Daylight Savings Time - Sunday, March 12th

Sienne and Gabby (GA)

Member Since 2009
Moderator
daylight-savings-time-start-696x392.jpg



For most of us in the U.S., it’s almost time to Spring Forward. This is rather inconvenient for those members using Lantus. Levemir, or a biosimilar because we try so hard to stick to a 12-hour schedule.

If you make no adjustments and just shoot at your regular time on the clock Sunday morning, your AMPS will be 11 hours after your PMPS the night before. This will potentially cause lower BG’s for most cats, as it will increase the overlap between shots. Remember, shooting early is equivalent to a dose increase, so if your cat is in a phase where he is running tight numbers or earning dose reductions, this might drop your cat into lower numbers unexpectedly.

If you don’t want to have a +11 in the mix, you can move your shot time in small increments to minimize the impact on your cat’s numbers.

Option A (move in 15 minute increments): pick any 4 times during the week to move your shot time by15 minutes. This option requires a little planning, but should have very minimal impact on BG’s.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Thursday AMPS at 7:00
Thursday PMPS at 6:45
Friday AMPS at 6:45
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:15 (you will set your clock ahead overnight - DST starts at 2:00 AM Sunday)
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Option B (move in 30 minute increments): pick 2 cycles during the week to move your shot time by 30 minutes. This *could* have a little more impact on BG’s for cats who are sensitive to time changes.

Example: regular time is 7:00
Friday AMPS at 7:00
Friday PMPS at 6:30
Saturday AMPS at 6:30
Saturday PMPS at 6:00 (you will set your clock ahead overnight - DST starts at 2:00 AM Sunday)
Sunday AMPS at 7:00, which is the “old” 8:00

NOTE: Please bump this thread until March 12th.
 
Great, I was going to ask about this!

With my last kitty, I did the 30 minute interval, but I'm going to try the 15 minute technique for Sly.
 
Sorry I’m a bit confused by one line in the 15 min incremental change:
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 8:15
Sunday PMPS at 7:00, which has you on schedule for Monday morning

Shouldn’t it say
Sunday AMPS at 7:15, which is the “old” 6:15 not 8:15??

@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
Last edited:
Back
Top