Confused about progress / questions

Discussion in 'Caninsulin / Vetsulin and N / NPH' started by Ellys Mom, Jul 21, 2019.

1. Ellys Mom

Ellys Mom New Member

Since Ellys diagnosis, we have been working with the vet to find his "ideal dose" of insulin. He is a tricky stick for blood sugars so I've been doing the best I can to compile numbers. Based off his curve at the vet and his home curves, the vet has been adjusting his dose. (1 unit, to 2 units, to 1.5 and now back to 1)

Based off what I've read here, I almost feel uncomfortable shooting with numbers below 150, but the vet wants a new curve on one unit in a week. His numbers have definitely been going down but does that just mean the diabetes is being controlled? Should I be withholding shots? If I'm giving a dosage that's too much.. does his kitty body have to work harder to regulate the sugars on his own?

Thank you for your help. I'm still new to this and figuring everything out.

2. CandyH & Catcat

CandyH & Catcat Well-Known Member

my guess, your feeling is right, you may be able to reduce the dosage

I'm going to tag Linda, who has been an enormous help to me in analyzing what the spreadsheet shows and pointing out what's going on in Catcat
    which is always, as they say, a puzzlement

@MrWorfMen's Mom

3. Ellys Mom

Ellys Mom New Member

It sure is a puzzlement! The only thing I can conclude from his spreadsheet, is that he really doesn't like the vet office :p Unfortunately I don't know how receptive our current vet would be if we want to take dosages into our own hands :(

4. MrWorfMen's Mom

MrWorfMen's Mom Well-Known Member

Looks like the majority of Ellys' BG readings have been within normal range for the last week on the 1u dose of insulin. Some are a little higher than we'd like to see them for a cat in remission but overall, his numbers are very encouraging.