*dosing advice plz* 12/29 Bella AMPS 164, +6 107, PMPS 167, +3 206

Bellas_mom_2020

Active Member
Hey everyone,

It’s been a while since I’ve posted. Bella has been doing good. We lowered her dose at the beginning of this month to 0.25 and I don’t know what’s been going on. Some days her numbers are good and some days they aren’t. Her insulin pen is fairly new so it’s not that. We thought maybe it was some of the food we’ve been giving her.

I feel like everything we do it’s wrong. Trying to get her into remission and we were on the right path but now it feels like we’ve taken 10 steps back. Hoping to get some advice. I really don’t want to bring her back up to 0.5. Maybe my husband isn’t doing 0.25 dose correctly - it’s hard to figure out the 0.25.

https://docs.google.com/spreadsheets/d/1yLIqy1uFfJh0cZztMuSJESzpDTH7oICgabommZsztqk/edit
 
Maybe my husband isn’t doing 0.25 dose correctly - it’s hard to figure out the 0.25.
When you first use a syringe, push the plunger all the way in to see if it lines up with the printed zero line. A lot of syringes have their markings way off and that affects the accuracy of the dose. Especially with smaller doses every little bit matters.

Can you get tests at other times besides +6 or is that when you come home from work to grab a test?

What are her feed times?
 
When you first use a syringe, push the plunger all the way in to see if it lines up with the printed zero line. A lot of syringes have their markings way off and that affects the accuracy of the dose. Especially with smaller doses every little bit matters.

Can you get tests at other times besides +6 or is that when you come home from work to grab a test?

What are her feed times?

my husband always says that the ones we have the plunger is not straight and it’s hard to tell. I showed him a photo I found on the forum last night of what 0.25 looks like so today he tried to follow that. So let’s see how that goes.
+6 is when my husband gets home from work during the day to check. On the weekends I try to get other times but it’s hard.

her feed times (all eastern time) 7:00 am, snack @ 1:00 pm, dinner 7:00 pm, 10:00 pm we put a snack in her bowl before we go to bed and then that’s it.
 
Would you maybe want to consider trying using a calipers to measure the dosing so that it’s more accurate each time you give it. As Bhooma said, especially with such small doses, every little drop matters.
It’s not hard to use the calipers. I’ve been doing it for quite some time now and once you get used to it, it’s very easy.
:bighug:
 
Would you maybe want to consider trying using a calipers to measure the dosing so that it’s more accurate each time you give it. As Bhooma said, especially with such small doses, every little drop matters.
It’s not hard to use the calipers. I’ve been doing it for quite some time now and once you get used to it, it’s very easy.
:bighug:

I will look into getting one. But I think the insulin was the issue because I showed my husband the picture of what 0.5 looks like and today her numbers were much better.
 
You could move the +6 snack to +4 and feed a part of the PS meal at +2. See what that does to numbers and then tweak meal times accordingly. Similarly in the PM cycle.

I don’t know if that would work because in the morning 7:00 is the time we have to give her insulin and feed her due to our schedule. So giving her a snack at +4 i think is to early because sometimes she doesn’t finish her breakfast right away and takes her time.
 
I don’t know if that would work because in the morning 7:00 is the time we have to give her insulin and feed her due to our schedule. So giving her a snack at +4 i think is to early because sometimes she doesn’t finish her breakfast right away and takes her time.
You could try giving her less food with the shot so that she will be willing to eat snacks at +2 and +4.
 
Back
Top