first curve at home

Discussion in 'Prozinc / PZI' started by Sally the Calico, Jan 15, 2020.

1. Sally the Calico

Sally the Calico Member

Good morning!
    Just a quick note to share that I did Sally's first curve at home yesterday and have sent the results to the vet. I am guessing her dose needs to increase, but will wait to see what the vet says, as well as any advice you may have.

The vet had called me yesterday and was pleased to hear that I'm home testing and said she felt I knew what i was doing and handling things well. That is ONLY with a huge thanks to this site and everyone here! She did suggest that at some point she may want me to come in with my glucometer and compare readings to their Alphatrack (?) just to make sure we are in the same ballpark on numbers.

2. Juls and Billy

Juls and Billy Member

Mostly I'm just here to tell you that you and Sally are totally awesome! Way to rock that first curve!
    I'm not an expert, but looking at your sheet, I suspect you are correct about the dose increase. Your vet will let you know for sure. Do keep in mind that folks here that know what they are doing suggest increases slowly, .25 of a dose at a time, then wait 3 12-hour cycles for it to settle in. Slow and steady is the key to changes. It's wonderful that your vet is working with you on this. All of you rock!

3. Deb & Wink

Deb & Wink Well-Known Member

Your vet is a keeper.

It's the Alphatrak 2 if it's the newer model.

Finally! A vet that understands that BG readings between a pet specific meter and a human meter only need to 'be in the ballpark' on numbers.

Congratulations on doing the curve yourself at home. Less stress for your Sally, lower cost for you.

Sally the Calico likes this.
  4. Sally the Calico

Sally the Calico Member

@Deb & Wink .... I emailed Sally's curve to the vet and she just called me back.