? Help 10/18 Fred AMPS 401, +4 322, +6 275, +10 203

Valerie & Fred

Member Since 2023
Question for insulin tonight!
upped Freds insulin to 3.5 today and changed his food schedule.
His numbers have been way better then usual all the way up until now (+10) he’s been in the 200’s
If he’s still in these lower numbers come feeding and insulin time do I keep the 3.5 dose?

I know he’s gonna go up from his dinner but I’m not used to his numbers being this low so close to feeding time, scared to over do it lol

I’ll definitely watch how much his food brings him up before I give him his shot.
 
Last edited:
Yes. You keep the dose at 3.5. If the pmps is under 150, STALL AND DO NOT FEED. Recheck in 20-30 minutes. If over 150 it’s safe to shoot. You want to hold food 2 hours before shot time so the bg is not food influenced. . A lot can happen in 2 hours.
 
Yes. You keep the dose at 3.5. If the pmps is under 150, STALL AND DO NOT FEED. Recheck in 20-30 minutes. If over 150 it’s safe to shoot. You want to hold food 2 hours before shot time so the bg is not food influenced. . A lot can happen in 2 hours.
Perfect thank you!! He shot up from +11 277 to 400+ pmps right before feeding time so I’m safe! Just panicked and needed to know the what if’s, think this is the first time he’s stayed lower for most of the day!! :cat: Thanks again!
 
That’s why improvement! :) The longer in better bg means yiu are getting increased duration in f the insulin and the increase is working. When you do get a lower than normal preshot you now know what to do. While stalling post for help. Sometimes when you stall without food the bg goes down but I think more often it goes up. Keep asking questions. That’s why we all are here.

You will keep this dose until the bg falls under 90 and or you are having to skip shots due to lower numbers. The no shot or reduced dose number will be lower with time.
 
Back
Top