And I found your post as I was going to respond to your question on this older post (
link) - Here's the link to the
Lantus Dosing Methods just for reference too.
If using SLGS method and AMPS is under 90, I understand you do not shoot.
This is correct. Though with experience you can stall without feeding and see if your kitty rises to a shootable number for SLGS (i.e. 90 or higher) and then shoot the
reduced dose (since dropping below 90 on SLGS calls for a 0.25u reduction). This would be with lots of experience and confidence in understanding your kitty. Skipping is absolutely an option too.
This protocol is based on the morning BG rather than a nadir, right?
Not quite. Reductions on SLGS are taken whenever you see a number <90. Cats can nadir at any time between shot time and +12...generally a nice nadir on a
regulated cat is mid-cycle-ish but nadirs can and do move around (ECID too!) - if a cat is breaking a bounce, they may have a late nadir (i.e. at shot time).
If I decided to stall without feeding breakfast, and say the BG climbed to 92, I could shoot then? Even if that was 2 hours later?
Yes this is correct...you would shoot the
reduced dose and need to monitor closely (I would post too the board and get advice and see if anyone is around to help guide you). You would also need to have ability to be off from your regular schedule (I see your next question

). Generally after 2 hours, it's can be cumbersome (not impossible) to get back to your preferred shoot schedule.
And if I shot LATE, how is the evening shot adjusted timewise?
If you shoot your AM shot late, then your PM shot should be no earlier than +11.5 from your AM shot. Shooting any earlier than 30 minutes can act like a dose increase (while shooting late can act like a dose decrease). Here's more info than you ever wanted

-
Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule
could I also choose to skip the AM shot and simply feed when kitty is so hungry? And then try again after testing in PM?
Yes, definitely an option. So if you skip your AM shoot, you feed kitty as normal for the cycle. You will want to grab a test or two to make sure kitty is rising (they should naturally as the previous lantus dose is wearing off and no new dose is entering the system). You can then shoot your PM shot at your preferred shot time.
Hope that helps - I would also post over on the
Lantus Board - lots of experienced folks and generally an active board as lantus is a good insulin for felines. Sister is looking super by the way
