? Dosing Advice Prozinc 1

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Bear & Lora, Sep 28, 2018.

1. Bear & Lora

Bear & Lora Well-Known Member

My cat Bear was diagnosed 8-16-18 with Diabetes. The vet started him on 2 units twice daily. The next week he was monitored and his dosage was raised to 3 units twice daily 8-28-18.

Last night his pre-shot testing was 87 BG. I didn't give him any insulin and because I am very new to this (Home testing for 4 days) I had no idea of the protocol and I immediately fed him instead of stalling.

He is overdue his first shot and he just tested 317 BG. Can anyone help me with lowering his dosage?

The needles I bought at the Vet's office are UltiCare Vet RX U-40 Insulin Syringe and doesn't have 1/4 or 1/2 lines.

Should I go down a unit?

2. Kris & Teasel

Kris & Teasel Well-Known Member

I see from the "notes" section of your spreadsheet that you're working on getting him to make the switch to only low carb wet food. How far into that are you? I ask because the dosing advice would depend on that. If he's still eating some kibble as well as higher carb, gravy style canned food he'll be able to handle a slightly higher insulin dose. Once he's eating only low carb wet food the dose might have to be reduced.

We know that 3 u is too high a dose at this point. Deciding how much to drop a dose is a challenge. I suggest you go back to 2 u for this upcoming shot. Test him again at +2 to see what he might be planning. These are the guidelines we follow:
    • if +2 is higher than the PS the cycle is likely to be uneventful (ie., no big drop) and you can go to bed in peace if it's evening
    • if it's significantly lower (maybe 100+ points) be prepared to test again at +3 and start intervening with small snacks of low carb food to try "steering" the BG away from a precipitous drop