Do I give shot??

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Sugarkitty15, May 15, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Sugarkitty15

Sugarkitty15 Member

Hi! Not sure what to do tonight regarding PM shot. Squeaks’ PMPS reading was 130. He was absolutely starving so I didn’t want to stall and retest. I did feed him and plan on retesting in a few hours. When I retest, if he’s above 150 (which He very well could be) should I give him his shot? Or just wait until tomorrow morning? TYIA!

2. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

Thats a good question I cant see on your spread sheet how many units his regular is. But personally I would stall and retest or just skip the shot. NOW I AM NO EXPERT so you are better off waiting for more advice @Nan&Amber(GA)

Last edited: May 15, 2020
  3. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

Or @Deb & Wink who is more familiar with prozync :)

Deb & Wink likes this.
  4. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

hahaha I was looking for you! :p THANKS

5. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

When you say re test in a few hours and maybe give shot then, how late will the shot be by then?

6. Deb & Wink

Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

Squeaks is getting 0.75U of Prozinc right now.

If you wait 2 hours past the usual shot time, that means your shot time tomorrow should be at least 1 hour later than normal.
    I would not wait any longer than the 2 hours, for the PM shot. If Squeaks is not high enough by then to give the shot, 150 or over, then skip the shot for this evening and pick up the dosing schedule at your usual time in the morning.

With Prozinc, there is a bit of flexibility in giving shots a little bit closer together than the standard 12 hours, ONCE in a while. It's not something you want to get in the habit of doing. Because it can make the BG's drop a bit lower than normal. so you need to be able to monitor.