? Dose Advice? | 4/18 Kai AMPS 148, +2 237, +4 54, +6 157, PMPS 360, +2 160, +3 93

It probably was his nadir but it was such a quick drop down and then back up... but now that I think about thats really not that usual for bouncey Kai. It also explains why we bounced into the 300's for his PMPS.
Does he get a snack at +3? He seems to have had quite a few 50ish nadirs at +4.
 
Technically no, because I have his auto feeder set up for snacks at +2 and +4. But recently I have been giving him more snacks at +3 because I have been trying to catch him when he makes these big drops, like tonight, he went from 360 to 160. So I have been contemplating if I should change his snack schedule to +1, +2, and +3?

But I have also noticed that I have been using a lot of 20% carb in both his snacks and main meals in order to keep him from dropping too quickly, which make me wonder if I should do a tiny reduction maybe a skinny dose?

I either need to adjust his snack schedule or adjust his insulin dose.
 
Technically no, because I have his auto feeder set up for snacks at +2 and +4. But recently I have been giving him more snacks at +3 because I have been trying to catch him when he makes these big drops, like tonight, he went from 360 to 160. So I have been contemplating if I should change his snack schedule to +1, +2, and +3?

But I have also noticed that I have been using a lot of 20% carb in both his snacks and main meals in order to keep him from dropping too quickly, which make me wonder if I should do a tiny reduction maybe a skinny dose?

I either need to adjust his snack schedule or adjust his insulin dose.
That was my thought was a +3 snack to slow his roll.... that's the advice I got early on as Pete was having huge swings.

If you're manipulating that much with carbs I would ask for a dose review, for sure.
 
Yeah, looking at his sheet again, I can see that we aren't bouncing as high as we were before but thats probably because I have been heavily manipulating his mid cycles with 15% - 20% carb food.

@Bandit's Mom, @Wendy&Neko, @Diane Tyler's Mom GA, @Angela & Cleo
I have been using a lot of 20% and 15% carb in both his snacks and main meals to manipulate his curve and to keep him from dropping so quickly. Should I give him a tiny reduction? Or should i switch up his snack time from "+2 & +4" to "+1, +2, & +3"?
 
Technically no, because I have his auto feeder set up for snacks at +2 and +4. But recently I have been giving him more snacks at +3 because I have been trying to catch him when he makes these big drops, like tonight, he went from 360 to 160. So I have been contemplating if I should change his snack schedule to +1, +2, and +3?

But I have also noticed that I have been using a lot of 20% carb in both his snacks and main meals in order to keep him from dropping too quickly, which make me wonder if I should do a tiny reduction maybe a skinny dose?

I either need to adjust his snack schedule or adjust his insulin dose.
Hi Maddie, it’s never a bad idea to experiment with when you give the carbs. I give I’ve a few tsp of her 6% regular diet at +1,2 and 3 both cycles.

It looks like Kai dives at +3, when insulin onsets. So why not try to curb the dive at +2 also?
You’ll then see if it helps calm that dive a bit.
And I also find that if I’m chasing her with higher carbs too much then I will shave down the dose a bit to see if it will help.
It’s a lot of experimenting.
So maybe get rid of the “fat” part of the dose and see how he does.
You can always go back up…

Just my 2 cents …
Have a safe day. Hugs and belly rubs to Kai :bighug::cat::bighug:
 
Hi Maddie, it’s never a bad idea to experiment with when you give the carbs. I give I’ve a few tsp of her 6% regular diet at +1,2 and 3 both cycles.

It looks like Kai dives at +3, when insulin onsets. So why not try to curb the dive at +2 also?
You’ll then see if it helps calm that dive a bit.
And I also find that if I’m chasing her with higher carbs too much then I will shave down the dose a bit to see if it will help.
It’s a lot of experimenting.
So maybe get rid of the “fat” part of the dose and see how he does.
You can always go back up…

Just my 2 cents …
Have a safe day. Hugs and belly rubs to Kai :bighug::cat::bighug:


Thank you! I will gladly take your 2 cents any day! :joyful::bighug:
 
Back
Top