"Forgot to get insulin, please help

Status
Not open for further replies.

mary hornbeck

Active Member
hi everyone:
I had a dilemma tonight and need some advice. Here was my situation:

Normally my cat, marmalade, gets 1/2 cup of gyco balance with 2 units of vetsulin around 5p but I was at work and my daughter fed him but forgot to give him his insulin and on top of that left the pre filled syringe out st room temp from5p-8:30p tonight. He also had dental surgery 3 weeks ago and his sugars have been running inbetween 300-367, prior to 10/4/17. Tonight his sugar was 413.

I called our local animal emergency hospital and they advised that I should still give him 2 units so that's what I did, should I take another BG level around 10 or so?
 
The insulin should be fine. I've left our vial out overnight and it was good till we used it up. Testing can't hurt, but I don't think you'd have much to worry about if you know how he responds but I would grab a before bed test. Is 2u his normal dose?
Marmalade was probably just high because his insulin was late and he had already eaten. If you do have to shoot early tomorrow morning, you may want to reduce the dose. If you can, try gradually moving back his shot time by about 15 mins each shot.
 
2 units is his normal dose, he's all out of whack. I still think his bg would be even better with 2.5 units twice a day
 
I still think his bg would be even better with 2.5 units twice a day
I really believe that without more testing results collected the dosage cannot be assessed properly. Just give it some time. You can increase at any time, just let make sure it is right thing to do.
 
Have you thought about a food change? Fancy feast classic is used alot around here, and the wet food might be easier for him to eat with missing teeth. A food change alone could reduce his insulin needs and might give you some better numbers.

Mine is missing 11 teeth now...and he does really well on wet food. Though he still likes his kibble. We used EVO and have now switched to Young Again. But those and Dr. Elsey's are all options for dry. EVO is a little higher in carbs than the other 2 but still under 10%.
 
I have thought about a food change but right now I've had as Schedule change at wok and I know he isn't regulated. Right now I am trying to get a consistent set of levels and then I'll go from,there with assistance of course.
 
Last edited:
I know this thread is a few weeks old but there's another story here. When I got bonked on the head (neurological story too long to tell) I had memory loss issues and insulin was right up there with leaving the house in my underwear in the nightmare department. I overcame it somehow, reading newspapers, books and Post-It notes helped. I never did get to put the square peg in the square hole, they just sent me home. Anyone else have a bag of tricks they use? My meter has an audible alarm. We are all getting older, it's going to happen again.
:banghead:.:coffee:
 
I know this thread is a few weeks old but there's another story here. When I got bonked on the head (neurological story too long to tell) I had memory loss issues and insulin was right up there with leaving the house in my underwear in the nightmare department. I overcame it somehow, reading newspapers, books and Post-It notes helped. I never did get to put the square peg in the square hole, they just sent me home. Anyone else have a bag of tricks they use? My meter has an audible alarm. We are all getting older, it's going to happen again.
:banghead:.:coffee:
I heavily rely on the alarms and reminders in my phone
 
Put a calendar on the fridge and seriously cross off what's done and not done. Paper works best for me.
Or your meter memory, if I tested Noah outside of a curve I know I finished the routine.
I left my niece standing in the rain one day at school. A dirty look will do it too. Now she's in law enforcement.
 
Status
Not open for further replies.
Back
Top