept Cierra in a cage on Theator room . When I visited Cierra last 7 days I could see most of the time nurses doing operations. Vet giving instructions. I don’t know how good they are . They are most recent graduated students. Just Few people with experience. I’m trying my best to feed her.

    should I give food to according to her weight or should I follow Ideal weight?

    Nurse told me I have to feed to her ideal weight..
     
  68. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    @Bron and Sheba (GA) @Suzanne & Darcy @tiffmaxee @Bandit's Mom @Dyana

    thank you so so much for all of your kind messages. I hope I didn’t miss any reply…..!!!!! I’ll update Cierra s blood test results tonight.

    and I skipped her Insulin today. Because whole day she was within the range. Maybe because not eating enough food. She ate around 2 spoons by herself this morning, around 30-kibbles day time . Force fed 40mg. But net might be 20mg. And going to offer food through out the night as long as I’m awake.

    Her BLOOD PRESSURE was high at hospital. Now she is getting Amlodipine 1tablet per day. With my understanding this is need to continue lifetime. Is anyone experienced about this tablet?


    And what is the best trick to give medicine?
     
  69. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I don't know that I would skip the dose of insulin. You would be better to reduce the dose, and try 0.25 units both am and pm, and see if that works. If she needs insulin and she is not getting any because she is not eating enough, you could run into other problems.
    I really think you need to look at the feeding tube because she is not getting enough food at the moment. I would be interested what the other think about this.

    I don't understand the +7 readings you had last night. You wrote 7.3@2.3 -3+ What does that mean?
     
  70. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Her BG Is 15.1 now. Shall I give her 1 unit ( her normal dose these day according to nurse/ vet? I try to find if I can change insulin pen to 0.25 or 0.5 this evening but it has no option . Usually I’m giving insulin at 7 shall I give it now?
    Because it’s 15.1 shall I give 1 unit. ?

    If I change insulin dose to morning and afternoon I have to tell it to vet.if she is going back to hospital to get do feeding tube. They were so upset after I says I’m giving insulin morning and night.

    I will call to vet place tomorrow and ask for feeding about feeding tube Bron.
     
  71. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
     
  72. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    At 2am it was 7.3 I checked again 3am it was 4.8 because of I’m using Freestyle libre I can see the her BG line chart. Around 2.30am BG has dropped to 3+ ( I don’t know exactly but line is near 3) then rise to 4.8 at 3am.

    I gave her just a drop Bron . I’ll go for Feeding Tube ASAP.
     
  73. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Ok I understand now. She is certainly doing quite well without the insulin. When she is due for insulin, post and ask for advice re dose.

    If you only have the pen, you can’t give a smaller dose than the 1 unit.
    Can you get some insulin syringes U100, 3/10, 30 or 31 gauge, 6 or 8 mm insulin syringes.?
    BD brand has ultra fine insulin syringes in the size i just mentioned.
    You could try to get them from a pharmacy there in Dubbo, otherwise you could order online. You would need to make sure you were getting those exact syringes though.
    Did you end up giving some insulin?
     
    Din likes this.
  74. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
  75. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Good morning Bron , I gave her one drop( I checked few times how many drops coming from one unit. It 4 drops. It takes around one second to come one drop) I believe she got one drop.

    her BG didn’t dropped last night. Today I’m going to call to vet place to discuss about feeding tube. My heart is beating so fast when thinking about it in this vet place.
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  76. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  77. Chrispooky12

    Chrispooky12 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 11, 2021
    I had a kitty many years ago who had to have a feeding tube placed due to him having hepatic lipidosis (from not eating) he did very well with it & started eating on his own a couple of months later. Years later he was diagnosed with lymphoma cancer & he had a feeding tube then as well. He kept pulling it out & was eating on his own so they didn't want to put it back in. He passed 2mons after his cancer diagnoses. I highly recommend a tube for feeding so you can get your girl back on track. Good luck to you I hope your girl gets better soon :bighug:
     
    Din and Red & Rover (GA) like this.
  78. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Hi @Bron and Sheba (GA) if you can please check my SS and advise me should I increase the insulin dose?

    She DID ATE 3/4 amount from her daily intake 40mg/65mg .

    rest 15mg I can give it to her at night .

    I’m so happy for her….!!!!!!!!!
    Because I was planning to do feeding tube. Tomorrow she is doing bloodwork. Please keep her in your thoughts….!!!!
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  79. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I don’t think 1drop is enough. With a Preshot of 364 and pink for a good portion of the cycle I would go back to the dose you were giving before.
     
    Din likes this.
  80. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    @Chrispooky12 Thank you so much for sharing your experience. I had a chat with one of nurse this morning and booked an appointment to vet tomorrow . But she did ate some food than yesterday. Thank you so much for your again
     
    Chrispooky12 likes this.
  81. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023

    I gave her 1 unit already. So shall I give 2 more units again
     
  82. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I don't know what you mean?
    When did you give her ! unit?
    Don't ever give more insulin if you have already given some.
     
  83. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    :arghh::arghh::arghh::arghh: @ Bron I gave her 1 unit at 7.20 and after read above comment I gave another 2 unit @9pm. I’m sorry.. what should I do now? Please tell me what could happen? Please
     
  84. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    OH dear! Don't ever give any more insulin after you have given some.
    Did you give 2 more units or 2 more drops?
    I can't see anything written in the SS. Have you taken the BG since giving the insulin the first time or the second time.
    You are going to have to monitor her very closely and give her high carb food to keep the BG from dropping too low.
    If she drops low you will have to take her to the ER....can you do that if necessary?

    please take her BG now and get back to me straight away.
     
  85. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Her BG is 16.2 now. Definitely I’ll keep monitor her Bron. Yes Cierra”s vet place is 24 hours open. My husband at home so I can take her to EMERGENCY if it’s dropped.
    I gave her 2units . Yes I did check every half and hour

    Bron, Is there any other side effects from this ?
     
  86. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    What can happen is that the BG can drop too low and you wont be able to keep it up without help from the vet who might have to put her on a glucose drip.
    So what i want you to do is
    • Feed her some higher carb food immediately? do you have any?
    • test every 1/2 hour and post the result
    • update the SS and keep it updated.
    • when you have done all that, ring the emergency and tell them what has happened and that you are going to see if she is ok at home but if not, you will take her to the emergency.
    So we are at +3 (with the 1 unit ) and +1.5 (with the extra 2 units) and BG is 16.2 (292)

    Please press the like button to tell me you have read this and understood it please
     
  87. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    It’s dropped to 13 .6 now
     
  88. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Shall I give honey now
     
  89. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Do you have some high carb foods at home you can give? If not, mix some honey, (a couple of drops) in to normal food
     
  90. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    I gave her high carb. She did only liking it, I’ll give her few honey drops

    shall I do it now ?
    BG Is 13.4
     
  91. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    +3 (with the 1 unit ) and +1.5 (with the extra 2 units) and BG is 16.2 (292)
    +3.5 (with the 1 unit ) and +1.75 (with the extra 2 units) and BG is 13.6 (245) Gave high carb which she only licked and a couple drops honey
     
  92. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    OK. let me know what the BG is on 20 minutes please.
     
  93. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    O
    Okay Bron I’ll
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  94. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    yes do it now
     
  95. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Okay
     
    Bron and Sheba (GA) likes this.
  96. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    If the BG is dropping fast let me know sooner please Din
     
  97. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    It’s 12.2 now
     
  98. Din

    Din Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2023
    Gave honey shall I give more honey ? how long honey will take to work out? It’s Manuka honey
     
  99. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Can you feed some more high carb food and some honey again please. Will she eat the food?
    Let me know when you have dont that please
     
  100. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    +3 (with the 1 unit ) and +1.5 (with the extra 2 units) and BG is 16.2 (292)
    +3.5 (with the 1 unit ) and +1.75 (with the extra 2 units) and BG is 13.6 (245) Gave high carb which she only licked and a couple drops honey
    +3.95 (with the 1 unit ) and +2.15 (with the extra 2 units) and BG is 12.2 (220)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page