First Green Shoot! 9/2 Penny AMPS 93 +1 97 +2 85 +3 77 +4 69 +5 79 +6 84 (Relion) shot .5

Laurisaurus

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB...on-relion-meter-variation-help-needed.234439/


Help! Penny seems to be regulating her BG now. Maybe it's the depo, but I skipped last night as she got a PMPS of 120 (AT) and it looks like she stayed steady all night. I'm still in the blue though as far as Alpha Trak. When I test with Relion she's in the green most of the time. What do I do?! Skip another? Lower her dose and shoot?

I have a bunch of Relion strips handy to test, but only a few AT strips. My new box should be coming today.
 
Last edited:
If you can monitor all day, have plenty of supplies and HC food, you can shoot 0.50 units. Penny earned a reduction yesterday with the 83 since you are doing SLGS. I have to go to work and can't stay with you. If you don't feel comfortable, you can skip.

If you shoot, you'll want to get a +1 and +2 and keep your subject line updated so people can see if you need help.
 
First I would not go back to the AT2 - you're getting some nice numbers on the Relion - so stick with that for now.

93 is a safe number to shoot - however, the first thing you want to do is stall - no food - test again in 20 minutes on the Relion - let's see where she's headed.
 
+ 2 and we're at 85. I've got to make that darn rice sock. She's sleeping next to an open window and her ears are COLD.

I make up a bunch of them at the same time. I buy a package of baby socks - they usually have 3-6 pair, not sure, but it's a bunch...so I take a tablespoon or so of rice, put it in the sock and tie a knot in it...the sock gets soiled and after a bit I usually dump the rice and put it in the laundry...get enough of them gathered up empty and do a bunch again...so I always have a stockpile of clean 'rice socks' in the supply drawer :)
 
Watch out for the nadir...hope it's coming soon, nice descending numbers. Keep testing and feeding her snacks...so she doesn't go too low.
 
Congratulations on your first green shoot. To mark the occasion, it is tradition to give you these:

Balls of Steel.jpg
 

Attachments

  • Balls of Steel.jpg
    Balls of Steel.jpg
    5.2 KB · Views: 66
Thanks all. We're at 84 for +6. I'm backing off the testing now so that I can go upstairs and get some work done, and also so Penny can sleep. I'm getting the stink eye for waking her up all morning.
 
Hi! So I saw your condo and was just coming to say congrats on shooting a green! So scary and stressful and exciting all at once! And then I saw I was tagged yesterday about meters - I checked my alerts and never got a notification (I'm new here so maybe I don't get one for tags?). In any case...my two cents on meters:

I used AT2 before going all-in here with TR and switching to Relion Premier. I have never tried to compare the two meters - in fact, I've read on other threads on here to just not even try. For me, I mentally just had to accept that on a HIGH is HIGH and low is low and the rest of the numbers are meaningful when compared to each other (relativity) - so the type of meter itself becomes less important. And, those that are seasoned on here speak in human meter numbers so I knew switching and not looking back was/is my best chance at helping my kitty.

In terms of using Relion vs AT2, Relion uses a little more blood so it took me a week or so to get a hang of that - but it was just a little more rubbing before poking. I use a lancet and never changed my setting.

I kept my AT2 just because (I mean $$$ lol) and I still had strips - if my vet ever wants a curve, I'll use it then. Hope that helps some!
 
Thanks! I’m still having some trouble mentally with the switch. She was green all day with my Relion tests (mostly 80s-90s) but if I would have been testing with Alpha most of those numbers would have been in the low 100s and would have been blue.

But it is helping me get used to seeing lower numbers.

I just grabbed a quick +10 with the alpha and she was 144.

I do find the alpha much easier to use. I have a hard time getting the strips in the Relion. First, they are just harder to push in but if I put it in before I poke it seems to time out on me. With alpha I can put the strip in part way, get the blood, and then I just have to tap the strip in and it starts. If I put the Relion strip in half way I either get an error or the machine never turns on and I have to take it out and try again which means I have to use 2 hands all while trying to make sure she doesn’t move to disturb the blood.
 
I do find the alpha much easier to use. I have a hard time getting the strips in the Relion. First, they are just harder to push in but if I put it in before I poke it seems to time out on me. With alpha I can put the strip in part way, get the blood, and then I just have to tap the strip in and it starts. If I put the Relion strip in half way I either get an error or the machine never turns on and I have to take it out and try again which means I have to use 2 hands all while trying to make sure she doesn’t move to disturb the blood.
Maybe you know this but maybe not - on the AT2 and on your Relion Prime - you have TWO glorious minutes to get blood once the strip is inserted. I have the Relion Premier but I checked the Relion Prime manual here. So personally, I get all my supplies and sit down next to Jax and start rubbing the chosen ear :) Once I'm ready to poke, I insert my strip all the way, poke, and milk a little, and then get it on the strip. I didn't realize I had two minutes once the strip was inserted at first and was doing a full-on circus trying to hold Jax's ear while trying to insert the strip :) And the more you use the Relion, you'll get used to it. Plus the cost savings ;) If the amount of blood becomes an issue, there are human meters that take less blood (freestyle lite i think is one).
 
- you have TWO glorious minutes to get blood once the strip is inserted

two minutes?! I must dilly dally too much. I get distracted by her cuteness and give cuddles and then usually make some sort of lame vampire joke ‘I’ve come to suck your bloooddd!’ I’ll make sure to put the strip in after I finish my comedy routine and see how that works.
 
Nice surfing today. I'm glad Penny stayed safe. Since you are following SLGS she earned another reduction today. Your dose tonight should be 0.25 units.
 
She’s got a pretty low PMPS tonight (101) which is great. I’m skipping dosing because I’ve got a migraine coming and won’t be able to monitor tonight. Makes me feel better that she’s starting low. Hopefully the pattern holds and she doesn’t spike tonight.

Early bedtime for me!
 
Back
Top