Hartz Delectables Pate snack Tuna and Chicken

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Mikey’sDad, Jan 20, 2023.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Mikey’sDad

Mikey’sDad Member

I discovered these Pate lickables on Chewy and my guy loves them as a treat. I don’t see anything problematic that would increase numbers. But I wanted to check. They are grain free.
    Thoughts. Thanks,
    Tom

ingredients
    Water,Tuna,chicken Natural and Artificial Flavors, Tapioca Starch, Carrraggenum, Extract Color, Tuna Flavor

crude protein 8%
    Crude fat O.1%
    Crude Fiber 1%
    Moisture Max 90%
    Ash 3%

2. Lauren and Loki

Lauren and Loki Member

Hi Tom, as far as I know, the Tapioca Starch is not great and can raise BG. Also, did you mean Carageenan? That is also a carb, but I'm still learning all the effects of this stuff, and apparently carbs can affect cats differently (no cat is the same). If it doesn't spike your kitty's BG, then I guess it's fine for him, but maybe someone else can comment who knows better. Sorting through the food issue is so stressful :eek: I'm dealing with it myself right now. Glad you brought it up.

3. Mikey’sDad

Mikey’sDad Member

I googled Tapioca Starch and it can raise BG. His has raised a bit since I used it. I am testing him in an hour and will see. It also said that the carb content is 1.97. But you can’t trust google!
    Thanks

Last edited: Jan 20, 2023
    Lauren and Loki likes this.
  4. Lauren and Loki

Lauren and Loki Member

That’s where I get all messed up, because there are “low carb” foods, but then they will have an ingredient that causes the BG to rise. It’s so frustrating! I thought I could just go by the fact that a food is low carb, but apparently not, I also have to look at all the ingredients. :banghead:

Polly Pitcham likes this.
  5. Mikey’sDad

Mikey’sDad Member