Info Daylight Savings Time ends on Nov. 1st

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sienne and Gabby (GA), Oct 24, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    [​IMG]

    Note: This information is applicable to those members who are using Lantus, Levemir, or Basaglar. For those members who are using non-depot insulin, the time change will have less of an effect on your kitty since those insulins are shorter acting.

    Daylight Savings time ends on Sunday, November 1st at 2:00 AM. For most of us in the U.S., this means it’s almost time to “Fall back.” The time change is rather inconvenient for Lantus & Lev Landers because we try so hard to stick to a 12 hour schedule.

    If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 13 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will cause higher BG’s for most cats, as it will partially deplete the insulin depot. Remember shooting late is equivalent to a dose decrease, so if your cat is in a phase where she is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might slow things down.

    If you don’t want to have a +13 in the mix, you can move your time ahead a little at a time to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

    Option A (move in 15 minute increments once a day): pick any 4 days during the week to move your shot time 15 minutes later. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Thursday AMPS at 7:00
    • Thursday PMPS at 7:15
    • Friday AMPS at 7:15
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 7:45 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 6:45, which is the “old” 7:45
    • Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning
    Option B(move in 15 min. increments twice a day).This may have a slight effect on BG numbers.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:15
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday at 7:45 (set clock back at bedtime)
    • Sunday AMPS at 8:00 - your "old" 7 and you're back on schedule

    Option C (move in 30 minute increments):
    pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time 30 minutes later. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

    Example: regular time is 7:00
    • Friday AMPS at 7:00
    • Friday PMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday AMPS at 7:30
    • Saturday PMPS at 8:00 (you will set your clock back overnight)
    • Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

    Option D: (From Jill...)
    "Bypass all the fooling around with adjusting shot times over a period of several days. An occasional shot that's an hour late is not that big a deal. Most kitties won't even notice! Many of you are sleep deprived. Sleep in the extra hour and don't think any more of it than a bonus being thrown your way! That's what i'll be doing... and have always done."

    Please keep this post bumped. Thank you!!
     
  2. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I may keep bumping this to the top. The closer it gets the more questions will be asked. ;)

    Thanks Sienne
     
    Peabody's mom Dorene likes this.
  3. April & Quincy

    April & Quincy Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2019
  4. Diane Tyler's Mom

    Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2018
  5. Ann & Scatcats

    Ann & Scatcats Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2009
    In Continental Europe's Countries We've already changed yesterday 24 October.
     
  6. jt and trouble (GA)

    jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    thanks everyone...bump again
     
  7. Mandy S

    Mandy S Member

    Joined:
    Jul 29, 2020
  8. Red & Rover (GA)

    Red & Rover (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2016
    Bump.
    And keep your kitties in on Hallowe'en. With so many things cancelled, there might be more troublemakers out with nothing to do.
     
    Critter Mom likes this.
  9. Critter Mom

    Critter Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 16, 2014
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page