? Fructosamine Test Necessary Before Dental?

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Ann & Sister, Sep 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    My new vet is sending me a "treatment plan" for Sister's dental.
    The "old" vet made me aware Sister needs one.
    New vet says:
    She wants to examine Sister since she has not been in the office since June 8, 2021.
    She wants to do preanesthetic bloodwork.
    I am fine with the above.
    New vet added that she also ordered a fructosamine test (to see where Sister's BG has been over the last 30 days.) This vet knows I test at home and do curves. I have sent her results 2-3 times.
    I have read on FDMB that the F-test is more for the vet's info since I am testing regularly.
    I am tempted to decline it, but I don't want to lose another vet in the middle of diabetes.
    Is it necessary for a dental procedure?

    Thanks,
     
  2. Sarah&Soph

    Sarah&Soph Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2019
    The fructosamine is not necessary. It just gives an idea of the average blood glucose numbers over the last ~2 weeks, which you already know since you are home testing. However, if you think you should do it to appease the vet and you don’t mind spending the extra money, it won’t hurt anything to do it. That part is a personal decision :cat:
     
    Ann & Sister likes this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Neko had three dentals, she never had a fructosamine before any of them. Even the dental specialist didn't care how her blood sugars had been running, though they did BG tests during the day when she was there. Never actually heard of anyone here getting a fructosamine done before a dental. The blood work, absolutely yes.
     
    Ann & Sister likes this.
  4. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    My cat had any number of dentals and the vet never ran a fructosamine. If the vet is getting pre-procedure labs, the glucose level will be there. If the vet(s) are that interested in your cat's average, offer to calculate the average over the last 3 weeks. Chances are they will freak out because Sister's numbers are in a normal range and they will think she's too low.
     
    Ann & Sister likes this.
  5. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    I am doing a food trial at the moment. We'll see how it goes. This is the vet that impressed me SO MUCH after tossing off the other vet, but when she threw out the "symogyi concern," and then recommended Lantus once a day instead of twice, she lost 50 points. I am trying my best to be reasonable, but the vet-client-patient relationship can be challenging for me.
     
  6. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    I think it would be challenging for anyone who would be dealing with these vets!
     
  7. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    @Wendy&Neko
    Could you address a couple of concerns I have about Sister's dental next week?
    Their protocol is no food or water after midnight, yet her dental will not be until 12 noon (with a 7:00am drop off).
    It was difficult to get this appt with a "seasoned" vet at their office after Sister's vet quit.
    Since Sister is on a food trial, she will not be getting insulin. But not having water for so long concerns me. Should it?
    The "treatment plan" did say she'd get IV fluids but I do not know how soon that morning.
    They plan to send home antibiotics (as needed they said). If they hand me liquid clavamox (which I read contains sugar), I will decline.
    But if they offer NO other alternatives and she needs an antibiotic, could I monitor her BG closely while giving it and give a drop of Lantus if needed?
    Thanks bunches,
    Ann & Sister
     
  8. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    No food after midnight is common but so is ½ food and ½ insulin AM if AM BG is "normal" for the cat.
    Withholding water at midnight is NOT common.
     
    Ann & Sister likes this.
  9. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Who told you no food or water after midnight? When I got that from the vet clinic, it was from the front desk and their standard response. So I'd ask them to ask the vet specifically the protocol for a diabetic cat, then the answer would change. I wouldn't withhold water, like Larry said, that is not common.

    Clindamycin is a common antibiotic after dentals. Make sure you put her on a probiotic first (two hours apart from the antibiotic), as it's hard on the tummy flora. I can attest to that from personal experience. :blackeye:
     
  10. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    The vet tech mentioned the no water, no food protocol after 12 when I had Sister there for her pre-dental exam and was signing off on the estimate.
    Thanks,
     
  11. Sienne and Gabby (GA)

    Sienne and Gabby (GA) Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The vet tech may not know what the actual instructions are. Even with humans, you can have "some" clear fluids before a surgery. Given that you're dropping your cat off several hours prior to her surgery, it's likely not an issue but I would check with the vet directly. There can be variations between vets as to what their preferences are. I doubt that withholding water for 12+ hours will cause Sister to be overly dehydrated.

    The only antibiotic that I would categorically refuse is Convenia. It is a long-lasting antibiotic (at least 2 week duration) and due to its length of action, if your cat is allergic, it's a huge problem. This is an article on why to not use Convenia.

    The only time a medication contains some form of sugar is if it is in liquid form. If you can't pill Sister, then getting the antibiotic compounded so it's in liquid form is fine and you can tell the compounding pharmacy that your cat is diabetic and to not use a sugar solution. I would talk to the clinic and find out what form the Clavamox will be in. If you need to get it compounded, they will need to call in the Rx so you can have it in advance.
     
  12. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    Thank you so much for addressing all my concerns.
     
  13. Larry and Kitties

    Larry and Kitties Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 28, 2009
    The liquid Clindamycin is very bitter and one of my vets said to add an artificial sweetener to help mask the taste.
     
  14. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    Agreed on the bitterness, if you can pill it's an easier way to get it down.
     
  15. Ann & Sister

    Ann & Sister Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2021
    That is a good idea, but I wonder if cat's even like "sweet" flavoring.
    I used to think it odd when a vet years back (now deceased) would say the moxy was banana flavored, as if that would be enticing to my cat.
     
  16. tiffmaxee

    tiffmaxee Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 15, 2013
    My vet said no food after midnight but water was fine. He also said no insulin the morning of the dental.
     
    Ann & Sister likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page