Deb&Tiki
Member Since 2022
Hello!
Tux and I are having a lot of difficult time and hope you may be able to help us out. He was diagnosed diabetic in late November and I immediately managed to get him to eat more wet food (Fancy Feast). I was home testing and within a week his bg had dropped and he no longer needed insulin (Lantus).
At the same time as going into remission he began vomiting and had little appetite. We did an x-ray but no obstruction was found (he had been eating clumping cat litter due to his pica flaring when he felt unwell) and after a few days he began eating a bit better and the vomiting stopped. The vet suggested that he could have IBD so we tried to change his protein but the only wet food we could get him to eat was A/D.
In mid-January the vomiting returned and he was diagnosed with pancreatitis but he really struggled to bounce back so the vet decided to give prednisolone a try. Tux's appetite returned but so did diabetes. We tapered him off the prednisolone but within a few days had to put him back on due to vomiting and not eating again. This time his bg will not drop below 20 and I'm wondering how quickly I can increase his dose in order to get his glucose down. He has been consistently above 20 for over a week and I am so worried about DKA. In the past week, I have increased him slowly from 1u BID to 2u BID but I think I should increase more aggressively to get his bg down. He has tested negative for pancreatitis, we are in the process of tapering prednisolone again and we are waiting on an ultrasound for IBD diagnosis.
I am hoping you might be able to give some advice as I'm feeling a little lost and my vet doesn't seem overly concerned.
Thanks so much,
Deb and Tux
Tux and I are having a lot of difficult time and hope you may be able to help us out. He was diagnosed diabetic in late November and I immediately managed to get him to eat more wet food (Fancy Feast). I was home testing and within a week his bg had dropped and he no longer needed insulin (Lantus).
At the same time as going into remission he began vomiting and had little appetite. We did an x-ray but no obstruction was found (he had been eating clumping cat litter due to his pica flaring when he felt unwell) and after a few days he began eating a bit better and the vomiting stopped. The vet suggested that he could have IBD so we tried to change his protein but the only wet food we could get him to eat was A/D.
In mid-January the vomiting returned and he was diagnosed with pancreatitis but he really struggled to bounce back so the vet decided to give prednisolone a try. Tux's appetite returned but so did diabetes. We tapered him off the prednisolone but within a few days had to put him back on due to vomiting and not eating again. This time his bg will not drop below 20 and I'm wondering how quickly I can increase his dose in order to get his glucose down. He has been consistently above 20 for over a week and I am so worried about DKA. In the past week, I have increased him slowly from 1u BID to 2u BID but I think I should increase more aggressively to get his bg down. He has tested negative for pancreatitis, we are in the process of tapering prednisolone again and we are waiting on an ultrasound for IBD diagnosis.
I am hoping you might be able to give some advice as I'm feeling a little lost and my vet doesn't seem overly concerned.
Thanks so much,
Deb and Tux