Jenny and Comet (GA)
Member Since 2020
Hi, everyone. I would appreciate help figuring out what would be an appropriate shot for Comet tonight. I have been waiting to hear back from the veterinary clinic and am worried about not hearing in time. I am a bit under 1-1/2 hours out from PMPS.
Comet got a shot for 1.4 units of Lantus this morning (after getting cerenia, budesonide, and having a good breakfast). And then went down fast. We use the FreeStyle Libre, and he registered as LO (under 50) for three hours. I repeatedly checked his numbers and fed him medium and higher carb food every twenty minutes and watched him like a hawk; he acted normally throughout and seemed fine. The Libre will sometime report LO when BG is actually in the 60s and sometimes 70s, and I know this, but it is really scary to see it and have it last that long; I have never seen it last that long before.
I know that with SLGS he would get a .25 reduction because he was definitely under 90. Should I reduce more than that because he went that low for so long? It is hard because I can't quantify how low he really was. I am worried that he will plummet back down again, but he will need something.
I apologize in advance for the spottiness of my charting for the last few weeks, I take notes every day but have been less than great about getting details into the chart. Thanks so much for your help.
Comet got a shot for 1.4 units of Lantus this morning (after getting cerenia, budesonide, and having a good breakfast). And then went down fast. We use the FreeStyle Libre, and he registered as LO (under 50) for three hours. I repeatedly checked his numbers and fed him medium and higher carb food every twenty minutes and watched him like a hawk; he acted normally throughout and seemed fine. The Libre will sometime report LO when BG is actually in the 60s and sometimes 70s, and I know this, but it is really scary to see it and have it last that long; I have never seen it last that long before.
I know that with SLGS he would get a .25 reduction because he was definitely under 90. Should I reduce more than that because he went that low for so long? It is hard because I can't quantify how low he really was. I am worried that he will plummet back down again, but he will need something.
I apologize in advance for the spottiness of my charting for the last few weeks, I take notes every day but have been less than great about getting details into the chart. Thanks so much for your help.
Last edited:

