Help regarding whether or not to give my cat insulin

Discussion in 'Feline Health - (Welcome & Main Forum)' started by Kevan, Sep 10, 2021.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. Kevan

Kevan New Member

Hi all!

This is my first time posting on the forum but I have read advice on here in the past.

My cat Monty was diagnosed with diabetes and put on prozinc insulin in May. Since then we had a tough time regulating him but since switching to a fancy feast pate only diet things seem to be better as of late.

He is currently on 3 units of insulin twice a day at 4:30 a.m. and again at 4:30 p.m.

I have been home testing for a couple of months now and our vet advised to test halfway through his insulin cycle. Until the past week or so it has remained around 250 mg/dL but this past couple of weeks I noticed his water consumption has gone way down in a good way.

Anyways I just tested him before feeding and his level was 178.2 mg/dL and I'm wondering if I should still give him his dose of insulin?

I ask this because I tested him before feeding last weekend and his level was 111.6 mg/dL before feeding so I skipped his dose in fear of him going into hypo. But 4 hours later he was drinking water like crazy and when I tested him is levels were at 468 mg/dL and I don't want his BG to spike like that again.

What should I do? Is it better to skip or give him less insulin. He is a maine coon tabby cross that weighs 14 lbs if that helps.

2. Diane Tyler's Mom

Diane Tyler's Mom Well-Known Member

Hi Kevin welcome the best thing to do first is fill out your signature
    Can you fill out your signature please so members won't have to keep asking you
    the same questions over and over again I'm glad you are home testing

Go all the way up top to you name tap on it and a drop box will appear , you will see the word signature, tap that and just add all your information about Nani and hit save.