Cost of Lantus Insulin

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Celticannie, Apr 29, 2016.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Celticannie

Celticannie New Member

Hello there

Am a newbie here and am feeling very upset and rather overwhelmed -- my cat, Barnsley, has just been diagnosed with diabetes. My vet has prescribed 2 injections of Lantus insulin per day, 2 units at a time -- that is 4 units a day in total. I am horrified to find that Lantus seems only to be available in 10 ml vials at a cost of around $300 minimum -- and that's mail order, not from a local pharmacy! As I understand it, 10 ml equates to 1,000 units -- is that correct? But our pharmacist tells us that, once started, a vial is only okay for 28 days (information I see this site seems to agree with). 28 days at 4 units per day is 112 units -- and that's the total amount we could use from a vial -- that is, we would be forced to throw nearly nine tenths of it away! Have I understood this correctly? Why is it not available in smaller vials? (I see there are pens with 3 ml, but these looked to me like they are designed for single use only -- is this correct? Am I really going to have to pay $300 per month every month just for insulin -- and throw most of it away?! Help!

2. BJM

BJM Well-Known Member

Welcome to FDMB.

Feeding low carb over the counter canned may reduce the glucose by 100-200 mg/dL and thus reduce the amount of insulin needed or possibly help your cat become diet-controlled. What are you currently feeding?
    Also, vet stress at the office may raise glucose 100-180 mg/dL and vets often forget that.

Many of our members order from Mark's Marine - have your vet fax the Rx there - it is about 1/3 the US cost. Get the pens - we use them like a mini-vial and use a syringe to withdraw the insulin, not the pen needles.
    We use it longer than 28 days, up to 6 months, by keeping it refrigerated on a stationary shelf.