Help Sept. 2nd, 2020 Blaze and Paola.

Blaze and Paola

Member Since 2020
https://www.felinediabetes.com/FDMB/threads/blaze-and-paola-amps-16-3-293-4.234444/#post-2624723

Good morning everyone,
Last night was a bit tough. Blaze does not want to eat this morning.
He went to the litter, he peed (I was actually there while he did) and when he came out he walked a little strange like he had some issues from where he pees and he licked himself right away.
This morning he is on a food strike. I tried, wet, dry, mix...nothing, he only drank water and is walking away.
AMPS is 13.0 (234)
I don't know if shooting or not. Shooting time has passed (more than 15 minutes now)
 
Can you get him to try to eat something else, anything? Not safe to shoot if he won't eat anything.
Will Blaze eat from your hand?
Have you tried some rinsed canned tuna, sprinkling treats on his food? Anything to get him to eat?
 
@Sue and Luci @carfurby are you around?

Paola, it is quiet this time of day. I'll see if I can find someone to help.

Did you check the litterbox to see if there was any blood or anything odd? May be worth calling your vet, especially if the inappetance keeps up. He needs to eat. I think I'd be getting a vet appt.

Do you have any freeze dried treats? or some cooked chicken?
 
yes I have tried tuna, he just walks away. I was told to leave treats only to when he is really low...gonna try again
When did he last eat? Aside from needing to make sure he'll eat in order to give insulin, cats need to eat or they can develop serious health concerns. Not tryin' to scare you, just saying if he hasn't eaten in a while but he'll eat treats, give him treats.
 
insulin time was 7:19last night
For your reference: you can get back on track moving shot times back in 15 minute increments, or by 30 minutes per day. So if you do shoot this morning, say at 8am, then tonight you could shoot at 745pm, tomorrow morning at 730am, tomorrow night at 715pm and so on.
If you end up not shooting this morning, then you can keep the PM shot to the regular time you like to shoot.
 
Last edited:
I don't know how long it is that you've been stalling, Paola. Please can you tell me how long past shot time you are now.

If Blaze has only just eaten, please can you do a test ASAP before the food has a chance to really influence his BG levels.


Mogs
.
 
@Sue and Luci @carfurby are you around?

Paola, it is quiet this time of day. I'll see if I can find someone to help.

Did you check the litterbox to see if there was any blood or anything odd? May be worth calling your vet, especially if the inappetance keeps up. He needs to eat. I think I'd be getting a vet appt.

Do you have any freeze dried treats? or some cooked chicken?
thanks Lyla and all
 
Questions:

How long was that test after he had eaten?

Has he shown any signs of nausea? (Licking food then walking away, doing a sort of yawny lip licking behaviour, a bit like the face a human makes when they taste something disgusting or really salty.) Did these behaviours subside after he started to eat a little?

You know Blaze better than anyone. How confident are you he will continue to eat for the rest of the cycle? (Little and often but steadily? Largish meal in next hour and perhaps small amounts later in cycle?)


Mogs
.
 
Questions:

How long was that test after he had eaten?

Has he shown any signs of nausea? (Licking food then walking away, doing a sort of yawny lip licking behaviour, a bit like the face a human makes when they taste something disgusting or really salty.) Did these behaviours subside after he started to eat a little?

You know Blaze better than anyone. How confident are you he will continue to eat for the rest of the cycle? (Little and often but steadily? Largish meal in next hour and perhaps small amounts later in cycle?)


Mogs
.
the test was done about 20 minutes after...he did not show any of those signs. I think he will continue to eat but I have not shot him because I was unsure and now it is 50 minutes past shot time
 
A few more questions:

- Did he get lethargic at all later in last night's cycle? (And what are his energy levels like this morning?)

- Was he finnicky about eating in the later part of last night's cycle?

- Apart from the sluggish appetite, is there anything else 'off' about Blaze this morning?

- Did Blaze poop at all since +4 of last night's cycle? If yes, was his poop normal (i.e. well-formed, not too soft)?

(Sorry for all the questions but I'm trying to get a feel for where Blaze is at after the nadir BG last night).
.
.
 
A few more questions:

- Did he get lethargic at all later in last night's cycle? (And what are his energy levels like this morning?)

- Was he finnicky about eating in the later part of last night's cycle?

- Apart from the sluggish appetite, is there anything else 'off' about Blaze this morning?

- Did Blaze poop at all since +4 of last night's cycle? If yes, was his poop normal (i.e. well-formed, not too soft)?

(Sorry for all the questions but I'm trying to get a feel for where Blaze is at after the nadir BG last night).
.
.

1) no, he was quite happy, we played a little too, he got a little "tired" and hungry when his sugars were at the lowest point. Energy level his morning is as usual for his mornings...now he is in his bed trying to snooze

2)Yes he was, he only ate half of his dinner

3) yes, he went to the litter, peed, came out and walked a little funny as if parts were bothering him...and as soon as he came out of the litter, he licked himself there.

4) No poop found (also i have seen less pooping going on between the two cats...I have 2 litter boxes. the cats used both randomly so it is difficult to know whose poop belongs to who but I usually would find 2 poops a day, I only find 1 now)

No worries thank you for helping me
 
OK.

The reason I've been asking this series of questions is that sometimes when a cat goes to a much lower (but safe) number that they haven't seen in a long time, it can slightly knock them off kilter in the hours immediately following.

Here are things influencing my take:

- Body may still be adjusting to Lantus.
- Lowest BG reading to date on last night's PM cycle.
- Appetite is a little off.
- Bit of a strange wobble coming out of litter box (I'm always wary of the unusual).
- VERY LITTLE DATA.

As Sue says above, the BG level is high enough to administer the dose and you would be giving a reduced dose (0.25IU). My concern is that we don't have much data for Blaze, the low last night may have left him feeling a little bit icky this morning (hence appetite being off), or it may be his body taking a little time getting used to the Lantus.

BG is at a safe level to give [ETA] insulin but numbers drop and I'm concerned about Blaze's appetite. If it were my cat, I would skip this morning's dose to see whether a little time to recover from last night's lower cycle would see the appetite settle over the course of the day, ready for tonight's PM cycle. Other members may have a different view.

You know Blaze best, Paola, and you hold the syringe. How do you feel about whether or not to give insulin this morning?


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:

Glad you're OK, Paola, and thank you for the update. (I was half hoping you might have been grabbing forty winks: the early days of the sugar dance can be quite a roller coaster and it's exhausting at times.)

Paola, know that you are helping Blaze. You're giving him the treatment he needs and you are doing a sterling job of keeping him safe.

All is good. You're all clear till this evening. Take a breather, and go grab some breakfast if you've not yet eaten. And have some more of these:

:bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug::bighug:


Mogs
.
 
Last edited:
What a stressful morning for you! Skipping will give you a chance to regroup. It will be interesting to see how he responds. Just get a few tests in today. Maybe at times you never tested before if there are any. It’s a little concerning that he’s having appetite issues. Maybe he just wasn’t hungry after all the dry food yesterday? Could his tummy be off from the new foods?
 
Last edited:
Back
Top