First At Home BG Curve - Dosing Advice?

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Diana & Martin, Aug 16, 2022.

1. Diana & Martin

Diana & Martin Member

Hi everybody, this is my first time posting here on the Prozinc forum but I've asked a couple questions over at main. Essentially, Martin was diagnosed with FD about 2 months ago after receiving two steroid shots for Asthma and bronchitis. He was put on Caninsulin (1.5 units initially and then 3 units a month later) until last week, when I took him to a new vet because his regular vet was on vacation, and the new vet immediately took him off Caninsulin and put him on 2 units of Prozinc. I started testing him last week – previous vet never told us about home testing – so I don't have a lot of data, but we did do his first at home curve yesterday. I was also advised on here to change his diet so we stated doing that today. We went for Lily's Kitchen pate and so far he loves it.

I was just wondering if based on his current numbers his dose should be adjusted now that he's going to be eating low carb food?

2. Suzanne & Darcy

Suzanne & Darcy Well-Known Member

Hi there. If you are in the process of switching to a low carb diet then his BG numbers will likely go lower. I am uncomfortable with the 2 units dose and the switch to LC food at the same time. He’s already had green numbers on 2 units. He’s already hit blue today so please test a bit more to make sure you don’t need to intervene with food. In fact, you may want to give a low carb snack (just a spoonful) now and test at the next hour mark - or test now and decide what to feed then. If he’s going too low then feed the higher carb food then you have on hand.

Shelley & Jess likes this.
  3. Suzanne & Darcy

I don’t know where you currently are in the cycle or how long ago it was that you got that 134.

4. Diana & Martin

Diana & Martin Member

Just tested right now (+7) BG 112. Should I give him a snack?

5. Suzanne & Darcy