Danielle Shuck
Member
I'm hoping a knowledgeable admin can take a look at Maddy's spreadsheet. My goals here are to 1. Make sure Maddy is receiving the insulin she needs and give a consistent and appropriate dose. 2. Avoid hypoglycemia (in fact, I am terrified that I might accidentally cause a hypo and have deliberately been giving lower doses because of it). 3. Determine if a switch to Lantus is in order because I do have that now and can start when it's time.
About two weeks ago, Maddy was getting 5 units of Vestulin 2x a day, nadir was in the 100 range and pre-shot was 400+ regularly. Out of nowhere, I noticed nadir at 70, 60, 50 and started to diligently pre-shot test. I'm getting pre-shot reads under 200 on a regular basis with a random spike here and there.
What seems to be happening is that if I give a dose higher than 2 units, this drops the BG down into the 60 range and then this lasts all day and well into the time when her next dose is due. This causing me to either skip or give only 1 unit.
Maddy's numbers have changed so abruptly from notoriously high to quite manageable (or maybe even too low?) It has been so sudden and I need guidance on how to handle it. I spoke to the vet this week and I'm worried she is taking this too lightly as she recommended 3 units 2x day, even at a BG under 200.
I feel like I'm spinning my wheels. Surely there must be a better way to do this. Can someone assist?
About two weeks ago, Maddy was getting 5 units of Vestulin 2x a day, nadir was in the 100 range and pre-shot was 400+ regularly. Out of nowhere, I noticed nadir at 70, 60, 50 and started to diligently pre-shot test. I'm getting pre-shot reads under 200 on a regular basis with a random spike here and there.
What seems to be happening is that if I give a dose higher than 2 units, this drops the BG down into the 60 range and then this lasts all day and well into the time when her next dose is due. This causing me to either skip or give only 1 unit.
Maddy's numbers have changed so abruptly from notoriously high to quite manageable (or maybe even too low?) It has been so sudden and I need guidance on how to handle it. I spoke to the vet this week and I'm worried she is taking this too lightly as she recommended 3 units 2x day, even at a BG under 200.
I feel like I'm spinning my wheels. Surely there must be a better way to do this. Can someone assist?