Dosing Advice Needed

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Steve and Blue, Apr 2, 2010.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Steve and Blue

Steve and Blue Member

Hello. I posted over in another forum and it was suggested I try over here. If you all could take a look at the link
    and offer some opinions it would be a great help. My cat Blue is a newly diagnosed diabetic and I'm still learning.
    Thanks!

Here is the link: Won't matter if you should respond over there or right here as I'll be checking both.

http://felinediabetes.com/FDMB/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=10923

I posted his curve over there as well.

Edit: I'm going to give him his dose - lowering it from 3.0/2.5 Units to 2.0 for right now. His shot is past due and his last reading was 305 a few minutes ago. Hopefully things get back to around decent levels. Still would like advice should this happen again. Thanks.

2. Donna & Buddha

Donna & Buddha Member

Welcome!

My kitty is on ProZinc and I still haven't got him regulated. But, in the past when a dose has taken him into low bg readings (without hypo symptoms), he rebounds. When that rebound response is triggered, his next couple of cycles seemed to run high and/or flat. It may be that your kitty responds the same way to rapidly lowering or too low blood glucose levels.

Do you have other bg test data? Do you test before shots usually? Setting up a google spreadsheet is a good way to keep track of things, and what many of us here do.

3. Steve and Blue

Steve and Blue Member

Thanks for the welcome!

Yes, I've kept track of everything the past week. He has only been home 2 weeks since diagnosis. Most curves have been highs around 300 and lows around 50, but this is the first time he fell to nadir within 5 hours. Usually it takes 7-9 hours. I think I'm going to make a switch to another insulin if this keeps up - possibly BCP PZI or Glargine, but I'll give it a few weeks to do it's magic.

How long has your kitty been on the PZI?