Sally and Lily GA
Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/nov-30-lily-dosing-help-amps-162.239337/
Good morning! Lily is at 181, should I give insulin this morning? I will be available all day. Thanks!
That’s ok, I should have looked back on my s before posting.Hi Sally,
Just came online. Sorry you didn't get an answer earlier.
One of your objectives is to gradually lower the preshot limit - much easier to start doing on the daytime cycle when you're monitoring BG closely to keep Lily safe, so it's good that you went ahead with the dose today. It will be good to see how Lily does today with the lower PS and the new feeding schedule. Talking of which, how did her eating go overnight?
Bit of a heads-up that I'll probably be a bit hit 'n' miss on the board today because I'm absolutely smothered with a cold. I'm tagging @tiffmaxee to ask her to keep an eye out for you two when she comes online later.
Mogs
.



She ate at the required times, Sally. That's more than half the battle!Lily ate all her meals last night but I got up and showed her where they were.

(((Saoirse)))Thanks, Diane.Oh Mogs sorry you have another cold. Darn it.
Rest up and I hope it doesn't linger . ♥![]()

Duh! Why didn't I think of that?Good morning. You might try using the auto feeder during the day today as well to get her used to it.
That is a great idea!Good morning. You might try using the auto feeder during the day today as well to get her used to it.
Yes, due for her +6 mini meal in 25 min.Is her eating on track?

Thanks Mogs, sleep well and feel better!Hi Sally,
Nice going again today.
I'd suggest grabbing a +11.5 test before the PMPS just in case you might need help with dosing tonight. If you do, I suggest tagging Elise (tiffmaxee) to see if she can help.
Catch you on the morrow.
Mogs
.


That’s ok Elise, I think I would like to give her another night to get used to her mini meals.Sorry I just got home. I think you can shoot if you can get her to eat the mini meals.
I'm glad you skipped, Sally. It was by far the safer option, especially as you had to direct her to the food last night.That’s ok Elise, I think I would like to give her another night to get used to her mini meals.
Morning Mogs! Did you see where she dropped during the night? She still doesn’t eat on her own with the feeder, hopefully soon!! Hope you are feeling better today.I think Lily might benefit from a small snack at +8 in addition to the mini meals at +2, +4, and +6. @tiffmaxee, what do you think?
Mogs
.


The 107 was after her meal. I fed her with the feeder but I don’t think she ate all of it. I had to show her where her food was all last night again. She has been sequestered in a bedroom for a few days now because it wouldn’t work in the general population. LOL sorry you are still under the weather.Afternoon, Sally. I did see that. Was the 107 before the PM+2 mini meal (waitress service again at that time, I assume?).
Don't feel quite so shivery today. Thank you for asking.![]()
If you're not already doing so - and if it's feasible - I'd suggest setting up the feeder in a separate room and then popping Lily in there alone with it about 10 minutes before the feeder is due to dispense a mini meal. Then check on her 10 minutes after the feeder has made the serving available to see whether she fathomed it out herself. If not, you'd then be able to 'show her the ropes' again in a nice, relaxed environment.
C'mon, Lily. Get with the programme! (((Lily)))
Mogs
.

How long after, do you remember?The 107 was after her meal.
It was an hour after her eating. The +4 was before her mini meal. Do you think I should feed her at +8 am and pm?How long after, do you remember?
Also, was the +4 before or after eating?
Mogs
.
Jury's out on that one at the moment. I'd like to see data for the +2/+4/+6 schedule for today to get a better feel for where her nibs is at before possibly tinkering further. That OK with you, Sally?Do you think I should feed her at +8 am and pm?
Sure that’s perfect!Jury's out on that one at the moment. I'd like to see data for the +2/+4/+6 schedule for today to get a better feel for where her nibs is at before possibly tinkering further. That OK with you, Sally?
Mogs
.
Yes I noticed she was high today. She will eat from the feeder but I still have to show her.Your girl's been up in the air a bit today, Sally. Wonder whether she got a bit of a bounce off last night's 107?
Any joy getting her to eat from the feeder yet?
Mogs
.


Thanks Mogs, will just take time!!She'll get there.
Can't tell yet whether or not a +8 snack would help.
Mogs
.
Well, she was always asleep under the bed and I would have to wake her to eat.Hi Sally,
How did your little furry student do last night?
Mogs
.


I haven’t found one that she loves.. She doesn’t like the Purebites at all but will eat the Orijen freeze dried treats better.Oh, Lily...
Cats.
Are there any diabetic-friendly treats she goes nuts for?
Mogs
.
That’s a good idea! Might try some tuna in there!! Thanks for the suggestion Mogs!Tuna? Baked plain chicken breast?
Trying to discover whether there's something you could use to get her to associate the feeder with nice things happening and therefore condition her to actively seek it out when she hears it whirring to see whether mommy has put something yummy in it for her.
Mogs
.
I'm good at bribery.That’s a good idea! Might try some tuna in there!! Thanks for the suggestion Mogs!![]()
LOL, I’ll remember that!!! HahaI'm good at bribery.
Mogs
.