Diagnosed 6 June 2019 (Overwhelmed)

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Robert Vittetoe, Jun 7, 2019.

1. Robert Vittetoe

Robert Vittetoe Member

Our cat Pinot (named after the dictator) 15 years old was diagnosed with diabetes yesterday. His blood sugar was 607. We will try to start him on Prozinc 2 units every 12 hours today. The wife and I have some experience with diabetes. Both my kids are insulin dependent diabetics and we’ve had two dogs with diabetes that have since pasted. We’ve always said our biggest nightmare would be if Pinot got diabetes. He is not a very friendly cat and gets very aggressive. I have to put on motorcycle gloves just to get him in his carrier for vet visits. We have never been able to give him medicine at home. Luckily a few years ago he had all his teeth removed. I’m a little overwhelmed thinking of trying to give him shots twice a day. Our initial plan is to try while he is eating. If that doesn’t work my only option may be to corner him and hold him down but that will be traumatizing on us and him. I don’t ever foresee doing a blood test on him. The vet recommended periodic visits to got a snap shot of his sugar levels. Any advice is greatly appreciated.

2. Djamila

Djamila Well-Known Member

Hi Robert, and welcome. I have so much empathy for you. My cat was just shy of feral when he was diagnosed and it was quite a process. Please do not try to hold him down. You are absolutely right that it won't work.