Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Lisa and Twigs

Lisa and Twigs New Member

I'm a newbie. Have been using vetisulin for a couple weeks. Thankfully did not fall into blindly following vet when he told be to double her once a day dose. Went to twice a day halfing initially does of 3. Tolerated it but was still peeing out of box do upped to 2. Which made her more hungry so like an idiot i increased her to 3 this morning. Panicked after reading some posts so i gave her some dry food hoping to avoid her going too low. I have not been monitoring because i haven't located a meter for cats. I thought i read somewhere they register different. If I can use one for humans... any suggestions for which to buy? I got overwhelmed at walgreens.

2. AliceMeowliss (GA)

AliceMeowliss (GA) Well-Known Member

Welcome! It’s the best place you never wanted to be. There is such a great wealth of support and knowledge here and we can all work together to help you get Twigs feeling much better!

Many people use a brand of meter from Walmart that is affordable. ReliOn maybe? Someone else will be able to tell you for sure. The most expensive part of a meter is the strips, and that is one of several reasons on FDMB many of us do not use the pet meters. My understanding is each strip is a dollar, with the AlphaTrak 2 (pet)!

How difficult is it for you to handle your cat, such as when giving medicines or shots? Many cats learn to be completely calm during their ear pokies for their blood glucose testing, but once in awhile some cats are a little extra tricky! Some meters take smaller drops of blood.

You will probably get the most answers about which meter to use if you post over on the main health forum here.

I know peeing outside the box and peeing frequently are clinical signs we look at, but with diabetes you’re not going to get your cat regulated without testing. I tried, too. FDMB was here though to help me figure out everything I needed to keep my Alice alive!