Getting a sudden longer insulin duration??

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by EmmettsMom, Jun 4, 2020.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. EmmettsMom

    EmmettsMom New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    We are using Novolin n which has been going pretty well, surprisingly. Emmett's nadir has been pretty consistently at +5 or +6, but for the last two days it looks like he's been getting a longer, slower duration.

    I know that's a good thing, especially for an insulin known to drop hard and fast, but now I'm befuddled. He had an AMPS of 126 this morning so I'm stalling and testing again in an hour, but I'm thinking that a reduction to 1.5U would be wise for a week or so to see how he does. It's nice to see a flatter longer curve so I don't necessary want to jump too soon to a lower dose if this one is working for him. I haven't caught any super low numbers yet which is good, but I know they can sneak in there so I'm trying to be cautious.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  2. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Stall for 20 mins or 30 mins then test.
    1 hour is too long without testing at shot time.
    I’m not a Novolin user so can’t help but I do know that 126 is too low to shoot.
    Do you usually feed then wait an hour before giving the shot?
     
  3. EmmettsMom

    EmmettsMom New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Yes I feed three hours before his AM shot at 5:30am (he's usually very hungry) then 30-45 mins before. Tested again now and got 137 so it's going up, but not fast. I'm still stalling and will skip if his numbers stay this low for much longer.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  4. EmmettsMom

    EmmettsMom New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    Decided to shoot a half dose (1U) 1.5 hours late to try to keep him in these nice low numbers. He had a BG of 197 and rising. I'll be monitoring closely throughout the day for him to drop too low. Have high carb food at the ready.
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  5. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    I’m not familiar with your insulin either, but I if it works like most you should not feed before the test. When you feed 30-45 minutes before the shot is that also before feeding? because otherwise you may be getting higher numbers due to the food and that 126 could be even lower :bookworm:
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  6. EmmettsMom

    EmmettsMom New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2020
    It's so confusing because with Novolin and all the other NPH type insulins everything says that you are supposed feed them 1 hour before shooting so the sudden drop isn't as steep. For all other insulins you're supposed to feed then shoot immediately. :confused:
     
  7. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Food has to be on board because the insulin hits hard and fast. It's also helpful because you wouldn't want kitty to eat, shoot, and then kitty for whatever reason pukes and suddenly has no food in the system. The other insulins are gentler and slower, so that's why food doesn't have to already be in the system. :) Vetsulin is the same way (as NPH).
     
  8. Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA)

    Ale & Bobo & Minnie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2019
    So testing needs to happen an hour before shooting too right?
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
  9. Panic

    Panic Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 10, 2019
    Yes, so you can stall feeding if necessary! :)
     
    jt and trouble (GA) likes this.
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page