Dosing advice after hypo event yesterday

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Whitney and Jonas, Jul 12, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Whitney and Jonas

Whitney and Jonas Member

Hi everyone, I’m back on very little sleep but Jonas is okay so that’s all that matters. I woke up at 4:45AM just to check and he was 252 and I’ll be testing his AMPS in 10 minutes so I wanted to make this thread now. I am still wary of how strongly this new vial of Prozinc seems to be affecting him for some reason and yesterday was a very scary and long-lived event. I know @Deb & Wink had mentioned starting him at 1U today if he’s over 150 AMPS since he may be more sensitive after yesterday too.

2. Nan & Amber (GA)

Nan & Amber (GA) Well-Known Member

I read through that entire thread-- whoo! What a night you guys had! You did great, it is so scary dealing with low numbers for the first time, but now you are a pro ;).

I am not a prozinc person, but I like the idea of 1.0U, especially with him only up in yellow after the day he had. We'll see what others say, and where he is at pre-shot, but I don't know that I'd adjust my opinion even if he's high at AMPS. Looking at your spreadsheet, it sure does look like there was a big change when you moved to the new vial, so we may have to treat this as starting fresh until we can figure out another explanation. Sometimes, even with the best care, vials do just go bad.

3. jt and trouble (GA)

jt and trouble (GA) Well-Known Member

Deb knows what shes talking about. Heck as chicken as I am...I'd consider going lower. BUT AGAIN Deb is the expert here not me.
    j

4. jt and trouble (GA)

Thanks Nan! lol I'm so chicken...I didnt remember her insulin could have gone "off"

5. Nan & Amber (GA)

Yes, as I said, I'm not a prozinc person, but Deb is, so I figured it was safe to jump in to give some support to Deb's recommendation!

6. jt and trouble (GA)

Yeah I agree.;)

7. Whitney and Jonas