Diabetic cat BG dropped without insulin suddenly

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi, my diabetic cat Dean, who is not on tight regulation, usually has bg around high 300 or low 400 and requires 3 to 4 units of NPH. He gets canned Friskies Special Diet food twice daily and eats some cat chow. His appetite has not been the best for the past week. He has a cut on his chin that he saw the vet for Monday. He got a low dose steroid shot, an antibiotic ointment called muprocin, and an oral antibiotic called cefpoxodime. I applied the ointment all week and I started the oral med today after he ate a little canned food. His bg tested at 217 so I skipped his shot. He refused food tonight and acts sleepy. His bg tested 195. I don't know how or why it decreased. It has not ever happened before. I am concerned.

Has that happened to anyone else?

Renee
 
You might post that in the Health forum. Not a lot of traffic here.

Are you testing for urine ketones?
Does his breath smell fruity of like nail polish remover?

See my signature link Secondary Monitoring Tools.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top