I'm sure others will chime in. His numbers look GREAT! But on an insulin like ProZinc, you're pretty much in the ideal sweet spot. The preshots are the last numbers to come down, but realistically they'll probably still be blue.
If you're following the Modified ProZinc Dosing Method (
sticky here), you could let the nadirs get a little lower (68mg/dL on the AlphaTrak is the cutoff, any lower and it's hypo territory). This is completely personal comfort level, and you'd have to stay on top of testing.
Thanks Melissa, i hear what your saying about getting his nadir a little lower and as i'm testing regular i may increase his dose by just a drop or two when i get the nerve to do it. I never increase or decrease his dose by much as you can see on my spreadsheet as i know he's very near to the dose he needs at the moment.
It frightens me watching the numbers coming down, yet rewarding when he reaches the greens.
Hi Teetee, hopefully an expert will respond to you soon. Just wanted to say you are doing a heck of a job with the testing! The numbers look good. I, too, am feeling a little frustration that I am not making much progress. I'm getting blues now and the yellows. I'll be switching to Lantus in a couple of weeks so hopefully I will see a little more progress. Your kitty is pretty. Looks like he has a black mustache where my Susie has a white one. Good luck with Duke!
Thanks Summer, it is frustrating and i know that i test a lot because i'm so worried that Duke will drop too low and go into hypo.
Susie has a nice full white moustache whereas poor Duke only has half a moustache, i sometimes call him half a moustache Duke. lol.
Hopefully the Lantus will help Susie get into the lower numbers.
I agree with what Melissa says above that, "you're pretty much in the ideal sweet spot".
Remember that
insulin dosing is based around the nadirs, not the preshot numbers. And since you are using Alphatrak you don't really have much scope for the numbers dropping lower than they are now. Numbers below about 3.6 are getting into hypo territory (according to the AT manufacturer). And Prozinc can occasionally throw a lower number anyway...
Duke's body is healing, that is evident from the improvement in the numbers to date. And if this is how things stay for him then you are still in a really good position. Many on this forum would love to have the numbers that you have now!
But, since Duke
seems to be in a continuing pattern of improvement then it may well be that his insulin requirements decrease further as his body heals further. The preshot numbers
are trending downwards...
And if you scroll back through Duke's SS just look how far he's come....
Eliz
Thanks Eliz
I think Duke's done amazing so far as well,
i suppose i'm looking for reassurance really and i agree that others would love his numbers, many a time i look at other spreadsheets and think crickey i'm glad Duke's not up there or bouncing about like that.
As you and Mellisa stated there is not really any scope left for bringing his numbers down, perhaps a drop or two, but it's getting the nerve to do it.
You should see me loading the syringe, glasses and a magnifying glass trying to make sure i get the exact same place everytime.
I'm just being too impatient i think Eliz, wanting too much too quickly, his body as you say is healing and that's what counts.
Very much so.
Duke's doing really well, Tee!
Mogs
.
Thanks Mogs, apart from the fur shot last night, well i presume it was as he didn't drop at all in the first two hours but at least he was still 10.2 mmol/L (184 mg/dl) this morning. I'm assuming this is about duke's natural level at the moment so it's a massive improvement to when he first started insulin.