? Deenies, 9/16/24: 283 AMPS, 264 +4, 265 +10 281 PMPS

https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/deenies-9-15-24-261-amps-224-4-220-pmps-179-5.294019/

Hello!

Today is Deenies full first week on Lantus at .25 units a day. I'm proud of her! Her BG has been consistently in the 200's, lowest a 166 on her first .5 dose and I got nervous and dropped it.

I am wondering if it is a good idea to start increasing her dose? What would be a normal increase based on her numbers?

Wish everyone reading a great day :)
@tiffmaxee
@Wendy&Neko
@Sienne and Gabby (GA)
 
I’d go up to .50 as nadirs are over 150. From the dosing sticky:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit
 
I’d go up to .50 as nadirs are over 150. From the dosing sticky:
After 1 week at a given dose perform a 12 hour curve, testing every 2 hours OR perform an 18 hour curve, testing every 3 hours. Note: Random spot checks are often helpful to "fill in the blanks" on kitty's spreadsheet. The goal is to learn how low the current dose is dropping kitty prior to making dose adjustments.
  • If nadirs are more than 150 mg/dl (8.3 mmol/L), increase the dose by 0.25 unit
  • If nadirs are between 90 (5 mmol/L) and 149 mg/dl (8.2 mmol/L), maintain the same dose
  • If nadirs are below 90 mg/dl (5mmol/L), decrease the dose by 0.25 unit

Got it thank you. I'll keep that in mind for now on. I will bump up the dose to .50 starting tomorrow morning and see where that takes her. I appreciate the guidance :)
 
Back
Top