Does getting the cat blood off your finger affect the BG reading?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Emily C, May 9, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Emily C

Emily C Member

Hi everyone - I’m still pretty new to home testing, but had a question. Sometimes my cat doesn’t get a good enough blood droplet, or she does but then flicks her ear and smears the blood on my hand, etc. I have had to use what was on my hand twice now and both times her BG was much higher than usual (the word “usual” I use loosely because I’ve only been testing for about 3 days). Curious if the blood had touched my hand/finger if it could cause a higher/inaccurate reading?

2. Chris & China (GA)

Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

Depends on what's on your hand!

Have you ever tried scraping the blood drop off onto a clean fingernail?

3. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

I’m not sure about the finger but I’ve gotten it on my nail because of exactly what you’re describing and I was told that’s totally fine. In fact some members here do that intentionally. Get the droplet on their nail because then it’s easier to get it onto strip&meter away from kitty’s ear. I think since we’re using human meters, wouldn’t a human be pricking it’s own finger to get the blood? Doesn’t that mean it should be fine? Just to be safe, I always do wash my hands before testing.

Last edited: May 9, 2020
  4. Emily C

Emily C Member

Thank you - I will try that. It’s just when I’m trying to apply a bit of pressure to make the blood enough for a reading then she flicks her ears. Maybe I’ll just try the fingernail first.

5. Deb & Wink

Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

Just be sure to wash and dry your hands really well, before you go grab a BG test.

6. Chris & China (GA)

Hold that ear tight....be ready for her to "flick"....maybe hold her head with your other hand for a few seconds before picking up the meter.