EDIT: 9/23/22: PM BG 302 Should i raise U??

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Rory and Melissa, Sep 21, 2022.

  1. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
  2. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    If you don’t want to stall and retest in say 30 minutes (without feeding) then yes I would lower the dose. We’ve never seen this low of a preshot before in Rory.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  3. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Would 2U be ok?
     
  4. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    or should i go a bit lower then the 2U?
     
  5. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Looking at his spreadsheet, I think 2 may be okay. But you may even want to shoot a half dose for today if you really think that you can’t test him and feed when necessary. Just be prepared that he may go higher than you want and don’t be too upset by that.
     
  6. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    By the way, it looks like you have been doing a fantastic job with him despite being sick. I really can’t tell you have been sick by looking at your ss.
     
  7. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Why not test him again before you decide? Has he eaten?
     
  8. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    i can test him +2 and +4 but after my meds kick in its harder, if I did half the dose is that 1.5? i don't want to set him back to much just cause I'm sick :(
     
  9. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    he hasn't eaten, I'm waiting for the 630 mark (I'm in vegas) to re-test.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  10. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It will be okay. He’s been getting great numbers on the 2.5 dose already. A half dose would be 1.25 units. Or you could just go with 1 unit and make it easy.
     
  11. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    it wont hurt him to much to drop to 1? i feel bad if I set him back ya know
     
  12. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. Sounds good. Retest in a few minutes at 6:30 and make your decision then. I hope you will be feeling better with no meds soon.
     
  13. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I understand that yes. It’s not optimal but you will be able to get him back on track.
     
  14. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Let’s see where he is in 4 minutes
     
  15. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    hes @ 108 now...ill do 1u to be safe
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  16. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You will have a lot more peace of mind! Be sure to get those tests in
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  17. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    THANK YOU SO MUCH FOR THE HELP SUZAN:cat:
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  18. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Be sure to give snacks at +4 before you go to sleep. If it’s a low-ish number then make it higher carbs food. Don’t know if you have a way to just leave food out for him (other cats?)
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  19. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    he has an automatic feeder he grazes from, he's almost fully switched over to zero young again which is out for him to graze from...he's not a big eater in one sitting
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  20. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Perfect! He’s such a gorgeous boy. Is he a large cat?
     
  21. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    He’s a big boy, before his diagnosis he weighed about 141bs he’s at 12 now but he’s my cuddle bug!
     
  22. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    at his +2 hes at 73, hes eating and drinking very aware, wanting to chase the birds in the window...should I do hrly checks?
     
  23. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Should i give him some high carb treats? this is our first green and I'm so stressed cause I don't want to miss a hypo just cause I'm sick
     
  24. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Did you feed HC? I'd get a test before/by +3 to see if/how much he's still dropping (don't wait to test until +4)
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  25. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Havent given HC treats yet...waiting for his +3 which is at the 930 (PT)
     
  26. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    ❤️❤️
     
  27. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Should you be checking now?
     
  28. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    hes at 73 @ +3
     
  29. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Still at 73? It’s pretty awesome
     
  30. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    So you will be around for another hour?
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  31. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    sorry it was a struggle to get enough blood from his paw to test...we usually don't have that much trouble
     
  32. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    i can check in another hr yes
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  33. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You don’t use his ear?
     
  34. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Is he eating now on anything?
     
  35. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    We need to get your signature set up and your Ss linked. But we can wait until you are better. What kind of foods do you have available to feed? Low carb wet food? Medium carb wet food? High carb wet food? Or all dry food?
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  36. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    we tried the ear and it didn't work well with him it was a struggle and he fought me so much...with the bottom of his pads it has become a routine he can handle he lets me cradle him and we get the blood...sometimes I do good and sometimes I don't but he's patient with me until he's not lol
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  37. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    he at his freeze dried treat for the blood testing (orijen original) but he's been drinking and eating through out the hr leading up to bg
     
  38. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022

    he HATEs wet food, I have tried everything from gravies to friskeys to fancy feast, patte to shredded he will walk away...i got him on Zero Young again which is super low carb if any carbs at all and he's great with it...i think that has a lot to do with his numbers dropping too once I got him switched over.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  39. Shelley & Jess

    Shelley & Jess Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2020
    Dose reduction earned too. Down to 2.25 next time he's high enough to shoot a 'full' dose.
     
  40. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    What food do you have to bring up his BG if you need to? He may need high carb food at some point.
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  41. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Whenever he gets back to a more normal preshot (hopefully tonight) reduce the dose to 2.25 units.
     
  42. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    I still have some of his favorite freskies chicken treats that he loves and some fancy feast food he use to eat that is hc
     
  43. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    You got the signature all set. Good. That’s helpful.
     
  44. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    And hopefully karo syrup if necessary or honey?
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  45. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    yes I have the karo here just in case as well, I can force feed gravy if need be but he just will not eat it...i wish!!
     
  46. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I used to make a mixture of 50/50 karo and water and give about 1.5 cc in an oral syringe for giving liquids. It was much less messy than trying to just stick it in kitty’s mouth. It wasn’t a large volume but thinned it out enough to give in an oral syringe so that it wasn’t stuck in there.
     
  47. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I’ll check back with you in half an hour for the next test.
     
  48. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    thank you so much for being here,:cat: it will be at the 10:30 (PT)
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  49. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    we are at 74 now
     
    Shelley & Jess likes this.
  50. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Man he’s still flat. I almost can’t believe it. It’s totally awesome to me to see this (of course he’s not technically supposed to go below 90 on SLGS). Very stable. However there’s still so much time left in the early and mid part of the cycle.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  51. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Do you want to give some HC treats if you are going to be asleep? Do you think you can set an alarm to test him in an hour or two?
     
  52. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I hate to mess up this lovely cycle. But Rory needs to be safe.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  53. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    ill stay up and test im at the +6 give him a little break from the bloodletting
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  54. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay good. His nadir seems to move around but anywhere from +4 to even +8 bjt he doesn’t appear to dive down a lot so that’s good.
     
  55. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Would it be ok to wait for the +6 or should I check again at the +5...hes not to happy with the testing right now and i don't blame him but i want him safe so whatever you think is best ill do
     
  56. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I “think” it will be okay but I don't “know” for sure. He could go down- but he’s been so flat - but if it were my cat, I know I would be testing because I doubt if I could stand the pressure.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  57. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Ill test him again at the +5 mark, my stress app on my watch is already yelling at me to calm down so this will help both him and I but he's doing soo good....eating, drinking and back to chasing his brother around...he still has wobbly back legs so he can do it for long but watching them wrestle makes me soooo happy!!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  58. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Why is he wobbly? Is it diabetic neuropathy? Are you giving Zobaline?
     
  59. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Vet said it was neuropathy, it started before treatment. We were giving b12 shots with the vet (I made sure the ones for neuropathy I just don't remember what its called) but then we caught covid so he hasn't had the shot since.
     
  60. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Can you give small pills to him? If so, just order some Zobaline from Life Link. It’s a combination of methylcobalamin and folic acid and very effective for diabetic neuropathy. That’s the correct form of B-12 for helping to heal the nerve fibers.
     
  61. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    we are at 80!!:D:cat:
     
  62. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Beautiful. Nice flat greens.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  63. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Since hes rising im going to give him a bit of a break on the blood letting <3
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  64. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    For his PM dose, we agreed on 2.25....if he's still in the greens I don't shoot right... (I don't think he will be but I think hell be in the blues)
     
  65. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I would not shoot if he’s green, no.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  66. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Im testing right now for pm he's at 127 should I do the 2.25 dose or lower?
     
  67. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I would not do the 2.25. His preshot isn’t far from this morning’s number
     
  68. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Somone in the FB group is saying a skinny 1u which sound good..should I do that?
     
  69. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Want to try 1 unit again and see how he does?
     
  70. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Im getting told to do .75 or .25 cause I cant monitor as much at night with the meds I take.
     
  71. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    He’s basically the same as this morning if you consider meter variance.
     
  72. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Hes a bit higher which is why i was think 1 would be good but then FB monitor/expert stated to go lower to be safe as i cant monitor as closely and I'm a bit more anxious now cause what i thought was a safe shot of 1u is now being told to go lower and i really don't know what to do :(
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  73. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Your choice. I would not do only.25! He did very well today on 1 unit but many cats dip a little lower at night so .75 may be acceptable.
     
  74. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    If you are super anxious then skip until tomorrow. He did great today, but you really did keep track of him for a long while.
     
  75. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    He does tend to dip low at night...ill do the .75, thank you sooo much!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  76. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Ah cross posting. On Facebook I said to do 0.25-0.75U based on ability to monitor. She follows SLGS so technically dipped a little too low today on 1U.
     
  77. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    A lot of cats do dip a bit lower at night so if you want to go even lower or skip it will be okay. I don’t know how tired you are right now. Better be safe than adventurous.
     
  78. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    I apologize for the cross-posting, I usually delete one right after one is answered first. thank you again for helping!!!
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  79. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Yes. Listen to Melissa. She is an expert. Take her advice.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  80. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    im going to retest his BG at 630 (PT) and go from there...if he's rising ill do .75 if he's the same ill lower.. i feel like missing just doesn't help him and he did so good today
     
  81. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    No worries! We technically can't give exact dose advice on Facebook, hence giving the range.

    But Suzanne is right, he did beautifully today on 1U. You do have the option to customize the SLGS reduction point if you'd like, my only concern would be ability to monitor since you have COVID and medications.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  82. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    He sure did great today, but @FrostD is right- and as I mentioned earlier today - he’s technically not supposed to drop below 90 if we can help it! He was in safe numbers and had a good little surf in green, but the protocols are for their safety. You did gather some useful data today, too.
     
    FrostD likes this.
  83. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    Yes, try to avoid a skip if you can, but safety first.

    I'd be very hesitant to go back up to his full dose at this point, something is going on and he doesn't need as much insulin.
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  84. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Just retested and hes at 154...should i shoot lower or go back to the 1U
     
  85. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    he's rising would .25 still be a good one...i feel that it would be safer
     
  86. FrostD

    FrostD Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2020
    I don't think 0.25U would cut through enough and keep these nice numbers. I'd lean 0.5-0.75U, but as we say, you hold the syringe. Have to do what you're comfortable with and can manage.
     
  87. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
  88. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Thank you so much for both your help on this!!! I get super panicky (anxiety meds are a common thing for me) so having you two here to guide me...i am forever grateful @FrostD @Suzanne & Darcy
     
    FrostD and Suzanne & Darcy like this.
  89. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I am in agreement with this.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  90. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I also think we should take the lower dose and we need to think about a new dose. He seems to suddenly need less insulin. Maybe it was the complete food switch but something is going on.
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  91. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I will check in with you in the morning. What time is your shot time? 6 am Pacific will be my 9 am Eastern. Is that right?
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  92. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    He is now just full zero YA..i think the Dr Elseys was keeping him super high....and Yes he's 6 am PT
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  93. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Did you try the Dr. Elsey’s Clean Protein food ?
     
  94. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    Thats what he was on in the beginning, I feel that's what was keeping him so high too which is why we switched to Zero YA
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  95. AliceMeowliss (GA)

    AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2019
    Well on 9/14 he had his first real blue streak and that is also when you noted you were working on transitioning him to YA. But I also feel like he started to show some improvement when he was bumped up to 3u, it’s just that was a huge bump from 2u so I think it maybe made him bouncy, maybe it skipped right past the ideal dose for him and was a little too high. My guess is that it is the YA but also that his pancreas is just starting to kick into action now that he is getting insulin. A week and a half ago he just started to really show that activity so he was bouncier, and now he is showing more stability.
     
  96. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    I'm hanging out for Rory's AMPS number this morning. Do you want to start a new thread and link this old one to it?
     
    Rory and Melissa likes this.
  97. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    No need to start a new thread, we are here! he's 249 I was going to do the2.5 but I remember someone saying to do 2.25
     
    Suzanne & Darcy likes this.
  98. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    Okay. I just looked at your spreadsheet and see he had a yellow amps. After yesterday though, I doubt if I would have given a full 2.25 (even with the yellow AMPS.) He's doing surprising things with the insulin lately and I don't trust it. I know you will take good care to monitor him this morning though. If he was in green yesterday on only one unit... then I have concerns about the 2.25
     
  99. Rory and Melissa

    Rory and Melissa Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2022
    should i do 1U?
     
  100. Suzanne & Darcy

    Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2020
    It definitely is apparent that the .5 units from last night was not enough, but we didn't know that... now we know.
     

Share This Page