7/20 George 5th day on Lantus - PMPS 89, +1 102, +2 101, +3 96, +4 91, +5 97, +7 103

Discussion in 'Lantus / Levemir / Biosimilars' started by Hshray, Jul 20, 2021.

  1. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Yesterday’s post.

    Today is George’s fifth day on Lantus. Still all pinks for the AMPS, but I was liking those blues last night. Not sure what happens at pm +8 that causes him to go up so much…seems like that’s when he starts coming down on the am cycle.

    Do I increase by 0.25 tomorrow since no greens, or stick with the current dose for two more days since we’re seeing blues?
     
  2. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    Hshray likes this.
  3. Wendy&Neko

    Wendy&Neko Senior Member Moderator

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2012
    The TR protocol says to hold the initial dose 5-7 days, unless high numbers which you aren't seeing. The other exception is ketones - have you been testing for those?

    If all good and you don't see greens before tomorrow, you can increase then by 0.25 units.
     
    Bandit's Mom and Hshray like this.
  4. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Thanks! Yes, I test for ketones weekly, and he has always been negative (last test was on the 13th, so he’s due for one today).
     
  5. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Good luck with the increase, Hilary. Those blues look really nice.
     
    Hshray likes this.
  6. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Thank you :)
     
  7. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Hm, pretty big drop between +6 and +7 (at least compared to what he’s been doing).
     
  8. Summer and Susie (GA)

    Summer and Susie (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 20, 2020
    Maybe he is breaking the bounce. Keep an eye on that.
     
    Hshray likes this.
  9. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    106 @ +9.5, maybe we’ll see some green today!
     
  10. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    @Wendy&Neko Looks like George may have a low blue pre-shot today as long as he doesn’t somehow spike in this last hour and a half, so I just have two questions.

    1 - If it remains low blues (aka flat from now) it’s ok to shoot, right?

    2 - If he does end up seeing greens tonight, hold this dose for three more days (as long as no limes)?
     
    Last edited: Jul 20, 2021
  11. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Just seeing if there’s anyone on to confirm the questions above?
     
  12. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    With the 81 at PMPS, you can stall, don't feed and test again in 20-30 minutes to see if he's still dropping
     
    Hshray likes this.
  13. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Thank you! I’ll retest in 20.
     
  14. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    He’s at 82 twenty minutes after the last test.
     
  15. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    OK...do you have plenty of supplies like test strips, high and medium carb food, Karo/honey/syrup and can you test as often as necessary tonight? (and as long as might be necessary?)
     
  16. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Yes, I have all of the supplies and will be around all night.
     
  17. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    I'd go ahead with the 1.75 then and get a test at +1 and +2 so you can intervene early if you need to.

    Remember, you're going to be feeding him (which should bring his BG up) and the shot doesn't usually kick in for 2-3 hours so you're actually shooting where he'll be in 2-3 hours.
     
    Hshray likes this.
  18. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Ok sounds good! I think I’m going to test him again in 10 minutes (so that will be another 20 total) and then I will feed/shoot and monitor for the night. Thank you!
     
  19. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Keep your subject line updated with the PMPS numbers as you get them. I'll try to keep my eyes on you but you should update your thread as you get test results until we're sure he's safe for the night
     
    Hshray likes this.
  20. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    I ended up shooting an 89. Will check back in an hour with that +1.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  21. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Good deal! What you can do is put all the tests in the PMPS cell. Put 81 @+12, 89 @+12.5 ( I think we can skip trying to squeeze the 82 in). You'll have to manually color the cell yourself. By doing it like that, people can see that you stalled tonight.

    And remember, the +1 is one hour since he actually got the shot, not from the usual PMPS time.
     
    Hshray likes this.
  22. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Alright he’s at 102 at +1. Looks like he got a food bump…he ate a hefty amount of dinner since he thought he was “starving” by having to wait a whole 40 minutes to eat.
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  23. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Yeah, they're real good about making us feel like if they have to wait 10 more seconds, it's all over. Silly cats!

    See you in an hour!
     
    Hshray likes this.
  24. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    +2 he is at 101
     
  25. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Looking good! How about a +3 next?
     
    Hshray likes this.
  26. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Sounds good!
     
    Chris & China (GA) likes this.
  27. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    96 at +3
     
  28. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Nice!! Probably should get another test in an hour since he's starting to drop and he's so new to Lantus, but he's looking great!

    I'm hoping @Bron and Sheba (GA) or @Wendy&Neko may be available to take over watching out for you but I'll try to be here in an hour!
     
    Hshray likes this.
  29. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Ok, will do, thank you so much!
     
  30. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I am around. Will just read back on the thread.
    George is very handsome!
     
    Chris & China (GA) and Hshray like this.
  31. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Thank you :)
     
  32. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I am very partial to ginger boys.
     
    Hshray likes this.
  33. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    He is at 91 at +4
     
  34. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    Thanks Bron! I'm running on 2 hours sleep in the last 2 days and my eyes are spinning in their sockets but I wasn't going to leave her until either somebody else took over or George was totally safe for the night!
     
    Hshray and Bron and Sheba (GA) like this.
  35. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Looks like he has got on his surf board and is surfing. I would give a small low carb snack and test again in 2 hours….1 hour if you feel anxious at all.
     
    Hshray and Chris & China (GA) like this.
  36. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    He is doing fantastic! That's exactly how Lantus works best....it's scary shooting those lower numbers, but usually it means there's not those sharp dives and bounces. It's just a nice (almost level) line.

    I agree with Bron too! Get a nap if you can (and you'll wake up to an alarm)
     
    SashaV and Hshray like this.
  37. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    You must be exhausted! Please go to bed!
     
  38. Chris & China (GA)

    Chris & China (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    May 10, 2013
    You don't have to ask twice! Thanks!

    You're doing fantastic Hilary and so is George! These are the kind of cycles when you can almost hear that pancreas healing!
     
    Hshray and Bron and Sheba (GA) like this.
  39. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I see the dose increase threat worked yet again! :D
     
    SashaV and Hshray like this.
  40. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Sounds great, thank you both!
     
  41. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    I really appreciate your help and staying me! Thank you so much again!
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  42. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    I ended up getting a +5 and he’s at 97. Do you think a +7 is good for the next test?
     
  43. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    I think it's safe to call it a night. He has flattened out.
     
    Hshray likes this.
  44. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Ok, thanks again to everyone! If he happens to wake me up in the middle of the night and I’m not too groggy I may grab another test at some point (he likes to do that more often than I would prefer haha).
     
  45. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    I can see he has had a few later nadirs on the other insulin. Because you are so new to Lantus and this is the first green, I would get a +7 just to see how he goes
     
    Hshray likes this.
  46. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    Ok, I can do that. Yeah I’m not really sure what his pattern is yet…it will be nice when I know! I’ll post an update in a couple of hours.
     
  47. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    You might be able to grab a couple of hours of sleep before the test. I always slept between the tests at night, even if it was 1/2 hour. Otherwise I got too tired.
     
    Hshray likes this.
  48. Hshray

    Hshray Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 26, 2021
    All is well over here. He’s at 103 at +7.
     
    Bandit's Mom likes this.
  49. Bandit's Mom

    Bandit's Mom Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 18, 2019
    He's been flat as a pancake since PMPS! :)
    Anyway, green finally! :D
     
    SashaV and Hshray like this.
  50. Bron and Sheba (GA)

    Bron and Sheba (GA) Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2015
    Lovely cycle. He’s loving the Lantus.
    I would leave a small low carb snack out for him and go to bed.
     
    SashaV and Hshray like this.

Share This Page