? Curve Schedule?

Status
Not open for further replies.

Ann & Sister

Member Since 2021
I did a BG curve on Sister last Thursday. So I would think today, Thursday, she would be due for another curve, assuming they need to be done weekly.
That said, her insulin was reduced Tuesday evening, 7/6, so I am thinking I should wait and do her curve next Tuesday (one week after she's been on the new dosage). Advice please. Thanks.
 
Hi Ann - I would personally wait at least a day or two to do a curve as the depot from the previous dose can impact 4-6 cycles. Next Tuesday would work though I'd continue to try to get one test per cycle (in addition to the preshots ) if you can - it's not technically required on SLGS but those extra tests help with insight to how the insulin is working :)

Sister is looking good - is there any chance of removing dry? I don't recall your history (and tried to find it - sorry if I didn't look deep enough!). If you are open to having more experienced folks look at Sister's BG, just let me know and I can tag a few for you.
 
And I found your post as I was going to respond to your question on this older post (link) - Here's the link to the Lantus Dosing Methods just for reference too.

If using SLGS method and AMPS is under 90, I understand you do not shoot.
This is correct. Though with experience you can stall without feeding and see if your kitty rises to a shootable number for SLGS (i.e. 90 or higher) and then shoot the reduced dose (since dropping below 90 on SLGS calls for a 0.25u reduction). This would be with lots of experience and confidence in understanding your kitty. Skipping is absolutely an option too.

This protocol is based on the morning BG rather than a nadir, right?
Not quite. Reductions on SLGS are taken whenever you see a number <90. Cats can nadir at any time between shot time and +12...generally a nice nadir on a regulated cat is mid-cycle-ish but nadirs can and do move around (ECID too!) - if a cat is breaking a bounce, they may have a late nadir (i.e. at shot time).

If I decided to stall without feeding breakfast, and say the BG climbed to 92, I could shoot then? Even if that was 2 hours later?
Yes this is correct...you would shoot the reduced dose and need to monitor closely (I would post too the board and get advice and see if anyone is around to help guide you). You would also need to have ability to be off from your regular schedule (I see your next question :cat:). Generally after 2 hours, it's can be cumbersome (not impossible) to get back to your preferred shoot schedule.

And if I shot LATE, how is the evening shot adjusted timewise?
If you shoot your AM shot late, then your PM shot should be no earlier than +11.5 from your AM shot. Shooting any earlier than 30 minutes can act like a dose increase (while shooting late can act like a dose decrease). Here's more info than you ever wanted ;) - Getting back on a 12/12 shot schedule

could I also choose to skip the AM shot and simply feed when kitty is so hungry? And then try again after testing in PM?
Yes, definitely an option. So if you skip your AM shoot, you feed kitty as normal for the cycle. You will want to grab a test or two to make sure kitty is rising (they should naturally as the previous lantus dose is wearing off and no new dose is entering the system). You can then shoot your PM shot at your preferred shot time.

Hope that helps - I would also post over on the Lantus Board - lots of experienced folks and generally an active board as lantus is a good insulin for felines. Sister is looking super by the way :bighug:
 
Also, I see Sister is on 0.1u so depending on the drops in your 0.1u (sometimes they contain a couple, sometimes it's just 1), Sister's reduced dose *could* be a drop (if she goes <90 on 0.1u) - I however do not have enough experience on advising a kitty that's on a such a small dose though I'm happy to help tag others if you'd like :)
 
Also, I see Sister is on 0.1u so depending on the drops in your 0.1u (sometimes they contain a couple, sometimes it's just 1), Sister's reduced dose *could* be a drop (if she goes <90 on 0.1u) - I however do not have enough experience on advising a kitty that's on a such a small dose though I'm happy to help tag others if you'd like :)

Thanks so much for all of this!!! I was totally missing the shoot a "reduced" dose and monitor closely if insulin is administered late.
When I draw up the 0.1U, I see "light" above the plunger (like in the photo I was provided in Fine Dosing) and it seems like more than a drop.

Whenever Sister's AMPS BG is >90, I breathe a sigh of relief because it's just easier on me. But the day will come...
I continue to "work" the dry food addiction. If there are no crunchies on her meal platters, along with fresh chicken and Sheba pate, Sister walks away.
I have 4 other cats and she hears them crunching away down the hall.

Thanks again.
I have what I need here.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top