Feeling Defeated—AMPS 513

Status
Not open for further replies.
Hi Olivia try not to despair. It looks to me like the carbs ar working their way slowly out of Lil Bits system. Also you never know when an infection could be brewing. Are you checking for keytones daily?

This is TRULY a marathon. You have us and all the tools you need to keep Lil safe. We WILL get to the bottom of this. Lean on us and vent. We will hold you up. Lets see what @Panic has to say about this spreadsheet ok? Maybe she can prevail on other Prozinc'ers to check out Lil's sheet.
HOW DOES THAT SOUND.

There are bumps, hills, and valleys with every disease. Diabetes is one that you CAN make a difference with. We will help you!:bighug::bighug::bighug:
jeanne
 
Best thing about this marathon?... You are NOT alone. :bighug:;):bighug:
Thank you so so so much. It is such a blessing to have this group to lean on. Maybe it is the carbs—good point. He was eating a lot (!!) of dry food before I started checking his BG. I just got back from a grocery run for FF and picked up some toys (nope, not spoiled) and he chased and caught them! He was playing! Hopefully that means he’s feeling a bit better.
I have not checked yet for ketones. I remember reading about them on this forum, but did not think he exhibited the symptoms. He is extremely modest about going to the bathroom. He will jump out of the box if I poke my head in while he’s in there. Can I use the sticks in a fresh urine sample in litter?
 
One thing about keytones is they can go terribly bad very quickly. Hes eating so thats not a provlem hes playing so thats not a problem youre right He isnt displaying symptoms but cats are so good at hiding illness.... You canno use urine that has been in litter there are tricks to capture some though
Clean his box put a very small amount of litter at one end (enough litter to scratch at) prop box up from that corner the pee will run to the other end. dip in stick. There are other tricks I hope people add theirs. ;)
 
upload_2020-9-20_10-47-36.jpeg

sweet boy sitting among his toys watching the backyard :)
 

Attachments

  • upload_2020-9-20_10-47-36.jpeg
    upload_2020-9-20_10-47-36.jpeg
    78.1 KB · Views: 173
This is the highest reading we have had since I started tracking.
Aw, sweetie... Huge reassuring ((((HUG)))) to you.... :bighug:

It may well be, as others have said, that the carbs could still be affecting your kitty's blood glucose.

...Quick question, and I know this is unlikely but does your kitty have a sensitivity or intolerance to salmon? The only reason I ask is that Prozinc contains salmon protamine.

Little Bit is just gorgeous! :cat:
 
Aw, sweetie... Huge reassuring ((((HUG)))) to you.... :bighug:

It may well be, as others have said, that the carbs may still be affecting your kitty's blood glucose.

...Quick question, and I know this is unlikely but does your kitty have a sensitivity or intolerance to salmon? The only reason I ask is that Prozinc contains salmon protamine.

Little Bit is just gorgeous! :cat:
Thank you—I tell him all the time what a handsome boy he is. :) :)
I do hope that the carbs are the issue and we will begin making progress very soon. He does not have a salmon sensitivity that I am aware of... he has eaten salmon FF but I believe that’s the only other time he’s been exposed to it. How would I know if he has a sensitivity? He’s been on Prozinc since last October. He has a good appetite—ate a whole can of FF for breakfast before his shot.
 
Unfortunately I have just started testing his BG recently since I noticed signs of it being high again. He seems to have been fine until I dropped the dose from the original 2 units. My vet never pushed at home testing, and I thought we were doing fine. I feel like this is my fault.
 
I feel like this is my fault.
Well I suppose you could beat yourself up over it but it really IS NOT your fault. Life happens things change. You cant predict NOR can your vet. It makes me angry your vet never told you about home testing but dont look back look forward.

We WILL get this sorted. I'm just not the one to give direction. Thats why I tagged Elizabeth and Deb.
Deb might not be here till later in the day so hang in there!
 
He did mention testing, which is why I bought the meter, but never made me feel like I needed to when I inquired and expressed my feelings of testing making us feel uncomfortable (which I have now found not to be a big deal). I will also say, I have exclusively fed him Hill’s m/d dry & wet since his diagnosis, and now I’ve found out that wasn’t the best for him, either. My vet was also aware that I dropped his dose.
 
I have exclusively fed him Hill’s m/d dry & wet since his diagnosis, and now I’ve found out that wasn’t the best for him, either.
SOOOO many vets rely on what sales men tell them. They come into the practice size it up and go into their spiel ... Everyone one wants a simple quick fix so they grasp at whatever a damn sales man tells them. Then to boot they offer a kick back for whatever they are selling . EVERYONE WINS ...EXCEPT the client.
(I must say I dont know if this happens or STILL happens with every practice. But I've watched these guys at work. It NO different than the drug salesmen/women you see leaving your doctors office. :rolleyes:)
 
That makes me very sad. It also makes me sad how much I trust my vet when he should’ve ensured I was home testing and reporting back to him. He has been in practice a very long time and seems extremely knowledgeable. None of us ever meant for LB’s glucose to start rising again, but I was relying on his guidance. :(
 
Black numbers can often indicate a bounce happening ... he may have dropped lower last night and you weren't aware. OR it could be the dry food talking ... I remember catching Panic with her head in the bag of dry food chowing down ... next morning her BG was sky-high, the bugger. Keep monitoring, get some late-night tests in now and then (set an alarm) if you have to. It is definitely a marathon, not a sprint. Also remember it can take up to three days to clear a bounce ... and I think 24-48 hours to clear dry food out of the system.
 
Also remember it can take up to three days to clear a bounce ... and I think 24-48 hours to clear dry food out of the system.
Thank you so much for replying. He hasn’t had any dry food (unless he has a secret stash somewhere lol) since the 18th. I guess I better stop the Hill’s metabolic treats, too. He’s only getting four per day now (I’m embarrassed to say how many he was getting before), but perhaps that could make a difference even with it being a small amount. I have the FF tuna treats for him and he loves those, just wasn’t sure if I could overdo it with the tuna. I pray that his numbers will start coming down soon and regulate. I have anxiety disorder and him being unwell has me all out of sorts. Thank you for your support. It means the world.
 
I could not tell you whether the Hill's treats make much of a difference or not, I never used non-diabetic goodies (I buy frozen chicken, bake it, and pull it apart into treat-sized pieces. Even though my diabetic lady is gone I still do it for my civvies and they love it), however I have been told even a small handful of dry food will increase BG noticeably though.

Keep it up!
 
If you took away the dry food quickly without lowering the dose, there is the common possibility that his insulin needs will have gone down, so his dose is now too much ... if that were the case, he'd be experiencing drops that are causing bounces, and it's possible you just haven't caught him during the drop, but later during the bounce.
 
I tapered the dry food over the course of a couple days. Maybe I should have waited longer. Should I continue with the 2 units until we see numbers go down and stay there?
 
Let's hang on the for the time being and see if we can catch any interesting info in those mid-cycles. He may need a little more juice, who knows!
If you catch big dips though that will tell us he needs less. ;)
Yes ma’am, we will continue on with the 2 units and I will monitor mid cycle. I will test again before our PMPS and report back. <3
 
The
Thank you so much for replying. He hasn’t had any dry food (unless he has a secret stash somewhere lol) since the 18th. I guess I better stop the Hill’s metabolic treats, too. He’s only getting four per day now (I’m embarrassed to say how many he was getting before), but perhaps that could make a difference even with it being a small amount. I have the FF tuna treats for him and he loves those, just wasn’t sure if I could overdo it with the tuna. I pray that his numbers will start coming down soon and regulate. I have anxiety disorder and him being unwell has me all out of sorts. Thank you for your support. It means the world.
Metabolic treats are high in carbs
 
As for treats I see some members buy these and they will buy the same one for dogs they are exactly the same just bigger, so break them up, you will get more for your money, check it out on the Chewy site
PureBites Chicken Breast Freeze-Dried Raw Cat Treats


VitalEssentials is also another good freeze dried brand. .One of our members says her cat loves the minnow flavor
 
As for treats I see some members buy these and they will buy the same one for dogs they are exactly the same just bigger, so break them up, you will get more for your money, check it out on the Chewy site
PureBites Chicken Breast Freeze-Dried Raw Cat Treats


VitalEssentials is also another good freeze dried brand. .One of our members says her cat loves the minnow flavor
I have PureBites and Orijen freeze dried treats ordered. :) Hope he likes them! The fancy feast tuna bites are also zero carb because they’re only tuna and he really likes those!
 
You are NOT defeated, you are empowered now with being able to test your kitty Little Bit. Never forget that. You are now part of the FDMB family, and we help family all we can.

You've learned a lot already, in such a short period of time. Kudos to you Olivia!
Look back at this thread and all the information it contains. Absorb what you can, study what you may have missed, ask questions.

Nice to see it dipping some. I'm going to ask @Deb & Wink if she thinks holding the dose longer is recommended or going ahead and bumping up again since it's been 6 cycles on 2u.

Deb - Little Bit had a quick switch to FF Classics, last had Hill's dry on the 18th. Still feeding Hill's Metabolic treats. Thoughts on dosage?
Keep the dose the same for now, a couple of cycles at least, until the high carb Hill's Metabolic treats work their way through is system.

"Better too high for a day, than too low for a cycle."
 
Thank you, Deb! Hopefully those treats will make their way out of his little system very soon. No more of those ever! We will stick to the tuna and freeze dried treats (hopefully, if he likes them).
I feel so blessed to have all of you supporting me. I cannot express my gratitude in words. Truly, you all are amazing and I am forever grateful.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top