Dak is Back on the Juice... Looking for advice

My wife and I thought we had gotten Dak into remission late last year and periodically checked in the last few months (unfortunately got really busy and travelling in March, so we weren't able to test him). The other week, he managed to knock over our sealed container of dog treats and ate a large amount of him. As a result, we think his numbers spiked to the upper 300's due to the treat ingestion. On Thursday last week, we got a fresh vial of vetsulin and our vet recommended starting him out on 1 unit once a day. That following Sunday, my wife and I decided to go ahead and put Dak on 1 unit twice a day, as his numbers were not improving (actually getting worse sometimes) and our knowledge that a dose of vetsulin may last for 12 hours. We are feeling frustrated and overwhelmed right now, as Dak's numbers are not seeming to improve and his appetite is going downhill. Any advice is welcome on what to do and we are currently fighting the urge to increase his vetsulin dose to 1.5 units.
 
A couple of thoughts....
First, Vetsulin does not last 12 hours. It is an insulin with a shorter duration than either glargine or Prozinc which are recommended for treating feline diabetes. If he's not responding as well as before on Vetsulin, you may want to discuss changing to either glargine or Prozine with your vet.

Dak may be bouncing a bit. That drop into the 100s and possibly the 200s may be causing him to bounce and spike his numbers. It can take a few days for a bounce to clear.

I'd also suggest posting on the Health board. The Vetsulin board doesn't get a lot of traffic and you will get more people responding to your questions on Health.
 
Haven't seen the bounce before but I may be seeing it now... As Marvin gets requainted with a proper Vetsulin vial, his numbers over the last day or two had trended down into the mid 200s, but this this morning AMPS he spiked back up to over 400. Nothing has changed with his diet this week either. Just so odd that he made daily progress downward and all of a sudden this morning it seems like he took a step backwards. Sigh. I hate this, it feels like because I used the old Vetsulin vial too long that I've had to start all over with his medication.
 
Back
Top